LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the province of Quebec

(Summary)

Flag of Quebec

The Fleurdelis

The flag of the province of Quebec, also called Fleurdelis, is composed of a white cross on a dark blue background trimmed with a white lily flower in each of the four cantons. The use of the blue flag with a white cross was spread in the army and the merchant navy since the 16th century.

The CarillonThe flag is derived from a banner, called Carillon, that would have been carried by the Canadian militia at the battle of Fort Carillon defended by the men of Montcalm against the assault of the British troops in 1758. The blue flag with a white cross and trimmed with four lily flowers pointing towards the centre was hoist, for the first time, at the top of the tower of the provincial parliament of Quebec city in 1948. The present flag, adopted by the government of Quebec, flew a short time after for and on behalf of the Union Jack.

It is usual to see the cross as the symbol of Christian faith and in the lily flower one of the symbols of monarchy. Contrary to popular belief, the lily flowers are not taken from the banner of the kings of France. The flowers of the flag of Quebec are white and those of the royal banner golden. Regarding the colours, it is common to assert that they are related to the Virgin Mary. Although these assertions conceal some truth, it is not without interest to understand why the lily flower became a royal emblem and to know the meaning of the colours of the flag.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la province du Québec

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Québec

Le Fleurdelisé

Le drapeau de la province du Québec, aussi appelé Fleurdelisé, est composé d'une croix blanche sur un fond bleu foncé orné d'une fleur de lys blanche dans chacun des quatre cantons. L'usage du drapeau bleu à croix blanche était répandu dans l'armée et la marine marchande françaises depuis le XVIe siècle.

Le CarillonLe drapeau dérive d'une bannière, dénommée Carillon, qui aurait été portée par la milice canadienne à la bataille du Fort Carillon défendu par les hommes de Montcalm contre l'assaut des troupes britanniques en 1758. Le drapeau bleu traversé d'une croix blanche et orné de quatre fleurs de lys pointant vers le centre fut hissé, pour la première fois, au sommet de la tour du parlement provincial de la ville de Québec en 1948. Le drapeau actuel, adopté par le gouvernement du Québec, flotta peu de temps après en lieu et place de l'Union Jack.

Il est d'usage de voir dans la croix le symbole de la foi chrétienne et dans la fleur de lys l'un des symboles de la royauté. Contrairement à une croyance populaire cependant, les fleurs de lys ne proviennent pas de la bannière des rois de France. Les fleurs du drapeau québécois sont blanches et celles de la bannière royale dorées. Quant aux couleurs du drapeau, il est courant d'affirmer qu'elles renvoient à la Vierge Marie. Bien que ces assertions recèlent un fond de vérité, il n'est pas sans intérêt de saisir pourquoi la fleur de lys est devenue un emblème royal et de connaître la signification des couleurs du drapeau.

Page détaillée

Haut