LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Italian flag

(Summary)

Italian flag

The transalpine tricolour

The first three colour flag rose with the Lombard legion constitution in 1796. It became the first official national flag of the Cispadana republic organized by Bonaparte and united into the Cisalpine republic in 1797. After many events, the tricolour flag was adopted, in its present form, by the Italian republic on 19th June, 1946.

The origin and the colour significance of the Italian flag have not been fully clarified yet. This article will only prepare the ground for them. According to the most common explanation, the colours should be those of the uniform of the Milan civic militia, transformed into the National Guard in 1776.

Nevertheless, the origin of the colours of the flag must go back a long way in time. Indeed, the Indo-European societies were traditionally organized around three functions symbolized by three colours: white for priests, red for warriors and blue or green for craftsmen and producers.

The colours could also describe the symbolic voyage of Dante's “Divina Commedia”. An initiation journey within three worlds requiring three qualities or virtues to undertake it:

  • Hope (green) or the longing for bliss, Heavens, which are crowning the realization of the being who has become totally unified, combining fully humanity with spirituality.
  • Faith (white) or the complete abandon to and the full trust in God, who will be the guide all along the path.
  • Charity (red) or the Divine Love as the privileged path to access the Heavens remains the way of the Heart, source of warmth and light.

Hope is opening the route, Faith puts one's trust to undertake the voyage and Charity transports us towards the ultimate goal of our existence. Symbols of the realization of the being's unity, the three colours are also a gathering sign centred around the unity of the country and the beings composing it.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau italien

(Résumé)

Drapeau italien

Le tricolore transalpin

Le premier drapeau aux trois couleurs vit le jour avec la constitution de la légion lombarde en 1796. Il devînt le premier drapeau national officiel de la république Cispadine organisée par Bonaparte et unie à la république Cisalpine en 1797. Après bien des péripéties, le drapeau tricolore fut adopté sous sa forme actuelle par la république italienne le 19 juin 1946.

L'origine et la signification des couleurs du drapeau italien n'ont pas encore été totalement éclaircies et cet article ne fait que poser les premiers jalons le long de cette voie. Selon l'acceptation la plus commune, les couleurs seraient celles de l'uniforme de la milice civique de Milan transformée en Garde Nationale en 1776.

Néanmoins, l'origine des couleurs du drapeau doit remonter loin dans le temps. En effet, les sociétés indo-européennes étaient traditionnellement organisées autour de trois fonctions symbolisées par trois couleurs: le blanc pour les prêtres, le rouge pour les guerriers et le bleu ou le vert pour les artisans et les producteurs.

Les couleurs pourraient également décrire le voyage symbolique de la “Divina Commedia” de Dante. Un voyage initiatique dans trois mondes demandant trois qualités ou vertus pour l'entreprendre:

  • L'Espérance (vert) ou l'aspiration à la félicité, aux Cieux qui couronnent la réalisation de l'être devenu totalement unifié, alliant pleinement humanité et spiritualité.
  • La Foi (blanc) ou l'abandon total à Dieu et la pleine confiance en Celui qui servira de guide tout au long du chemin.
  • La Charité (rouge) ou l'Amour divin car la voie privilégiée pour accéder aux Cieux reste celle du Cœur, source de chaleur et de lumière.

L'Espérance nous ouvre le chemin, la Foi nous met en confiance pour entreprendre le voyage et la Charité nous transporte vers le but ultime de notre existence. Symboles de la réalisation de l'unité de l'être, les trois couleurs sont également un signe rassembleur autour de l'unité du pays et des êtres qui le composent.

Page détaillée

Haut