LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Macau

(Summary)

The flag of Macau

The lotus flower

Macau became a Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China on December 20th, 1999. Previously, the territory was colonized and governed by Portugal for more than 400 years. Located off Hong Kong, it is composed of three small islands: Macau, Taipa and Coloane connected by bridges. Just like the territory of Hong Kong, Macau has its own flag which can only be hoisted in the shadow of the flag of the sovereign country.

Created during a competition and gathering more than one thousand proposals, the selected flag was approved in 1993. The central pattern of the flag of Macau is a white stylized lotus flower on a green background. The flower lies on an, equally stylized, bridge overhanging water, illustrated by white horizontal stripes shaped as a basin; it is topped by an arc of five five-pointed golden stars with a central star bigger than the others.

Flag of ChinaThe lotus is considered as the emblematic flower of Macau. Its three petals are judiciously representing the peninsula of Macau and the two other islands which compose the territory. The bridge under the lotus depicts the one that connecting the peninsula of Macau to the island of Taipa. The five stars recall those adorning the flag of the People's Republic of China, but with a different layout. The largest star officially represents the Chinese Communist party and the four smaller ones the classes composing Chinese society, namely workers, peasants, soldiers and the lower middle classes. Other classifications were suggested, but they all place the various classes under the aegis of the Party.

However, multiple classifications do not obliterate the ancient character of Chinese civilisation, a society full of symbols going back to immemorial times. The lotus and the layout of the five stars in particular point out such symbols that today's world can not overshadow.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de Macao

(Résumé)

Drapeau de Macao

La fleur de lotus

Macao est devenue une Région administrative spéciale de la République populaire de Chine le 20 décembre 1999. Auparavant, le territoire était colonisé et administré par le Portugal pendant plus de 400 ans. Situé au large de Hong-Kong, il est composé des trois petites îles: Macao, Taipa et Coloane reliées par des ponts. Tout comme le territoire de Hong-Kong, Macao possède son propre drapeau qui ne peut être hissé qu'à l'ombre du drapeau du pays souverain.

Créé lors d'un concours réunissant plus de mille propositions, le drapeau retenu a été approuvé en 1993. Le motif central du drapeau de Macao est une fleur lotus stylisée de couleur blanche sur un fond vert. La fleur repose sur un pont, également stylisé, surplombant des eaux figurées par des bandes horizontales blanches en forme de cuvette; elle est surmontée d'un arc de cinq étoiles d'or à cinq branches avec une étoile centrale de plus grande taille que les autres.

Drapeau de la ChineLe lotus est considéré comme la fleur emblématique de Macao. Ses trois pétales sont sensés représenter la péninsule de Macao et les deux autres îles qui composent le territoire. Le pont sous le lotus figure celui qui relie la péninsule de Macao et l'île de Taipa. Les cinq étoiles rappellent celles ornant le drapeau de la République populaire de Chine, mais disposées autrement. La plus grande étoile représente officiellement le Parti communiste chinois et les quatre plus petites les classes composant la société chinoise, à savoir les travailleurs, les paysans, les soldats et la petite bourgeoisie. D'autres classifications ont été suggérées, mais elles placent toutes les différentes classes sous l'égide du Parti.

Multiplier les classifications n'efface cependant pas le caractère fort ancien de la civilisation chinoise, une société pleine de symboles remontant à des temps immémoriaux. Le lotus et la disposition des cinq étoiles en particulier rappellent de tels symboles que le monde d'aujourd'hui ne peut occulter.

Page détaillée

Haut