LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Lebanon

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Lebanon

The colours of the flag

The inner white stripe, between two outer red ones, represents the entire spectrum of the rainbow colours. Therefore, white symbolizes the inner Principle of the outer manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general.

White is the colour of initiation in many traditions. It portrays the spiritual authority holding the Knowledge of the principles, which has authority over the temporal or royal power in charge of their application. The last power is associated with the “upper arch” colour of the rainbow, red.

The (ever) green colour of the cedar tree suggests the (ever) present beyond seasons and time. It portrays the way towards the achievement of the spiritual authority (white) ruling the temporal power (red).

Green has always been the colour of the theological virtue of Hope for Christians besides white (Faith) and red (Charity). It symbolizes the deep longing for the true Knowledge, the spiritual One. Green is also the colour of Islam's standard and the Muslim's symbol of salvation made in the image of the Prophet.

The cedar of Lebanon

Having taken refuge on Lebanese mountain heights, the cedar is one of the last witnesses from time immemorial. It was described by Homer, Plato, the Bible and inspired writers and poets throughout centuries. Moreover, the world's oldest epic revolves around the Lebanese cedar: written by Gilgamesh from Mesopotamia, four-thousand-years ago.

The cedar of Lebanon linking Heaven and EarthThe Lebanese cedar is the “most beautiful for its greatness and for the spreading of its branches” (Ezekiel 31:7). Its straight trunk links an indefinite number of being's states from the most common to the most spiritual. Moreover, the cedar tree does not only symbolize the vertical expand linking Earth and Heaven, but also the whole horizontal extension of all manifestation possibilities associated with a given state of being. As such, it portrays, more than any other tree, the whole manifestation process emanating from the Principle identified to the top.

The cedar tree was used in construction due to its longevity, resistance, incorruptibility and perfume. It gave a foretaste of the immortality state to be achieved:

  • The ancient Egyptians used it in ship-building, for sarcophagus and sculpture;
  • The Jews for the wooden work of Solomon's Temple in Jerusalem;
  • The Greeks and Romans for statues and scented torches etc.

All these works could have helped the being to move from his ordinary condition towards higher states, to climb along the tree trunk, to fully live all his inner possibilities, to make his potential become true. Unfortunately, temporal interests took over wisdom and led to the devastation of Lebanese forests. To the being devoid of wisdom, answers “the voice of the Lord (who) breaks the cedars; the Lord breaks the cedars of Lebanon” (Psalm 29:5).

By a strange irony of fate, the fame and planting of the cedar of Lebanon has expanded all around the globe while its natural habitat shrivelled.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau libanais

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau du Liban

Les couleurs du drapeau

La bande intérieure blanche entre les deux bandes extérieures rouges représente la totalité du spectre des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel. En conséquence, le blanc symbolise le Principe intérieur de la manifestation extérieure des couleurs en particulier et de toutes choses en général.

Dans nombre de traditions, le blanc est la couleur de l'initiation. Il dépeint l'autorité spirituelle détentrice de la Connaissance des principes qui a autorité sur le pouvoir temporel ou royal en charge de leur application. Ce dernier pouvoir est associé au rouge, la couleur de l'arc le plus “élevé” de l'arc-en-ciel.

La couleur (toujours) verte du cèdre suggère (l'éternel) présent au-delà des saisons et du temps. Elle figure la voie vers l'aboutissement de l'autorité spirituelle (blanc) gouvernant le pouvoir temporel (rouge).

Pour les Chrétiens, le vert a toujours été la couleur de la vertu théologale de l'Espérance à côté du blanc (Foi) et du rouge (Charité). Il symbolise l'aspiration profonde à la Connaissance véritable, la Connaissance spirituelle. Le vert est aussi la couleur de l'étendard islamique et le symbole musulman du salut à l'image du Prophète.

Le cèdre du Liban

Ayant trouvé refuge sur les hauteurs des montagnes libanaises, le cèdre est l'un des derniers témoins des temps immémoriaux. Il fut décrit par Homère, Platon, la Bible et inspira écrivains et poètes au cours des siècles. Bien plus, le plus vieux poème du monde a pour thème le cèdre du Liban: écrit par Gilgamesh de Mésopotamie, il date de quatre mille ans.

Le cèdre du Liban reliant le Ciel et la TerreLe cèdre libanais est le “plus beau par sa grandeur et l'étendue de ses branches” (Ézéchiel 31:7). Son tronc droit relie un nombre indéfini d'états de l'être depuis le plus commun au plus spirituel. En outre, le cèdre ne symbolise pas seulement l'expansion verticale reliant Terre et Ciel, mais aussi toute l'étendue horizontale de l'ensemble des possibilités de manifestation associées à un état donné de l'être. Comme tel, il décrit, mieux que tout autre arbre, la totalité du processus de manifestation émanant du Principe identifié à la cime.

Le cèdre fut employé dans la construction en raison de sa longévité, de sa résistance, de son incorruptibilité et de son parfum. Il donnait un avant-goût de l'état d'immortalité à atteindre:

  • Les anciens égyptiens l'utilisèrent dans la construction navale, la confection de sarcophages et la sculpture;
  • Les Juifs pour l'édification du Temple de Salomon à Jérusalem;
  • Les Grecs et les Romains pour l'élaboration de statues et de torches odorantes etc.

Toutes ces réalisations auraient pu aider l'être à s'élever vers des états supérieurs à partir de sa condition ordinaire, à escalader le tronc de l'arbre, à vivre pleinement toutes ses possibilités intérieures, à réaliser véritablement ses potentialités. Malheureusement, les intérêts temporels l'emportèrent sur la sagesse et conduisirent à la dévastation des forêts libanaises. À l'être dépourvu de sagesse, répond “la voix du Seigneur (qui) brise les cèdres; la voix du Seigneur brise les cèdres du Liban” (Psaume 29:5).

Par une curieuse ironie du sort, la renommée et la plantation du cèdre du Liban s'est répandue tout autour du globe tandis que son habitat naturel rabougrissait.

Haut