LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Mongolia

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Mongolia

The colours of the flag

Made in the image of the Tibetan flag, the flag of Mongolia evokes the Buddhist symbols.

The red and blue background colours represent two colours that trim the visible light spectrum. They symbolize the whole range of the colour manifestation in particular and of all things in general. A manifestation that finds its principle in the white light containing all colour nuances and, generally speaking, in the non-manifested.

The yellow of the pattern represents the spectrum's median colour. Situated between red and blue, it symbolizes balance, harmony and union between opponent tensions, enhanced by the symmetrical and axial character of the drawing.

The soyombo symbolism

The soyombo can be read top down or bottom up. These two movements alongside the axis depict a descent from the spiritual towards the corporal and an ascent from body to Spirit:

1. The first movement of metaphysical order consists in a descent from a celestial pole, a undifferentiated Principle symbolized by the central flame point of the superior pattern (), towards the terrestrial manifestation represented by the bottom pattern ();

2. The second movement of cosmologic order corresponds to a way back from the terrestrial manifestation towards the undifferentiated Principle.

These two movements, described by the two lateral columns of the drawing, convey the being origin and destiny. Product of the descending movement, the ordinary human being can only climb back up the slope towards his celestial source, the undifferentiated Principle or Supreme Unity, if he wants forever to get rid of this world's chains.

The world and being manifestation

The symbols located alongside the pattern axis may be related to the descending movement associated with the Principle manifestation and, in particular, with its most substantial aspect. The pattern is, in fact, composed of four elements common to most traditions and ordered alongside the axis according to their natural movement:

1. Fire or the lightest element rises vertically and radiates in all directions ();

2. Air or the most aerial element moves transversely ();

3. Water or the formless substantial element penetrates the ground surface ();

4. Earth or the most substantial element lies under the ground surface ().

Soyombo symbol All these elements find their source in a fifth element, the least substantial one and wrongly qualified of “quintessence” for it is not a matter of essence, but of substance. This fifth element known as Ether and symbolized by the flames () contains all the others in an undifferentiated state. Their manifestation depends on their movement and relative nature. A natural function of their yin or yang character portrayed by the same naming symbol deliberately located between Earth and Water. In fact, yin is passive, receptive and dark; yang is active, prodigal and luminous. It follows that Water is yang in comparison with Earth, which is yin; all the same, Fire is yang relatively to Air, which is yin.

A ladder of successive yin and yang characters generates tensions between the elements. These tensions are resorbed within the unity of the substantial element par excellence, Ether, and, generally speaking, within the Principle or the manifestation source of any thing and being.

The way back to the undifferentiated Principle

The symbols may be perceived differently during the ascent towards the non-manifested or the descent in direction of manifestation. The descent brings closer to Earth, the ascent to Heaven. Therefore, Fire and Air elements related to the descent are naturally associated with Sun and Moon from the ascent standpoint.

1. The Moon sphere () separates the bodily and psychic manifestation states from the spiritual states, the proper individual states from the supra-individual states;

2. The Sun () represents the undifferentiated Principle at the source of individual and supra-individual states, the Unity of all being states as well as the being having attained the unified state.

The flames crowning the soyombo () symbolize the Triple Jewel or the three sublime refuges, the communication channels between the Moon and Sun spheres:

  • The central flame of the pattern represents the direct path to the unified state, the Buddha's state, the eternal present that perceives the whole reality at one glance. As such, it includes the two lateral flames, which are essential to the understanding of the return towards the unified state;
  • One of the side flames depicts the Heaven's Law that governs the terrestrial world, the Dharma. Source of balance and harmony between things and beings composing this world, it shows to the being, that intends to go back towards its source, the law that reigns over it;
  • The other flame corresponds to the right knowledge guiding the community of disciples or Sangha towards the superior states. The being then leaves the periphery of the “cosmic wheel” to rejoin the centre where he stands motionless; he passes from the outer into the inner; he is no more part of the world, the world is from now on part of him.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la Mongolie

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de Mongolie

Les couleurs du drapeau

À l'image du drapeau du Tibet, le drapeau de la Mongolie évoque les symboles bouddhistes.

Le rouge et le bleu de l'arrière-plan représentent deux couleurs qui bordent le spectre de la lumière visible. Ils symbolisent la manifestation de toute la gamme des couleurs en particulier et de toute chose en général. Une manifestation qui trouve son principe dans la lumière blanche renfermant toutes les nuances de couleurs et, de façon générale, dans le non manifesté.

Le jaune du motif représente la couleur médiane du spectre. Située entre le rouge et le bleu, elle symbolise l'équilibre, l'harmonie et l'union des tensions entre les opposés que rehausse le caractère symétrique et axial du dessin.

