LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Italian flag (Detailed page)

Summary

Italian flag

The colours of the flag

No doubt that the flag adoption has followed the path of the country unity realization. A unity based, of course, on the links established between people around a common symbol, but also around a common language. Under these conditions, how could we not recall Dante Alighieri and his “Divina Commedia”, which is precisely referring to the three colour symbolism ?

Is it not surprising to see Beatrice dressed in the three colours which would become the Italian national colours ? These tonalities would have had a Freemason origin, but nothing confirms this. It is true that the three colours of the “Prince of Mercy” grade of the Scottish Masonry, which is pretending to go back to the Templar, are precisely green, white and red. It is also true that these colours symbolize the three theological virtues of the Christian tradition, namely Hope, Faith and Charity, which are related to the voyage undertaken in Dante's “commedia”.

Green or Hope

Hope has nothing to do with the secret hope to realize man's desires. On the contrary, It symbolizes the deep longing for bliss, for full knowledge. A Knowledge that the ordinary human being will only gain during an initiation voyage going through three worlds: Hell, Purgatory and Heavens.

  • The ordinary being living on Earth first has to undertake a symbolic descent into the Hell underground world representing the profane world, the world of the states inferior to the properly human state. Indeed, the being has to exhaust all the possibilities linked to these states before going back to earth and getting access to the true human state.
  • Back on Earth, the ordinary being has to realize the richness of the human possibilities, a few of which only having been actualized within himself. Then, he really penetrates the world of the initiation tests, the Purgatory symbolized by the mountain, on the summit of which Dante is locating the terrestrial paradise linked to the edenic state. A state constituting the departure for an extra-terrestrial voyage prolonging the initiation.
  • The extra-terrestrial voyage symbolizes the access to the states superior to the human ones, the supra-human states proper to the total being who has conquered the Heavens. Having reached the full Knowledge, he encompasses the human states and becomes a totally unified being where humanity and spirituality are one.

Note that the Vatican flag, without explicitly appealing to Dante, symbolizes this initiation voyage.

White or Faith

It is not a matter of blind belief here, but of real Faith, of total abandonment to God, testifying an unlimited trust to Him, which is essential in order to undertake the initiation voyage. It is the Faith of the “Fede Santa”, a medieval association of Templar filiation. Its dignitaries, among whom Dante was probably one, were worthy the title of “Kadosch” (Saint in Hebrew), a title always in force in the high grades of the contemporary Masonry. As nothing is a matter of chance, Dante is definitely choosing the founder of the Templar order rules, Saint Bernard, as a guide alongside his extra-terrestrial voyage.

Red or Charity

Here, Charity represents the Divine love. It is not only a matter of loving one's neighbour - even were he God - as oneself, but to be oneself Love. It is the true Love in the sense given by the Knight Order doctrine, the foundation of which goes back to the Crusades and to the subsequent exchanges between East and West. Now, Dante belonged to an initiation Knight Order, the “Fedeli d'Amore”, an inherited Templar Order organization, which cry was: “Long live God, Saint Love”.

As a general rule, two initiating paths are offered to the passenger in quest of Heavens:

  • The path of Intelligence or full Light, a path beyond the common thinking, source of light without warmth.
  • The path of the Heart or the true Warmth, a path beyond the feeling alone, source of warmth without light.

While bringing Intelligence and Love to their summit, the “Fedeli d'Amore” favoured the path of the Heart, the path of the Knights, of the Kshatriyas of the Indian tradition, of the Sufis of the Muslim tradition.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The esoterism of Dante”, Sophia Perennis Publisher;
  • An opuscule to be read at one sitting.

This page is devoted to Anna Danesi, a very close friend who praised Dante to the sky.

Top

Le drapeau italien

Résumé

Drapeau italien

Les couleurs du drapeau

Nul doute que l'adoption du drapeau a suivi le parcours de la réalisation de l'unité du pays. Une unité qui se fonde sur le rapprochement des peuples autour d'un symbole commun bien sûr, mais également autour d'une langue commune. Comment dans ces conditions ne pas évoquer Dante Alighieri dont la “Divina Commedia” fait précisément référence au symbolisme des trois couleurs ?

