LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Palestinian Authority flag

(Summary)

Palestinian Authority flag

The Prophet's colours

As several countries in the Middle East,The Pan-Arab flag the Palestinians have adopted the red, black, white and green colours of the Pan-Arab nationalist flag. The flag was used during the Arab revolt against the Ottoman's empire at the beginning of the 20th century. The original colours were black over green over white; the present order was established in 1921.

Initially adopted by Jordan, the four colour flag was raised as an emblem of the Palestinian movement and Palestinian's links to Jordan. The flag was endorsed by the Palestinian Authority as representative of the Palestinian movement at the conference of Jerusalem in 1964.

The colours of the flag have acquired a political meaning as representative of early Islamic dynasties. No dynasty emerged in the Middle East until Islam appeared in the 7th century of our era. According to its etymology, religion (from the Latin “religare”, bringing together) acted as cement between Arab's tribes to constitute caliphate dynasties associated with colours:

  • Red for the Hashemites. They were related to the Prophet's grand-father, Hashim, the strength of which stemmed from the tribal alliances in the Hejaz region of Arabia along the Red sea. The king of Jordan is the last representative of that dynasty.
  • Green for the Fatimids, who reigned over North Africa and claimed descent from Mohammed's daughter, Fatima. They extended their empire to Egypt and adopted al-Qahira (Cairo) as their capital.
  • White for the Umayyads. Centred in Damascus, they wrested control over the Arab empire from Ali, son-in-law of the Prophet.
  • Black for the Abbasids. Their capital was Baghdad and they claimed to be descended from Abbas, uncle of Mohammed.

These four colours are too close to the Prophet and Islam not to have a more symbolic and spiritual meaning. A meaning reinforced by the drawing itself and, in particular, the triangular shape resembling a mountain.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Autorité palestinienne

(Résumé)

Drapeau de l'Autorité palestinienne

Les couleurs du Prophète

Comme plusieurs pays du Moyen-Orient,Drapeau panarabe les Palestiniens adoptèrent les couleurs rouge, noire, blanche et verte du drapeau nationaliste panarabe. Le drapeau fut utilisé durant la révolte arabe contre l'empire ottoman au début du 20e siècle. Les tons originels étaient noir sur vert sur blanc; l'ordre actuel date de 1921.

Initialement adopté par la Jordanie, le drapeau à quatre couleurs fur érigé en emblème du mouvement palestinien et des liens palestiniens avec la Jordanie. Le drapeau fut approuvé par l'Autorité palestinienne pour représenter le mouvement palestinien à la conférence de Jérusalem en 1964.

Les couleurs du drapeau ont acquis une signification politique et représentative des premières dynasties islamiques. Nulle dynastie n'émerge au Moyen-Orient avant l'apparition de l'Islam au VIIe siècle de notre ère. En accord avec l'étymologie, la religion (du latin “religare”, relier, rassembler) agit comme un ciment entre les tribus arabes pour constituer des dynasties de califats associées à des couleurs:

  • Rouge pour les Hachémites. Ils étaient apparentés au grand-père du Prophète, Hashim, dont la force découlait des alliances tribales dans la région d'Arabie nommée Hejaz, le long de la mer Rouge. Le roi de Jordanie est le dernier représentant de cette dynastie.
  • Vert pour les Fatimides qui régnaient sur l'Afrique du Nord et proclamaient descendre de la fille de Mohammed, Fatima. Ils étendirent leur empire à l'Égypte et adoptèrent al-Qahira (Le Caire) comme capitale.
  • Blanc pour les Umayyades. Ils gouvernaient depuis Damas et tenaient leur autorité sur l'empire arabe d'Ali, gendre du Prophète.
  • Noir pour les Abbasides. Leur capitale était Bagdad et ils proclamaient descendre d'Abbas, oncle de Mohammed.

Ces quatre couleurs sont trop proches du Prophète et de l'Islam pour ne pas avoir une signification plus symbolique et spirituelle. Un sens renforcé par le dessin lui-même et, plus particulièrement, par la forme triangulaire ressemblant à une montagne.

Page détaillée

Haut