LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The five Olympic rings

(Detailed page)

Summary

Olympic flag

The colours of the flag

As protagonist of the Olympic revival, Pierre de Coubertin would have declared that the colours of the rings evoked the five continents represented at the games:

Colour

Yellow

Red

Blue

Green

Black

Continent

Asia

America(s)

Europe

Oceania

Africa

Apart from black, these colours are contained in the visible light spectrum represented by the white background. This “ethnic” interpretation was questioned. In fact, why should Europeans be assimilated to blue men and Oceanians to little green fellows ? Pierre de Coubertin underlined with accuracy that these six colours constituted the basic colours of the flags of the world at that time.

Indeed, most of the countries of the world resort to combinations of colours in the drawing of their flags according to the following approximate distribution:

Flags

Self-coloured

Bi-coloured

Tri-coloured

Quadri-coloured

Penta-coloured

%

 2.5

20.0

55.0

20.0

 2.5

The interlocking of the rings could reflect this, knowing that the Olympic flag is the only one to display six colours.

The interlocking rings

The adoption of the interlocking rings was codified by the IOC meeting in Lausanne in 1931 1.

In a number of traditions, the ring symbolizes the nature of the links between people and people with gods.

In ancient Greece, Prometheus was liberated by Heracles thanks to an iron ring set with a piece of rock that he had to carry on his finger the rest of his days. This ring at the origin of his liberation was to remind him forever of the chains that kept him tied to the rock and his subordination to Zeus.

According to another legend, the king Polycrates of Samos enjoyed such good fortune that he was convinced that it could not last. In order to avert his anguish, he decided to sacrifice a precious object to which he was particularly attached to the gods. He climbed to the top of a tower and threw a superb ring set with a magnificent emerald into the sea. Unfortunately for him, a fish swallowed the ring, the fish was caught in the nets of a fisherman and the fisherman brought the fish to the king. By his gesture, Polycrates wanted to influence his destiny and perpetuate his good fortune. However, the sea rejected his offering. The gods do not undo what they did whenever a material offering is presented to them. The ring symbolizes here at once the vain attempt to escape a destiny (disastrous or happy) and the acceptance of one's own fate that constitutes the only true sacrifice.

These two Greek legends are sufficient to show that the ring can mean at once liberation and acceptance. The conqueror of a test of the Pan-Hellenic competitions could surpass his status of citizen and become a hero while being subject to the rules prescribed by the gods and the organizers of the meeting.

From a general point of view, the ring symbolizes tied and untied links or bonds, indissoluble and liberating links as underlined by the drawing of the interlocking rings.

Would the contemporary athlete have at once liberated himself from his condition of simple citizen or subject to attain the stature of “god of the stadium” and free himself from the Olympian rules stipulated in the charter adopted by the IOC ? It could be as this charter says in substance:

Olympism is a philosophy of life exalting and combining in a balanced whole the qualities of body, will and mind…Olympism seeks to create a way of life based on the joy of effort, the educational value of good example, social responsibility and respect for universal fundamental ethical principles.

Does it mean that no athlete of the Pan-Hellenic competitions has ever been tempted to hold up his oath to ridicule ? Of course not. At that time, the issue was more important and the glory less fleeting than today. Some even used their social position to do it openly.

Bibliography

  • Nicolaos Yalouris:
  • “The Olympic Games in Ancient Greece”. Ekdotike Athenon Publisher, 1977.
  • Allen Guttmann:
  • “The Olympics”. Urbana, University of Illinois Press, 1992.
  • Olympic Movement:
  • Official site
  • The golden legend.

1 back The International Committee of the Olympic Games, known today as International Olympic Committee, was founded by Pierre de Coubertin in 1896, after the games of Athens. The recruitment of its members is done by coopting. Supreme authority of the Olympic movement, it sits in Lausanne since 1981. The IOC is a non-governmental international organization of Swiss private law. It is the exclusive owner of the brand and Olympic rings at the source of considerable returns. Even the Paralympic games, introduced in 1960, cannot take advantage of the Olympic rings and even less flag.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les cinq anneaux olympiques

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau olympique

Les couleurs du drapeau

En tant que protagoniste du renouveau olympique, Pierre de Coubertin aurait déclaré que les couleurs des anneaux évoquaient les cinq continents représentés aux jeux:

Couleur

Jaune

Rouge

Bleu

Vert

Noir

Continent

Asie

Amérique(s)

Europe

Océanie

Afrique

Le noir mis à part, ces couleurs sont contenues dans le spectre de la lumière visible représentée par le fond blanc. Cette interprétation “ethnique” fut remise en question. En effet, pourquoi les européens seraient-ils assimilés à des hommes bleus et les océaniens à de petits bonhommes verts ? Pierre de Coubertin souligna avec justesse que ces six couleurs constituaient les couleurs de base des drapeaux du monde de l'époque.

