LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Nepal

(Summary)

Flag of Nepal

The two pennant flag

The flag of Nepal is the only national flag which is not rectangular (or square) in shape. It is composed of two distinct pennants, one above the other, which belonged to rival branches of the Rana dynasty, the former rulers of Nepal. The two pennants were first joined during the 19th century, but the present flag was adopted in 1962 only upon the establishment of a new constitutional government.

Coat of arms of NepalThe national coat of arms of Nepal gives some clues about the symbolism of the flag. It was described in “The Rising Nepal” newspaper as follows: “It is round in shape with the national flag on top of its centre encircled by rhododendron, the national flower. Inside the circle lies Mount Everest, a hill, the map of Nepal and the handshake of a man and a woman. Below the circle reads a Sanskrit verse meaning ‘mother and motherland are greater than heaven”. Let us note that this motto does not ignore heaven. It says that the coat of arms is a whole as indicated by the map of Nepal in the middle. It only emphases the foreground hill and plain where most Nepalese live relative to the background summit Mount touching heaven.

The two triangular shapes of the flag can therefore only symbolize both slopes of Mount Everest, the sunny and shady sides, the light and dark ones respectively represented by the sun and the horizontal crescent moon. The sun and moon are now said to express the hope that the country will last as long as the astral bodies.

The sun and moon motifs are white against a crimson red background, the national colour. A blue border edges the flag as the Himalayas edge the northern part of the country.

The preceding description of the flag and coat of arms shows that Nepalese emblems have been drawn to bring apparent opposite aspects together in order to underline their complementarity within the unity of the country.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Népal

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Népal

Le drapeau aux deux pennons

Le drapeau de Népal est le seul drapeau national qui ne soit pas de forme rectangulaire (ou carrée). Il est composé de deux pennons distincts, l'un au-dessus de l'autre, qui appartenaient à des branches rivales de la dynastie de Rana, les anciens dirigeants de Népal. Les deux pennons furent réunis pour la première fois au cours du 19e siècle, mais le drapeau actuel ne fut adopté qu'en 1962, lors de l'établissement d'un nouveau gouvernement constitutionnel.

Armoiries du NépalLes armoiries nationales du Népal fournissent quelques indices sur le symbolisme du drapeau. Il a été décrit dans le journal The Rising Nepal comme suit: “Il est de forme circulaire avec le drapeau national au-dessus de son centre entouré de rhododendrons, la fleur nationale. Dans le cercle se trouvent le Mont Everest, la colline, la carte de Népal et la poignée de main d'un homme et d'une femme. Au dessous du cercle, on lit un verset sanscrit qui signifie “La mère et la mère patrie sont plus importantes que le ciel”. Notons que cette devise ne néglige pas le ciel. Elle dit que les armoiries sont un tout comme l'indique la carte de Népal au milieu. Elle met seulement en avant la colline et la plaine du premier plan où vivent la plupart des népalais par rapport au fond où le sommet du Mont touche le ciel.

Les deux formes triangulaires du drapeau ne peuvent en conséquence symboliser que les deux versants du Mont Everest, les côtés ensoleillé et ombragé, lumineux et sombre respectivement dépeints par le soleil et le croissant de lune horizontal. Aujourd'hui, le soleil et la lune sont sensés exprimer l'espoir que le pays durera autant que les corps astraux.

Les motifs du soleil et de la lune sont blancs sur un fond rouge cramoisi, la couleur nationale. Une bordure bleue entoure le drapeau tout comme la chaîne himalayenne borde la partie nord du pays.

La description précédente du drapeau et des armoiries montre que les emblèmes népalais ont été dessinés pour rapprocher les aspects apparemment opposés et souligner leur complémentarité au sein de l'unité du pays.

Page détaillée

Haut