LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Palestinian Authority flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

Palestinian Authority flag

The colours of the flag

Islam is rich in colour symbolism. Muslim mystics see rising scales of colours as depicting the manifestation of the Absolute Light reflected into the ladder of the seven degrees or centres of the Islamic tradition.

Thus, for Rumi, progression works according to the following ladder: blue, yellow, red, white, green, blue pale, the last degree being colourless. Indeed, the ultimate degree represents the Principle, source of all things and, in particular, colours. It cannot therefore be the object of any determination.

Another colour ladder provides the following gradation: white (colour of initiation), yellow (true fervour), dark blue (divine favour), green (inner peace), azure (immediate intuition), red (gnosis) and black (divine essence). The last degree gets a colour, but not just anyone. Black symbolizes here the non-manifested, the absence (of colours) representative of the Principle in its pure state.

Colours also portray a concealed lighting of the seven centres of the human being: grey (body or Adam), blue (soul or Noah), red (heart or Abraham), white (conscience or Moses), yellow (spirit or David), black (subtle centre known as the secret or Jesus) and green (Divine Centre or Mohammed).

There are other colour scales concerning the seven Heavens, the seven Earths etc. However, the Palestinian Authority flag refers to four of them only: two complementary (red and green) and two opposed (white and black):

  • Red and green usually depict fire and water, terrestrial and celestial fires and, more generally, Earth and Heaven;
  • White corresponds to the manifestation (addition) of all colours of the visible light spectrum; black has, on the contrary, to do with the non-manifestation (absorption) of colours. Consequently, white and black deal with the visible and invisible.

These two kind of relationships (Earth/Heaven or below/beyond, visible/invisible or outer/inner) are fundamental in any tradition in general and in Islam in particular. And there is no better symbol than the mountain to cover them.

The mountain symbolism

The symbolic image of the mountain is a triangle, the summit of which is a contact point between Earth and Heaven. It represents the passage between human and supra-human states, terrestrial and celestial worlds. Viewed from above, the summit makes the mountain look like a World Centre; seen from below, the mountain stands as the World Axis and its slopes as ladders to be climbed.

In the Biblical tradition, mountains symbolize the revelation of the sacred as Mount Horeb or Sinai.

In the Muslim tradition, Mount Kaf dominates the terrestrial world. It is separated from Earth by a region of darkness which has to be crossed in order to reach the summit. Sometimes, the Mount or its summit is described as being made of emerald,The flag of Sudan a colour mixing green and blue. Note that within the flag of Sudan, which is based on the same colours and pattern as the Pan-Arab one, the triangle is green. Green is often considered as the colour of Islam and Mohammed, along with the being who has reached the Mount summit.

The celestial World contains the terrestrial worldOn the peak of Mount Kaf dwells the most fabulous bird, the Simurg. Beyond the way back to the source (sharia), it symbolizes the Absolute Knowledge (haqiqat), the Divine Centre, the Great Peace, the Great Silence, the essential Truth, the Principle, the Pole of the invisible reserved only to those who can see with the eyes of the heart. Mount Kaf constitutes the celestial and invisible envelope of the terrestrial and visible Kaaba in Mecca. Does it not suggest the image of the invisible and celestial World containing the visible and terrestrial world ? For more details, see the introduction to symbolism.

The Simurg is assisted by two right and left Imams and the ternary obtained is also a triangle.The Principle polarization and the way back towards It This ternary describes the Principle and its polarization into different facets. It represents the initiatory triangle showing the way down from the Principle towards its polarization into various aspects and the way back from the polarized aspects to their unification into the Principle. It tells the initiate that we all come from the Principle and that we can only move back to It to overcome our split outer nature and recover our unified inner nature.

Like the Kaaba, there are other places on Earth representing an image of the Divine Centre as, for instance, the mountain where the sacrifice of Abraham happened for Jews or the Golgotha for Christians. Moreover, there is still one place recognized as a Centre image by all three religions, Jerusalem. And the only way to allow the holy city to represent the Great Peace on Earth would be to give access to its holy places 1.

If such an issue seems to be the only one possible, it will nevertheless have to encompass the actual institutional framework. The mutual understanding and comprehension will only arise if oppositions are transformed into complementarities, if divisions are blurred by the light of the common fund to all three religions, which is laid on the mountain summit.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Fundamental Symbols: The Universal Language of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Et Universalis Publisher;
  • Notably, chapter 15 on a hieroglyph of the Pole.
  • Henry Corbin:
  • “The interiorized meaning in Iranian Sufi hermeneutic”. Eranos Jachbuch, 1958.

1 back Note that such a situation would not be new at all. Frederick II of Hohenstaufen, King of Sicily before becoming Germanic Emperor from 1214 to 1250, landed in 1228 in Palestine, during a 6th Crusade, with 3000 men only. He immediately entered into negotiations with the Egyptian Sultan, Al Kamel, nephew of Saladin. The treaty was concluded without fighting and stipulated, among other things, the neutrality of Jerusalem and gave access to the holy places.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Autorité palestinienne

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de l'Autorité palestinienne

Les couleurs du drapeau

L'Islam est riche du symbolisme des couleurs. Les mystiques musulmans voient dans les gradations ascendantes de couleurs une manifestation de la Lumière Pure réfléchie dans l'échelle des sept degrés ou centres de la tradition islamique.

Ainsi, pour Roumi, la progression s'effectue selon l'échelle suivante: bleu, rouge, jaune, blanc, vert, bleu pâle, le dernier degré étant incolore. En effet, le degré ultime représente le Principe à la source de toute chose et, en particulier, des couleurs. Il ne peut dès lors faire l'objet d'une quelconque détermination.