N'est-il pas surprenant de voir Béatrice revêtue des trois couleurs qui allaient devenir les couleurs nationales de l'Italie ? Ces tonalités seraient d'origine maçonnique sans que rien ne confirme cette affirmation. Il est vrai que les trois couleurs du grade “Prince de Mercy” de la Maçonnerie écossaise, qui prétend remonter aux Templiers, sont précisément le vert, le blanc et le rouge. Il est également vrai que ces couleurs symbolisent les trois vertus théologales de la tradition chrétienne, à savoir l'Espérance, la Foi et la Charité, en relation avec le voyage entrepris dans la comédie de Dante.

Le vert ou l'Espérance

L'Espérance n'a rien à voir ici avec le secret espoir de réaliser ses désirs. Elle symbolise, au contraire, l'aspiration profonde à la félicité, à la pleine Connaissance. Une Connaissance que l'être humain ordinaire ne pourra acquérir qu'au cours d'un voyage initiatique traversant trois mondes: les Enfers, le Purgatoire et les Cieux.

  • L'être ordinaire vivant sur Terre doit tout d'abord entreprendre une descente symbolique dans le monde souterrain des Enfers qui représente le monde profane, le monde des états de l'être inférieurs à l'état proprement humain. L'être doit en effet épuiser toutes les possibilités liées à ces états avant de pouvoir remonter sur terre et accéder aux états véritablement humains.
  • Revenu sur Terre, l'être ordinaire doit réaliser la plénitude des possibilités humaines dont certaines seulement sont actualisées en lui. Il entre alors réellement dans le monde des épreuves initiatiques, dans le Purgatoire symbolisé par la montagne au sommet de laquelle Dante situe le Paradis terrestre associé à l'état édénique. Un état qui constitue le point de départ vers un voyage extra-terrestre prolongeant l'initiation.
  • Le voyage extra-terrestre symbolise l'accès aux états de l'être supérieurs à l'état humain, aux états supra-humains et propres à l'être total qui a conquis les Cieux. Parvenu à la pleine Connaissance, il dépasse l'état humain et devient un être totalement unifié où humanité et spiritualité ne font plus qu'une.

Notez que le drapeau du Vatican, sans recourir explicitement à Dante, symbolise ce même voyage initiatique.

Le blanc ou la Foi

Il ne s'agit pas ici de la croyance aveugle, mais de la vraie Foi, de l'abandon total à Dieu en lui témoignant une confiance sans limite indispensable pour entreprendre le voyage initiatique. C'est la Foi de la “Fede Santa”, une association du Moyen Âge de filiation Templière. Ses dignitaires, dont Dante faisait probablement partie, portaient le titre sans équivoque de “Kadosch” (Saint en hébreu), un titre toujours en vigueur dans les hauts grades de la Maçonnerie contemporaine. Comme rien n'est le fruit du hasard, Dante choisit précisément le fondateur des règles de l'Ordre du Temple, saint Bernard, comme guide pour entreprendre son voyage extra-terrestre.

Le rouge ou la Charité

La Charité représente ici l'Amour divin. Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'aimer son prochain - fût-il Dieu - comme soi-même, mais d'être soi-même Amour. C'est l'Amour authentique au sens de la doctrine des Ordres de la Chevalerie dont la fondation remonte aux croisades et aux échanges subséquents entre l'Orient et l'Occident. Or, Dante appartenait à un Ordre de Chevalerie initiatique, les “Fedeli d'Amore”, organisation héritière de l'Ordre du Temple dont le cri était: “Vive Dieu Saint Amour”.

De façon générale, deux voies initiatiques s'offrent au voyageur en quête des Cieux:

  • La voie de l'Intelligence ou de la pleine Lumière, une voie au-delà de la seule réflexion, source de lumière sans chaleur.
  • La voie du Cœur ou de la Chaleur véritable, une voie au-delà du seul sentiment, source de chaleur sans lumière.

Tout en portant Intelligence et Amour à leur sommet, les “Fedeli d'Amore” privilégiaient la voie du Cœur, la voie des Chevaliers, des Kshatriyas de la tradition indienne, des soufis de la tradition islamique.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “L'ésotérisme de Dante”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Un opuscule qui se lit d'un trait.

Cette page est dédiée à Anna Danesi, une amie très proche qui portait Dante aux nues.