The Mexican flag

Abstract

Mexican flag

The colours of the flag

Beyond contingent explanations, the colours of the flag have a penetrating signification 1, which reinforces the meaning of the coat of arms located in the flag centre:

  • Green symbolizes Hope, the deep Aspiration to return to the unity of the being, who is torn between his different contradictory aspirations and to the union of the beings gathered under the same banner.
  • White depicts Faith of the beings ready to undertake this return voyage, the total abandonment to the divine powers symbolizing unity and the trust without limits in Gods and oneself.
  • Red means divine Love, the Love that supports us alongside the way towards the deep reality of our nature in which we are only one.

The coat of arms

For several Central America peoples, the shape of the sacred barbary fig (“peyotl” or “hicouri”) symbolizes the “World Egg”. An eagle holding a serpent in its beak is emerging from it.

The eagle holding a serpent in its beakThe fight between the eagle and serpent can be found in many traditions. In the Indian tradition for instance, the mythical bird Garuda, an eagle originally, is often represented as fighting Naga. Elsewhere, it is replaced by other serpent destructor birds such as the ibis, the stork or the heron. The eagle and its enemy symbolize the opposition between Heaven and Earth, between the angel representing the superior states and the demon assimilated to the inferior states, between the celestial and the infernal world. No wonder that one of the principal symbols of the Egyptian God Toth, the ibis destructor of reptiles, became a symbol of the Christ.

Quetzalcoatl, symbol of the union of oppositesNevertheless, this image of the eagle holding a serpent in its beak does not evoke exclusively the antagonism idea between the worlds above and below. The serpent, out of which mouth comes the “World Egg”, also symbolizes the Word, the word of the union of Heaven and Earth depicted by the great God of the Mexican pantheon, “Quetzalcoatl”, the “plumed serpent” consisting of a bird (quetzal) and a serpent (coatl).

The union of Heaven and Earth can also be found in the wings and both serpents of the Caduceus where the latter symbolize the ascending and descending ways between Heaven and Earth. It is the attribute of Hermes, the Messenger between the celestial and terrestrial worlds and Greek counterpart of the Egyptian God Toth.

All these different Gods symbolize the primeval state preceding the Heaven/Earth polarization and our antagonist perception of two worlds making only one in reality. These parallels between various traditions have only one goal: to show their deep unity as regards the message they are transmitting.

The Heaven and Earth polarization is at the basis of the manifestation. No being, no thing could exist without it. As a result of the world unity, the being can only return to this primeval state and rediscover the lost unity.

The polarization constitutes the necessary sacrifice on the way towards manifestation, which means disintegration. It is up to us to go against the current and rediscover the state of union that all traditions are talking about. The re-integrated being may then either remain in the non-manifested or return to the manifested world, offering his sacrifice to all of us.

The coat of arms of the Mexican flag reminds us that if the fight is a necessary step of existence to become conscious of the world reality, it could not be its goal, which is consisting of the union of the beings and above all, of the being within himself.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably chapter 7 devoted to the language of the birds.
  • “Traditional Forms and Cosmic Cycles”. Lightning Source Inc Publisher 2003;
  • In particular, the chapter on Hermes.
  • D.H. Lawrence:
  • “The plumed serpent”. Vintage Publisher 1992.
  • Jacques Soustelle:
  • “The Four Suns”. Grossman Publisher 1970.

1 back The colours of the Mexican flag are very similar to the colours of the Italian flag, which are closely linked to the colours of the theological virtues.

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau mexicain

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau Mexicain

Les couleurs du drapeau

Au-delà des explications contingentes, les couleurs du drapeau ont un sens pénétrant 1 qui renforce la signification du blason figurant au centre du drapeau:

  • Le vert symbolise l'Espérance, l'Aspiration profonde au retour à l'unité de l'être écartelé entre ses différentes aspirations contradictoires et à l'union des êtres rassemblés sous une même bannière.
  • Le blanc dépeint la Foi des êtres prêts à entreprendre ce voyage de retour, l'abandon total aux puissances divines symboles de l'unité et la confiance sans limites dans les dieux et en soi-même.
  • Le rouge figure l'Amour divin, l'Amour qui nous soutient tout au long du chemin vers la réalité profonde de notre nature avec laquelle nous ne faisons qu'un.

