LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Lebanon

(Summary)

Flag of Lebanon

The cedar tree

The Cedar has been the emblem of Lebanon for a long time. It is cone-shaped in its young age; after its thirtieth year, the branches and top are spreading horizontally. Then, the relatively imposing trunk and majestic bearing endow the tree with an appearance of nobility and power that everyone can admire.

During his travel to the East, the French poet Alphonse de Lamartine (1790-1869) was marvelled at the beauty of the Lebanese cedars and had words full of natural wisdom: “The cedars of Lebanon are the relics of centuries and nature, the most famous natural landmarks in the universe. They know the story of earth, better than history itself.”

The (green) cedar tree has always been at the centre of the Lebanese flag. In the 18th century, the Maronite Christians already used a white flag trimmed with a cedar tree. Following World War I and the break up with the Ottoman Empire, Lebanon was under French mandate and the cedar tree appeared on the white band of the tricolour flag. The present flag was adopted on independence in 1943.

The red and white stripes are said to have been the colours of the Lebanese legion during World War I. They officially represent respectively the sacrifices of the people for independence and the white snow and purity of the Lebanese mountain summits. However, the red and white colours are so spread in the flag colouring that they must necessarily have a more general meaning unifying them.

According to the Lebanese themselves, the cedar tree should depict happiness and prosperity for the country! Let us hope that the Lebanese people will finally see their emblem become true again. However, the cedar tree is too old a symbol not to bear a meaning beyond the present time and belonging to any time.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau libanais

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Liban

Le cèdre

Le cèdre est l'emblème du Liban depuis fort longtemps. L'arbre présente dans son jeune âge une silhouette conique; puis, à partir de ses trente ans, ses branches et sa flêche s'étalent horizontalement. Un tronc relativement imposant et un port majestueux lui donnent alors un aspect de noblesse et de puissance que chacun peut admirer.

Au cours de son voyage en Orient, le poète Alphonse de Lamartine (1790-1869) fut émerveillé par la beauté les cèdres du Liban et eut des mots pleins de sagesse naturelle: “Les cèdres du Liban sont les reliques des siècles et de la nature, les monuments naturels les plus célèbres de l'univers. Ils savent l'histoire de la terre, mieux que l'histoire elle-même”.

Le cèdre (vert) a toujours été au centre du drapeau libanais. Au XVIIIe siècle, les chrétiens Maronites avaient déjà recours à un drapeau blanc orné d'un cèdre. Après la première guerre mondiale et la rupture avec l'empire Ottoman, le Liban fut placé sous mandat français et le cèdre apparut sur la bande blanche du drapeau tricolore. Le drapeau actuel fut adopté lors de l'indépendance en 1943.

Les bandes rouge et blanche passent pour avoir été les couleurs de la légion libanaise au cours de la première guerre mondiale. Officiellement, elles représentent respectivement les sacrifices du peuple pour l'indépendance et la neige blanche et pure des sommets des montagnes libanaises. Toutefois, les couleurs rouge et blanche sont si répandues dans la coloration des drapeaux qu'elles doivent nécessairement avoir un sens plus général qui les unit.

Selon les libanais eux-mêmes, le cèdre devrait signifier bonheur et prospérité pour le pays! Espérons que le peuple libanais verra à nouveau son emblème redevenir réalité. Toutefois, le cèdre est un symbole trop ancien pour ne pas être porteur d'un sens au-delà de notre temps et qui relève de tous les temps.

Page détaillée

Haut