At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Nepal

(Detailed page)


Flag of Nepal

The colours of the flag

The flag of Nepal consists of two white motifs on a crimson background bordered with blue:

  • The crimson colour is a richer red slightly tinged with violet. It combines both limit colours of the rainbow spectrum, the “highest” and the “lowest”, to obtain the supreme red, which is the emblem of the supreme power over the country;
  • The deep blue border, slightly tinged with violet sometimes, is a “lower” colour of the rainbow spectrum. It corresponds to the Nepalese industrious population;
  • White contains the whole range of colours of the rainbow spectrum. It symbolizes the principle of the manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general. It follows that white represents the unifying principle of the Nepalese supreme power and industrious population.

Moreover, white is the colour of the Hindu's Brahmins as the light and knowledge radiated by the Buddha. Therefore, white also symbolizes the spiritual authority holding the knowledge of the principles that the supreme power has to implement in order to keep the society united. As representatives of the two main spiritual traditions in Nepal, Hindus and Buddhists can only gather round this common goal.

The two pennants of the flag

Flanked by the Himalayas on its northern border, Nepal is dominated by 90 peaks over 7000 meters including Earth's highest Mount Everest. The two pennants of the Nepalese flag represent the slopes of the Mount, its shady and sunny sides, its northern and southern ones. This is why the upper and lower pennants are associated with darkness and clarity respectively decorated with the crescent Moon and Sun.

The crescent Moon contains a star with only eight visible branches. It refers to the intermediary sphere between the celestial sphere portrayed by the twelve constellations of the Zodiac or Solar sphere depicted by the twelve branches of the Sun and the terrestrial one characterized by the four compass points.

The Moon has no light of its own and only reflects the light of the Sun. It represents the reflection of the human being, the indirect and rational knowledge which is the reflection of the direct and intuitive Knowledge symbolized by the Sun. To access true Knowledge, the being has to jump from the Lunar sphere into the Solar one.

During the first phase of the lunar cycle associated with the waxing moon, the being is growing according to the brightness of the astral body. At full moon, he can either leave the Lunar sphere forever or go back to the obscurity he comes from during the second phase related to the waning moon. The crescent Moon may correspond either to the beginning of the first phase or the end of the second one. Its horizontal drawing means that both possibilities are envisaged. The being has the choice between ascending the mountain slope and descending it. Reaching its summit generally means to definitively leave the apparent light for the true clarity.

The mountain summit is the contact point between both slopes, the place were darkness and light are unified alongside the Mount Axis. Having reached the summit, the human being is able to see how apparent oppositions can merge into unity. He can climb along the Mount Axis and leave the human world where all things look separated to access to the supra-human world where the same things are unified and only parts of the Great Unity, the Principle at the source of all things and beings.

Through its rise in the east and its set in the west, the Sun brings us to the origins, to the Principle we all come from and where we are all called back. The noon Sun is the visible image of the invisible Principle sometimes described as the midnight Sun.

The Nepalese flag invites us to discover unity beyond duality in order to all live together in peace. From that point of view, Hindus and Buddhists deliver the same teaching.