Le blason

Chez plusieurs peuples d'Amérique Centrale, la forme du figuier de barbarie sacrée (“peyotl” ou “hicouri”) symbolise “l'Oeuf du Monde”. Il en émerge un aigle tenant un serpent dans son bec.

L'aigle tenant un serpent dans son becLe combat de l'aigle et du serpent se retrouve dans nombre de traditions. Dans la tradition indienne par exemple, l'oiseau mythique Garuda, originellement un aigle, est souvent représenté dans son combat contre le Nâga. Ailleurs, il est remplacé par d'autres oiseaux destructeurs de serpents tels que l'ibis, la cigogne ou le héron. L'aigle et son ennemi symbolisent l'opposition entre le Ciel et la Terre, entre l'ange représentant les états supérieurs et le démon assimilé aux états inférieurs, entre le monde céleste et le monde infernal. Rien d'étonnant dès lors que l'un des principaux symboles du dieu égyptien Toth, l'ibis destructeur de reptiles, soit devenu un symbole du Christ.

Quetzalcoatl, symbole de l'union des opposésCependant, cette image de l'aigle tenant un serpent dans son bec n'évoque pas exclusivement l'idée d'antagonisme entre les mondes d'en haut et d'en bas. Le serpent de la bouche duquel sort “l'Oeuf du Monde” symbolise aussi le Verbe, la parole de l'union du Ciel et de la Terre dépeinte par le grand dieu du panthéon mexicain, Quetzalcoatl, le serpent à plumes formé d'un oiseau (quetzal) et d'un serpent (coatl).

L'union du Ciel et de la Terre se retrouve dans les ailes et les deux serpents du Caducée où ces derniers symbolisent les deux voies ascendante et descendante entre le Ciel et la Terre. Il est l'attribut d'Hermès, le Messager entre les mondes céleste et terrestre et le pendant grec du dieu égyptien Toth.

Ces différents dieux symbolisent tous l'état primordial, préalable à la polarisation Ciel/Terre et à notre perception antagoniste de deux mondes qui en réalité ne font qu'un. Ces rapprochements entre traditions diverses n'ont qu'un seul but: montrer leur unité profonde quant au message qu'elles transmettent.

La polarisation du Ciel et de la Terre est à la base de la manifestation. Sans, elle aucun être, aucune chose ne pourrait exister. Produit de l'unité du monde, l'être ne peut que retourner vers cet état primordial et retrouver l'unité perdue.

La polarisation constitue le sacrifice nécessaire sur la voie de la manifestation qui signifie désintégration. À nous de remonter le courant et de retrouver l'état d'union dont parlent toutes les traditions. L'être ré-intégré peut alors soit rester dans le non manifesté soit revenir dans le monde manifesté et faire à tous don de son sacrifice.

Le blason du drapeau mexicain nous rappelle que si la lutte est une étape nécessaire de l'existence pour prendre conscience de la réalité du monde, elle ne saurait en constituer le but qui réside dans l'union entre les êtres et avant tout de l'être avec lui-même.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre VII consacré à la langue des oiseaux.
  • “Formes traditionnelles et cycles cosmiques”. Éditions Gallimard 1970;
  • En particulier, le chapitre sur Hermès.
  • D.H. Lawrence:
  • “Le serpent à plumes et autres œuvres mexicaines”. Éditions Stock 1976.
  • Jacques Soustelle:
  • “Les Quatre Soleils. Souvenirs et réflexions d'un ethnologue au Mexique”. Éditions Plon 1967.

1 retour Les couleurs du drapeau mexicain peuvent être rapprochées de celles du drapeau italien en relation étroite avec les couleurs des vertus théologales.

Haut