LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag(s) of Israel

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Israel Presidential standard

The colours of the flag(s)

As the least substantial colour in nature, blue is mainly perceived as translucency in the void of the sky. It is the purest colour apart from the total void of matt white. White is apparently void of colour, but rich in the manifestation potentialities as it contains all the colours of the visible light spectrum. It is the void from which existence arises and to which it is returning. For more details, consult the rainbow colours.

Blue and white suggest a distance from manifested things and a flight of the liberated soul towards God. It is not by chance that blue and white are often related to spirituality and have been chosen to enhance the Israeli flag(s).

The seal of Solomon

The seal is resulting from the intersection of two reversed triangles forming a six-branched star. The two interlaced triangles constitute a perfect representation of the analogy between what is up and what is down, Heaven and Earth, the divine and the human worlds. The two blue bands on the flag stand for both worlds.

The seal of Solomon is based on the number six, which represents the union of the divine and human worlds as well as the world creation. The creation idea was seemingly originally Jewish and taken over by Christians and Muslims.

God created the world out of nothing, i.e. nothing outside Him. As the One, the Unity, He is the Principle which contains all the manifestation and non-manifestation possibilities within Himself. According to the Genesis, the creation occurred in six days and ended up with a seventh, a so-called resting day (“Sabbath”). The last is not really a resting day outside the creation, but rather its final crowning consisting in a return to the undifferentiated Principle, which gave birth to the manifested world.

The simple Chrisme inside the seal of SolomonIt follows that the seal of Solomon would not be complete without a seventh point representing the Pole from which everything is coming out and to which everything is going back. Now, if we join two by two the opposite vertexes of the seal, we obtain a new drawing called a simple Chrisme, where all lines meet at one point (For more details, see the cross). This point corresponds to the invisible Centre of the seal standing just at the centre of each triangle. It is the point where both triangles and worlds rejoin and unify into God. It is equivalent to the mountain summit 1 reached by the being who has realized the union of Heaven and Earth as Abraham, Jesus or Mohammed.

Contrary to many assertions, the seal of Solomon has a strong spiritual and religious meaning. It depicts the close relationship between Heaven and Earth, their essential union to achieve the Alliance between God and human beings, a goal which lies at the heart of the divine creation.

The menorah

Seven-branched candelabrumA similar meaning to the preceding one, endows the symbol appearing on the Presidential standard as well as on official documents and public buildings. It represents the seven-branched candelabrum or menorah, which stood imposingly in the Temple of Solomon in Jerusalem.

The number 7 rules the world(s) representation, not only within the Jewish tradition, but also Christian and Muslim ones. For more details, see the septenarius.

Among various interpretations, the menorah is said to represent the seven planet system where the Sun occupies the Centre. The circular movement of the planets around the motionless Centre should remind us of the usual relationship between the immutable Principle and the periphery in constant movement.

The number 7 (= 1 + 6) firstly refers to the Unity, the Principle, the Centre. The Centre is the place of the true Salem (Peace) from which Jerusalem is an image on Earth. It is the mysterious stay of Melki-Tsedeq (King of Justice, i.e. harmony and balance within the Cosmic World) who transmitted the tradition to Abraham. As the representative of outer Justice and inner Peace, Melki-Tsedeq is the King of the World. And it is only up to human beings to let Jerusalem reflect Melki-Tsedeq's attributes on Earth.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Particularly, chapter 50 on the analogy symbols.
  • “Studies in Freemasonry and Compagnonnage”, Book 2. Sophia Perennis Publisher;
  • Notably, the chapter on Chrisme and Heart in ancient corporative marks
  • “The King of the World”, Sophia Perennis Publisher;
  • In particular, chapter 6 on Melki-Tsedeq.

1 back The simple Chrisme is also a schematic representation of the heraldic bird formed by the lines linking the head and the tail (I) as well as the crossed ends of the wings and the feet (X). Therefore, it also symbolizes, as in the Muslim tradition, the bird standing at the mountain summit and representing the Centre. For more details, see the Simurg.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le(s) drapeau(x) d'Israël

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau d'Israël Pavillon présidentiel

Les couleurs du (des) drapeau(x)

Couleur la moins substantielle de la nature, le bleu est essentiellement perçu de façon translucide dans le vide des Cieux. Il s'agit de la couleur la plus pure en dehors du vide total du blanc mat. Le blanc est apparemment vide de couleurs, mais riche de potentialités de manifestation car il contient toutes les couleurs du spectre de la lumière visible. Il est le vide d'où émerge l'existence et auquel elle retourne. Pour plus de détails, consulter les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel.

