LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Netherlands and Luxembourg flags

(Page détaillée)

Summary

Dutch flag Luxembourg flag

The drawing of the flags

The tricolour national flags are the most numerous in the world (for more details, see the colours of the Olympic flag). And the easiest way to arrange them consists in placing them side by side on three horizontal or vertical stripes of the same size. The following tables provide a list of European flags associated with each of these arrangements and their relative dimensions (width/length ratio):

European tricolour flags with equal horizontal stripes:

Flags
Ratio
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 3/5
  • 1/2
  • 7/11
  • 3/5
  • 2/3
  • 2/3
  • 3/5
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 1/2

European tricolour flags with equal vertical stripes:

Flags
Ratio
  • 2/3
  • 13/15
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3

It follows that the flags with horizontal stripes significantly outweigh those with vertical ones; they could have been used as a model for number of flags in Europe and elsewhere. In fact, the Dutch flag seems to have been the first European tricolour flag and the greatest maritime, commercial, financial and artistic nation of the XVIIth century must have influenced the drawing of the emblem of other nations. All the more so since that its format is the most widespread among the mentioned tricolour flags. This influence could also have been extended to colours.

The colours of the flags

Red represents courage and strength on Earth and symbolizes the temporal power in this world. Besides, it corresponds to the “uppermost” colour of the rainbow and the highest rank in the terrestrial order. This role was traditionally assigned to the King responsible for maintaining order and justice, peace and harmony in the Kingdom.

Blue generally represents one of the “lowest” colours of the rainbow. It is associated with the producers and craftsmen, the representatives of the economic class in general.

The Dutch blue overseas characterizes the huge maritime expanse beyond a land open to the world; the Luxembourg sky blue is linked to the sky covering the continental land.

White symbolizes the visible light which contains all manifested colours in the spectrum of the rainbow, in particular the two extreme colours, red and blue. It symbolizes the spiritual authority guiding the King in his task and producers in their work. That is why, white, symbolizing the will of Heaven on Earth, stands in the middle of the flag.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Drapeaux des Pays-Bas et du Luxembourg

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau néerlandais Drapeau luxembourgeois

Le dessin des drapeaux

Les drapeaux nationaux tricolores sont les plus nombreux au monde (pour plus de détails, voir les couleurs du drapeau olympique). Et la façon la plus simple de les agencer consiste à les juxtaposer sur trois bandes horizontales ou verticales de mêmes dimensions. Les tableaux suivants donnent la liste des drapeaux européens associés à chacun de ces alignements ainsi que leurs dimensions relatives (ratio largeur/longueur):

Drapeaux européens tricolores à bandes horizontales égales:

Drapeaux
Ratio
  • 3/5
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 3/5
  • 1/2
  • 7/11
  • 2/3
  • 3/5
  • 3/5
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 1/2

Drapeaux européens tricolores à bandes verticales égales:

Drapeaux
Ratio
  • 2/3
  • 13/15
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3
  • 1/2
  • 2/3

Il en découle que les drapeaux à bandes horizontales l'emportent largement sur ceux à bandes verticales; ils ont pu servir de modèle pour nombre de drapeaux en Europe et ailleurs. En fait, le drapeau néerlandais semble avoir été le premier drapeau tricolore européen et la plus grande puissance maritime, commerciale, financière et artistique du XVIIe siècle a dû influencer la conception de l'emblème d'autres nations. D'autant plus que son format est le plus répandu parmi les drapeaux tricolores mentionnés. Cette influence a pu aussi s'étendre aux couleurs.

Les couleurs des drapeaux

Le rouge représente la vaillance et la force sur terre et symbolise le pouvoir temporel en ce monde. D'ailleurs, il correspond à la couleur “supérieure” de l'arc-en-ciel et au rang le plus élevé dans l'ordre terrestre. Ce rôle était traditionnellement dévolu au roi chargé de faire régner l'ordre et la justice, la paix et l'harmonie dans le royaume.

Le bleu en général représente l'une des couleurs “inférieures” de l'arc-en-ciel; il est associé aux producteurs et artisans, aux représentants de la classe économique en général.

Le bleu outre-mer néerlandais caractérise l'immense étendue maritime au-delà d'une terre ouverte sur le monde; le bleu ciel luxembourgeois est associé au ciel couvrant la terre continentale;

Le blanc symbolise la lumière visible contenant toutes les couleurs manifestées dans le spectre de l'arc-en-ciel, en particulier les deux couleurs extrêmes, le rouge et le bleu. Il symbolise l'autorité spirituelle guidant le roi dans sa tâche et les producteurs dans leurs travaux. C'est pourquoi, le blanc, symbolisant la volonté du Ciel sur Terre, se trouve au milieu du drapeau.

Haut