En fait, la plupart des pays du monde recourent à des combinaisons de couleurs dans le dessin de leurs drapeaux selon la répartition approximative suivante:

Drapeaux

Unicolores

Bicolores

Tricolores

Quadricolores

Pentacolores

%

 2,5

20,0

55,0

20,0

 2,5

L'entrelacement des anneaux pourrait refléter ce fait, étant entendu que le drapeau olympique est le seul à arborer six couleurs.

Les anneaux entrelacés

L'adoption des anneaux entrelacés fut codifiée par le CIO réuni à Lausanne en 1931 1.

Dans nombre de traditions, l'anneau symbolise la nature des liens entre les êtres et des êtres avec les dieux.

Dans la Grèce ancienne, Prométhée fut libéré par Héraclès grâce à un anneau de fer serti d'un morceau de roche qu'il dût porter à son doigt le reste de ses jours. Cet anneau à l'origine de sa libération devait lui rappeler à jamais les chaînes qui l'avait retenu au rocher et sa subordination à Zeus.

Selon une autre légende, le roi Polycrate de Samos jouissait d'une telle bonne fortune qu'il fut convaincu que cela ne pourrait durer. Afin de conjurer son angoisse, il décida de sacrifier aux dieux un objet précieux auquel il tenait beaucoup. Il monta en haut d'une tour et jeta à la mer une superbe bague sertie d'une magnifique émeraude. Malheureusement pour lui, un poisson avala la bague, le poisson fut pris dans les filets d'un pêcheur et le pêcheur apporta le poisson au roi. Par son geste, Polycrate avait voulu influencer son destin et perpétuer sa bonne fortune. Cependant, la mer avait rejeté son offrande. Les dieux ne défont pas ce qu'ils ont fait chaque fois qu'une offrande matérielle leur est présentée. La bague symbolise ici à la fois la vaine tentative d'échapper à un destin (funeste ou heureux) et l'acceptation de son sort qui constitue le seul véritable sacrifice.

Ces deux légendes grecques suffisent à nous montrer que l'anneau peut signifier à la fois libération et acceptation. Le vainqueur d'une épreuve des concours panhelléniques pouvait dépasser son statut de citoyen et devenir un héros tout en étant assujetti aux règles prescrites par les dieux et les organisateurs des rencontres.

De façon générale, l'anneau symbolise les liens qui se nouent et se dénouent, les liens indissolubles et libérateurs comme le souligne le dessin de l'entrelacement des anneaux.

L'athlète contemporain se serait-il à la fois libéré de sa condition de simple citoyen ou sujet pour accéder au statut de “dieu du stade” et affranchi des règles de l'olympisme stipulées dans la charte adoptée par le CIO ? Cela serait possible car cette charte dit en substance:

L’Olympisme est une philosophie de vie, exaltant et combinant en un ensemble équilibré les qualités du corps, de la volonté et de l’esprit…l’Olympisme se veut créateur d’un style de vie fondé sur la joie dans l’effort, la valeur éducative du bon exemple, la responsabilité sociale et le respect des principes éthiques fondamentaux universels.

Est-ce à dire qu'aucun athlète des concours panhelléniques n'a jamais était tenté de bafouer son serment ? Bien sûr que non. À l'époque, l'enjeu était plus important et la gloire moins éphémère qu'aujourd'hui. Certains ont même utilisé leur position sociale pour le faire ouvertement.

1 retour Le Comité International des Jeux Olympiques, aujourd'hui dénommé Comité International Olympique, fut fondé par Pierre de Coubertin en 1896, après les jeux d'Athènes. Le recrutement de ses membres se fait par cooptation. Autorité suprême du mouvement olympique, il siège à Lausanne depuis 1981. Le CIO est une organisation internationale non gouvernementale de droit privé suisse. Il est le propriétaire exclusif de la marque et des anneaux olympiques à la source de rentrées considérables. Même les jeux paralympiques, introduits en 1960, ne peuvent se prévaloir des anneaux et encore moins du drapeau olympiques.

Bibliographie

  • Philippe de Charbonnières:
  • “Olympie, La victoire pour les dieux”. Éditions CNRS, 2005.
  • Pierre Milza, François Jequier et Philippe Tétart:
  • “Le Pouvoir des anneaux. Les Jeux olympiques à la lumière de la politique, 1896-2004”. Éditions Vuibert, 2004.
  • Mouvement olympique:
  • Site officiel
  • La légende dorée.
Haut