Le symbolisme du soyombo

L'axe du dessin symbolise le passage vertical entre plans terrestre et céleste, les mondes temporel et spirituel, le corps et l'Esprit.

Le soyombo peut être lu de haut en bas ou de bas en haut. Ces deux mouvements le long de l'axe traduisent une descente du spirituel vers le corporel et une remontée du corps vers l'Esprit:

1. Le premier mouvement d'ordre métaphysique consiste en une descente d'un pôle céleste, d'un Principe indifférencié symbolisé par la pointe de la flamme centrale du motif supérieur (), vers la manifestation terrestre représentée par le motif du bas ();

2. Le second mouvement d'ordre cosmologique correspond à une remontée de la manifestation terrestre vers le Principe indifférencié.

Ces deux mouvements, figurés par les deux colonnes latérales du dessin, traduisent l'origine et le destin de tout être. Produit du mouvement descendant, l'être humain ordinaire ne peut que remonter la pente vers sa source céleste, vers le Principe indifférencié ou l'Unité Suprême, s'il veut à jamais se libérer des chaînes de ce monde.

La manifestation du monde et des êtres

Les symboles situés le long de l'axe du motif peuvent être mis en relation avec le mouvement descendant associé à la manifestation du Principe et, en particulier, avec son aspect le plus substantiel. Le motif est en effet composé des quatre éléments propres à la plupart des traditions et ordonnés le long de l'axe en fonction de leur mouvement naturel:

1. Le Feu, élément le plus léger qui s'élève à la verticale et rayonne dans toutes les directions ();

2. L'Air, élément le plus aérien qui se meut transversalement ();

3. L'Eau, élément substantiel informe qui pénètre la surface du sol ();

4. La Terre, élément le plus substantiel qui réside sous la surface du sol ().

Symbole du soyombo Tous ces éléments trouvent leur source dans un cinquième élément, le moins substantiel de tous et qualifié à tort de "quintessence" car il ne s'agit pas d'une essence, mais d'une substance. Ce cinquième élément dénommé Éther et symbolisé par les flammes () contient tous les autres à l'état indifférencié. Leur manifestation dépend de leur mouvement et de leur nature relative. Une nature fonction de leur caractère yin ou yang figuré par le symbole du même nom localisé à dessein entre la Terre et l'Eau. En effet, le yin est passif, réceptif et sombre; le yang est actif, prodigue et lumineux. Il s'ensuit que l'Eau est yang par rapport à la Terre yin; de même, le Feu est yang relativement à l'Air yin.

D'où une échelle de caractères yin et yang successifs génératrice de tensions entre les éléments. Ces tensions sont résorbées au sein de l'unité de l'élément substantiel par excellence, l'Éther et, de manière générale, dans le Principe à la source de la manifestation de toute chose et de tout être.

Le retour vers le Principe indifférencié

Les symboles peuvent être perçus différemment au cours de la remontée vers le non manifesté ou de la descente vers le manifesté. La descente rapproche de la Terre, l'ascension du Ciel. Aussi, les éléments Feu et Air en relation avec la descente sont-ils naturellement associés au Soleil et à la Lune du point de vue de l'ascension.

1. La sphère de la Lune () sépare les états de la manifestation corporelle et psychique des états spirituels, les états propres à l'individu des états supra-individuels;

2. Le Soleil () représente le Principe indifférencié à la source des états aussi bien individuels que supra-individuels, l'Unité de tous les états d'être ainsi que l'être ayant atteint l'état unifié.

Les flammes couronnant le soyombo () symbolisent les trois joyaux ou les trois sublimes refuges, les canaux de communication entre les sphères de la Lune et du Soleil:

  • La flamme centrale du motif représente la voie directe qui mène à l'état unifié, à l'état de Bouddha, à l'éternel présent qui perçoit tout la réalité d'un seul coup d'œil. À ce titre, elle englobe les deux flammes latérales indispensables à l'intelligence du retour vers l'état unifié;
  • L'une d'elles dépeint la Loi du Ciel qui gouverne le monde terrestre, le Dharma. Source d'équilibre et d'harmonie entre les choses et les êtres qui composent ce monde, elle montre à l'être qui entend remonter vers sa source la loi qui le régit;
  • L'autre flamme correspond à la juste connaissance qui guide la communauté des disciples ou Sangha vers les états supérieurs. L'être quitte alors la périphérie de la “roue cosmique” pour en rejoindre le centre où il se tient immobile; il passe de l'extérieur à l'intérieur; il ne fait plus partie du monde, le monde fait désormais partie de lui.
Haut