LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the province of Quebec

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Quebec

The colours of the flag

White contains the entire visible light spectrum of the rainbow colours where red constitutes the “upper” arch. Therefore, white represents the Principle of the manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general. White symbolizes the spiritual or sacerdotal authority holding the Knowledge of the principles. A power which has authority over the temporal or royal power in charge of their application and usually associated with red. Now, if red represents the “upper” part of the rainbow as suited for a King, blue is, on the contrary, situated in the “lower” part.

As the least substantial colour in nature, light blue is mainly perceived as translucency in the sky and waters. Therefore, it symbolizes more essence than substance, i.e. the spiritual strength of the Virgin Mary. On the other hand, dark blue represents the deepness of the terrestrial obscurity where we are all wandering before discovering the celestial clarity. Consequently, it depicts the living strength of the nation still prisoner of darkness.

In other words, the colours of the flag express the relationship between God and people.

The white cross

The vertical branch of the cross symbolizes the communication axis between Heaven and Earth. The horizontal branch represents all the range of human possibilities associated to a specific state of being between the celestial and terrestrial states. The intersection point of the horizontal with the vertical branch characterizes the centre of the considered state.

Consequently, the vertical branch represents the centres of all states that the being is called to cross during his descent from Heaven towards Earth and his ascent from Earth to Heaven. Standing at the branch crossing means to be centred in the corresponding state, to glimpse the centres of the “upper” and “lower” states and to consider all the journey to be covered. The being centred in a state occupies an intermediary position between the world beyond and the world below.

As the being centred in the “higher” states, Christ can only look at the journey covered, lean over an abandoned humanity and become the Mediator par excellence between Heaven and Earth, God and people.

The lily flower

In olden days, a number of countries were divided into four provinces and cities into quarters. Their drawing naturally portrays the cross and to discover the lily flower symbol in each quarter or field of the flag should not be surprising.

Before acquiring the symbolic value attributed to it today, the lily was very prized in many regions, in Egypt notably. Its Christian connotation comes from a resemblance with an old symbol.

Simple Chrisme and Celtic rowelNaturally, the lily flower consists of six petals, the schematic form of which evokes the simple Chrisme. As early as the first times of Christianity, the Chrisme was said to result from the union of two letters I and X, i.e. from the Greek initials of the two words Isous Christos. Nevertheless, the symbol existed long before Christianity. It notably constitutes an essential element of the Celtic rowel, which was perpetuated in the Middle Ages and probably related to the roses of the cathedrals and other flower symbols such as the rose, lotus or lily.

Lily flowerIn its stylized form, as on the flag, the lily flower still evokes the simple Chrisme, where the three higher petals predominate. The central petal symbolizes the World axis linking Heaven and Earth; the two lateral ones, its polarization according to celestial and terrestrial powers respectively represented by the sacerdotal and royal functions.

The spiritual authority holds the Knowledge of the divine principles and the temporal authority is in charge of their application. The King receives from the hands of the spiritual authority the temporal power derived from the “divine right”. Endowed with a mandate from Heaven, the King must contribute to the “common interest”, establish justice or social harmony and preserve peace. It is a matter of outer peace, reflection of inner Peace, symbol of the divine presence within the being and essential attribute of the priest.

The sacerdotal and royal functions are combined in the person of the Christ that embodies the Unity of Wisdom and force, Knowledge and action. Symbolized by the central petal, He personifies the divine and human double nature.

The flag of Quebec expresses the vertical relationship between Heaven and Earth, God and people; it depicts, at once, the descent path of God towards Earth and the ascent path of people towards God.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Studies in Freemasonry and Compagnonnage”, Book 2. Sophia Perennis Publisher;
  • Notably, the chapter on Chrisme and Heart in ancient corporative marks.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la province du Québec

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau du Québec

Les couleurs du drapeau

Le blanc contient l'ensemble du spectre de la lumière visible composé des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel dont le rouge constitue la partie “supérieure”. En conséquence, le blanc représente le Principe de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et de toute chose en général. Il symbolise l'autorité spirituelle ou sacerdotale détentrice de la Connaissance des principes. Un pouvoir qui a autorité sur le pouvoir temporel ou royal en charge de l'application des dits principes et généralement associé à la couleur rouge. Or, si le rouge représente la couleur partie de la “supérieure” de l'arc-en-ciel comme il sied au Roi, le bleu se situe au contraire dans la partie “inférieure”.