Une autre échelle de couleurs donne la gradation suivante: blanc (couleur de l'initiation), jaune (ferveur véritable), bleu foncé (faveur divine), vert (paix intérieure), azur (intuition immédiate), rouge (gnose), noir (divine essence). Le dernier degré se voit attribuer une couleur, mais pas n'importe laquelle. Le noir symbolise ici le non manifesté, l'absence (de couleurs) représentative du Principe à l'état pur.

Les couleurs dépeignent également un éclairage indirect des sept centres de l'être humain: gris (corps ou Adam), bleu (âme ou Noé), rouge (cœur ou Abraham), blanc (conscience ou Moïse), jaune (esprit ou David), noir (centre subtil dénommé le secret ou Jésus) et vert (Centre Divin ou Mohammed).

Il y a d'autres gradations de couleurs concernant les sept Ciels, les sept Terres etc. Toutefois, le drapeau de l'Autorité palestinienne n'en retient que quatre seulement: deux complémentaires (rouge et vert) et deux opposées (blanc et noir):

  • Le rouge et le vert dépeignent habituellement le feu et l'eau, les feux terrestre et céleste et, plus généralement, la Terre et le Ciel;
  • Le blanc correspond à la manifestation (l'addition) de toutes les couleurs du spectre de la lumière visible; le noir relève, au contraire, de la non manifestation (l'absorption) des couleurs. En conséquence, le blanc et le noir ont trait au visible et à l'invisible.

Ces deux types de relations (Terre/Ciel ou ici-bas/au-delà, visible/invisible ou extérieur/intérieur) sont fondamentales dans toute tradition en général et dans l'Islam en particulier. Et il n'y a pas de meilleur symbole que la montagne pour les décrire.

Le symbolisme de la montagne

L'image symbolique de la montagne est un triangle dont le sommet est un point de contact entre la Terre et le Ciel. Il représente le passage entre les états humains et supra-humains, les mondes terrestre et céleste. Vu d'en haut, le sommet assimile la montagne au Centre du Monde; vu d'en bas, la montagne ressemble à l'Axe du Monde et ses pentes à des échelles à escalader.

Dans la tradition biblique, les montagnes symbolisent la révélation du sacré tel le Mont Horeb ou Sinaï.

Dans la tradition musulmane, le Mont Qâf domine le monde terrestre. Une région obscure le sépare de la Terre et il faut la traverser pour atteindre le sommet. Quelquefois, le Mont ou son sommet sont dits faits d'émeraude,Drapeau du Soudan une couleur mélangeant le vert et le bleu. Notez que dans le drapeau soudanais, reprenant les mêmes couleurs et dessin que le drapeau panarabe, le triangle est vert. Le vert est souvent considéré comme la couleur de l'Islam et de Mohammed ou encore de l'être qui a atteint le sommet de la montagne.

Le Monde céleste contient le monde terrestreSur la cime du Mont Qâf réside le plus fabuleux des oiseaux, le Simorgh. Il symbolise, au-delà de la voie du retour à la source (sharia), la Connaissance Pure (haqîqat), le Centre Divin, la Grande Paix, le Grand Silence, la Vérité essentielle, le Principe, le Pôle de l'invisible réservé uniquement à ceux qui peuvent voir avec les yeux du cœur. Le Mont Qâf constitue l'enveloppe céleste et invisible de la Kaaba terrestre et visible à la Mecque. Cela ne suggère t-il pas l'image du Monde invisible et céleste contenant le monde visible et terrestre ? Pour plus de détails, voir l'introduction au symbolisme.

Le Simorgh est assisté à droite et à gauche de deux Imams et le ternaire obtenu est aussi un triangle.Polarisation du Principe et voie de retour vers le Principe Ce ternaire décrit le Principe et sa polarisation selon différentes facettes. Il représente le triangle initiatique montrant la voie descendante du Principe vers sa polarisation sous divers aspects et la voie du retour des aspects polarisés à leur unification dans le Principe. Il indique à l'initié que nous venons tous du Principe et que nous ne pouvons qu'y retourner pour dépasser notre nature extérieure divisée et retrouver notre nature intérieure unifiée.

À l'instar de la Kaaba, il y a d'autres lieux sur Terre représentant une image du Centre Divin comme, par exemple, la montagne du sacrifice d'Abraham pour les juifs ou le Golgotha pour les chrétiens. Cependant, il existe encore un lieu reconnu comme une image du Centre par les trois religions, à savoir Jérusalem. Et la seule façon de permettre à la ville sainte de représenter la Grande Paix sur Terre serait d'autoriser l'accès à ses lieux saints 1.

Si une telle issue semble la seule possible, elle devra cependant dépasser le cadre institutionnel proprement dit. L'entente et la compréhension mutuelle ne surviendrons que si les oppositions se muent en complémentarités, si les divisons s'estompent à la lumière du fonds commun des trois religions qui est déposé au sommet de la montagne.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre XV sur un hiéroglyphe du Pôle.
  • Henry Corbin:
  • “L'intériorisation du sens en herméneutique soufie iranienne”. Eranos Jachbuch, 1958.

1 retour Notons qu'une telle situation ne serait en rien nouvelle. Frédéric II de Hohenstaufen, Roi de Sicile avant de devenir Empereur germanique de 1214 à 1250, débarqua en 1228 en Palestine, au cours d'une 6e croisade, avec 3000 hommes seulement. Il entama immédiatement des négociations avec le Sultan d'Égypte, Al-Kamel, neveu de Saladin. Le traité fut conclu sans coup férir et stipulait, entre autres choses, la neutralité de Jérusalem et donnait un droit d'accès aux lieux saints.

Haut