LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The five Olympic rings

(Summary)

Olympic flag

A brief history of the Games

The Hellenic competitions were created in honour of Zeus and Heracles during the VIIIth century before our era, in the town of Olympia located in the Peloponnese. Above all, they were of a religious nature in the etymological meaning of the word, i.e. to link people, to bring them together. They took place after the summer solstice and lasted 5 days:

  • The first day was devoted to religious ceremonies (processions, prayers, sacrifices, libations …) only, during which athletes were taking the oath.
  • The athletic tests began the second day with the chariot race, followed by the horse race and the five tests of the pentathlon: stadium (race of about 200m), wrestling 1, long jump, discus and javelin throwing.
  • During the third day, a big procession, a hecatomb (sacrifice of about one hundred bulls) and a banquet preceded the athletic tests of the "junior".
  • The two last days were reserved, among others, for violent sports (pugilism, pankration …). A race (of about 400m), accomplished by warriors at arms, marked the end of the competitions.

These competitions were reserved for Greek citizens only, which excluded women 2, slaves and metic (foreigners). Nevertheless, during the Alexander's conquest era and under the Roman domination, the competitions became Pan-Hellenic and began to be more "democratic". These meetings intended to associate body and spirit by combining musical and literary competitions with athletic tests. These spirit competitions were resumed by the baron Pierre de Coubertin at the time of the revival of the Games in 1893. They were abandoned after the Games of London in 1948 and reintroduced during the same Games in 2012.

The athletic, musical and literary meetings took place every four years until they were banned in 393 of our era by the emperor Theodosius. The first Olympic Games of the modern times were held in Athens, in 1896. Only a limited number of athletes and countries were able to participate to the first Games. It was only at the Games of Stockholm, in 1912, that the five continents were represented and that the idea of the five rings germinated in the spirit of Pierre de Coubertin. By a strange irony of fate, the Olympic rings symbolizing the union of the peoples, in reaction to the rise of the nationalist and xenophobic movements, was proposed on the eve of the first World War. The Olympic flag using these rings floated for the first time at the Games of Antwerp in 1920.

Let us mention that women were able to participate in tests compatible with their "femininity" at the Games of Paris in 1900. They were allowed to fully compete in the Games of Amsterdam in 1928, i.e. the very year of the adoption of the winter Olympic Games.

1 back Wrestling, pancratium (where everything was allowed apart from clawing eyes out and bitting) and pugilism (where only the use of fists was allowed) came under the category of fighting sports.

2 back Let us mention that the conqueror of the chariot race was not the charioteer, but the owner of the horses and harness. This is why the race could be won, in 396 and 392 before our era, by Cynisca, sister of Agesilaus, king of Sparta.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les cinq anneaux olympiques

(Résumé)

Drapeau olympique

Une brève histoire des Jeux

Les concours helléniques furent créés en l'honneur de Zeus et d'Héraclès au VIIIe siècle avant notre ère, dans la ville d'Olympie située dans le Péloponnèse. Ils étaient avant tout de nature religieuse au sens étymologique du mot, c'est-à-dire de relier les gens entre eux, de les rassembler. Ils avaient lieu après le solstice d'été et duraient 5 jours:

  • Le premier jour était consacré aux seules cérémonies religieuses (processions, prières, sacrifices, libations …) au cours desquelles les athlètes prêtaient serment.
  • Les épreuves sportives débutaient le deuxième jour par la course de chars, suivie par la course de chevaux et les cinq épreuves du pentathlon: le stade (course de 200m environ), la lutte 1, le saut en longueur, les lancers du disque et du javelot.
  • Au cours du troisième jour, une grande procession, une hécatombe (sacrifice d'une centaine de bœufs) et un banquet précédaient les épreuves sportives des “juniors”.
  • Les deux derniers jours étaient réservés entre autre aux sports violents (pugilat, pancrace …). Une course (d'environ 400m), accomplie par des guerriers en armes, marquait la fin des concours.

Ces concours étaient réservés aux seuls citoyens grecs, ce qui excluait les femmes 2, les esclaves et les métèques (les étrangers). Toutefois, à l'époque des conquêtes d'Alexandre et sous la domination romaine, les concours devinrent panhélleniques et commencèrent à se “démocratiser”. Ces rencontres entendaient associer le corps et l'esprit en adjoignant des concours musicaux et littéraires aux épreuves sportives. Ces concours de l'esprit furent repris par le baron Pierre de Coubertin lors du renouveau des Jeux en 1893. Ils furent abandonnés après les Jeux de Londres de 1948 et remis à l'honneur à ces mêmes Jeux en 2012.

Les rencontres sportives, musicales et littéraires eurent lieu tous les quatre ans jusqu'à leur interdiction en 393 de notre ère par l'empereur Théodose. Les premiers Jeux olympiques des temps modernes se sont tenus à Athènes en 1896. Seuls un nombre limité d'athlètes et de pays purent participer aux premiers Jeux. Ce ne fut qu'aux Jeux de Stockholm, en 1912, que les cinq continents furent représentés et que l'idée des cinq anneaux germa dans l'esprit de Pierre de Coubertin. Ironie du sort, les anneaux olympiques symbolisant l'union des peuples, en réaction à la montée des mouvements nationalistes et xénophobes, fut proposée à la veille de la première guerre mondiale. Le drapeau olympique reprenant ces anneaux flotta pour la première fois aux Jeux d'Anvers en 1920.

Signalons que les femmes purent participer à des épreuves compatibles avec leur “féminité” aux Jeux de Paris en 1900. Elles furent admises à participer pleinement à partir des Jeux d'Amsterdam de 1928, c'est-à-dire l'année même de l'adoption des Jeux olympiques d'hiver.

1 retour La lutte, le pancrace (où tout était permis, sauf d'arracher les yeux et de mordre) et le pugilat (où seul l'usage des poings était autorisé) relevaient de la catégorie des sports de combat.

2 retour Mentionnons que le vainqueur de la course de chars n'était pas l'aurige, mais le propriétaire des chevaux et de l'attelage. C'est ainsi que la course a pu être remportée en 396 et 392 avant notre ère par Cynisca, sœur d'Agesilas, roi de Sparte.

Page détaillée

Haut