Couleur la moins substantielle de toutes, le bleu clair se trouve dans la nature essentiellement sous sa forme translucide et principalement dans les cieux et les eaux. Aussi, symbolise t-il davantage l'essence que la substance, c'est-à-dire la force spirituelle propre à la Vierge Marie. Par contre, le bleu foncé représente les profondeurs de l'obscurité terrestre où nous errons tous avant de découvrir la clarté céleste. Il dépeint en conséquence les forces vives de la nation encore prisonnières des ténèbres.

Autrement dit, les couleurs du drapeau expriment la relation entre Dieu et les hommes.

La croix blanche

La branche verticale de la croix symbolise l'axe de communication entre le Ciel et la Terre. La branche horizontale représente toute l'étendue des possibilités humaines associées à un état d'être spécifique entre les états célestes et terrestres. Le point d'intersection de la branche horizontale avec la branche verticale caractérise le centre de l'état considéré.

La branche verticale représente en conséquence l'ensemble des centres des états que l'être est appelé à traverser lors de sa descente du Ciel vers la Terre et de sa remontée de la Terre au Ciel. Se tenir à la croisée des branches signifie être centré dans l'état correspondant, entrevoir les centres des états “supérieurs” et “inférieurs” et considérer tout le chemin à parcourir. L'être centré dans un état occupe une position intermédiaire entre le monde d'en haut et le monde d'en bas.

En tant qu'être centré dans les états “supérieurs”, le Christ ne peut que regarder le chemin parcouru, se pencher sur une humanité à l'abandon et devenir le Médiateur par excellence entre le Ciel et la Terre, entre Dieu et les hommes.

La fleur de lys

Dans les temps anciens, nombre de pays étaient divisés en quatre provinces et les villes en quartiers. Leur dessin figure naturellement la croix et découvrir le symbole de la fleur de lys dans chaque quartier ou champ du drapeau ne devrait pas surprendre.

Avant d'acquérir la valeur symbolique que nous lui prêtons aujourd'hui, le lys était très prisé dans de nombreuses régions, en Égypte notamment. Sa connotation chrétienne vient d'une ressemblance avec un symbole ancien.

Chrisme simple et rouelle celtiqueAu naturel, la fleur de lys comporte six pétales dont la forme schématique évoque le Chrisme simple. Dès les premiers temps du christianisme, le Chrisme était dit résulter de l'union des deux lettres I et X, c'est-à-dire des initiales grecques des deux mots Iêsous Christos. Toutefois, le symbole est bien antérieur au christianisme. Il constitue notamment un élément essentiel de la rouelle celtique qui s'est perpétuée au moyen âge et se rattache probablement aux rosaces des cathédrales et autres symboles floraux tels que la rose, le lotus ou le lys.

Fleur de lysSous la forme stylisée figurant sur le drapeau, la fleur de lys évoque encore le Chrisme simple où les trois pétales supérieurs prédominent. Le pétale central symbolise l'Axe du Monde reliant le Ciel et la Terre; les deux latéraux, sa polarisation selon les pouvoirs céleste et terrestre représentés respectivement par les fonctions sacerdotale et royale.

L'autorité spirituelle détient la Connaissance des principes divins et l'autorité temporelle est en charge de leur application. Le Roi reçoit des mains de l'autorité spirituelle le pouvoir temporel qui procède du “droit divin”. Doté d'un mandat du Ciel, le Roi doit contribuer au “bien commun”, établir la justice ou l'harmonie sociale et préserver la paix. Il s'agit de la paix extérieure, reflet de la Paix intérieure, symbole de la présence divine au sein de l'être et attribut essentiel du prêtre.

Les fonctions sacerdotale et royale sont réunies en la personne du Christ qui incarne l'Unité de la Sagesse et de la force, de la Connaissance et de l'action. Symbolisé par le pétale central, Il personnifie la double nature divine et humaine.

Le drapeau québécois traduit la relation verticale entre Ciel et Terre, entre Dieu et les hommes; elle figure, à la fois, la voie descendante de Dieu sur Terre et la voie ascendante des hommes vers Dieu.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Études sur la Franc-maçonnerie et le Compagnonnage”, Tome 2. Éditions traditionnelles, 1992;
  • Notamment, le chapitre sur le Chrisme et le Cœur dans les anciennes marques corporatives.
Haut