Le bleu et le blanc suggèrent une distance par rapport aux choses manifestées et un envol de l'âme libérée vers Dieu. Ce n'est pas par hasard si le bleu et le blanc sont souvent associés à la spiritualité, s'ils ont été choisis pour rehausser le(s) drapeau(x) israélien(s).

Le sceau de Salomon

Le sceau résulte de l'intersection de deux triangles inversés formant une étoile à six branches. Les deux triangles entrelacés constituent une représentation parfaite de l'analogie entre ce qui est en haut et ce qui est en bas, le Ciel et la Terre, les mondes divin et humain. Les deux bandes bleues sur le drapeau témoignent de ces deux mondes.

Le sceau de Salomon se fonde sur le nombre six qui représente l'union des mondes divin et humain ainsi que la création du monde. L'idée de création, vraisemblablement d'origine juive, fut reprise par les chrétiens et les musulmans.

Dieu créa le monde de rien, i.e. de rien hors de Lui. En tant qu'Un, Unité, Il est le Principe qui contient en Lui-même toutes les possibilités de manifestation et de non manifestation. Selon la Genèse, la création se déroula en six jours et se termina par un septième jour, dit de repos (“Sabbat”). Ce dernier n'est pas à proprement parler un jour repos hors de la création, mais plutôt son couronnement final consistant en un retour vers le Principe indifférencié qui a donné naissance au monde manifesté.

Le Chrisme simple au sein du sceau de SalomonIl s'ensuit que le sceau de Salomon ne serait pas complet sans un septième point représentant le Pôle d'où tout provient et où tout retourne. Or, si nous joignons deux à deux les sommets opposés du sceau, nous obtenons une nouvelle figure appelée Chrisme simple, où toutes les lignes se rencontrent en un même point (Pour plus de détails, voir la croix). Ce point correspond au Centre invisible du sceau situé juste au centre de chacun des triangles. Il est le point où les deux triangles ou mondes se rejoignent et s'unifient en Dieu. Il est l'équivalent du sommet de la montagne 1 atteint par l'être qui a réalisé l'union du Ciel et de la Terre tel qu'Abraham, Jésus ou Mohammed.

Contrairement à beaucoup d'assertions, le sceau de Salomon a une forte signification spirituelle et religieuse. Il décrit la relation étroite entre le Ciel et la Terre, leur union fondamentale pour réaliser l'Alliance entre Dieu et les êtres humains, un but qui réside au cœur de la création divine.

La menorah

Le chandelier à sept branchesUn sens similaire se retrouve dans le symbole apparaissant sur le Pavillon présidentiel ainsi que sur les documents officiels et les bâtiments publics. Il représente le chandelier à sept branches ou menorah qui trônait dans le Temple de Salomon à Jérusalem.

Le nombre 7 gouverne la représentation du ou des monde(s), non seulement au sein de la tradition juive, mais également des traditions chrétienne et musulmane. Pour plus de détails, voir le septénaire.

Parmi diverses interprétations, la menorah représenterait le système des sept planètes où le Soleil occupe le Centre. Le mouvement circulaire des planètes autour du Centre immobile devrait nous rappeler la relation usuelle entre le Principe immuable et la périphérie en mouvement constant.

Le nombre 7 (= 1 + 6) fait en premier lieu référence à l'Unité, au Principe, au Centre. Le Centre est le lieu de la véritable Salem (Paix) dont Jérusalem est une image sur Terre. C'est la résidence mystérieuse de Melki-Tsedeq (Roi de Justice, i.e. de l'harmonie et de l'équilibre au sein du Monde Cosmique) qui transmit la tradition à Abraham. Comme représentant de la Justice extérieure et de la Paix intérieure, Melki-Tsedeq est le Roi du Monde. Et il appartient aux seuls êtres humains de permettre à Jérusalem de refléter les attributs de Melki-Tsedeq sur Terre.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre L sur les symboles de l'analogie.
  • “Études sur la Franc-maçonnerie et le Compagnonnage”, Tome 2. Éditions traditionnelles, 1992;
  • Notamment, le chapitre sur le Chrisme et le Cœur dans les anciennes marques corporatives.
  • “Le Roi du Monde”. Éditions Gallimard, 1958;
  • En particulier, le chapitre VI sur Melki-Tsedeq.

1 retour Le Chrisme simple est aussi une représentation schématique de l'oiseau héraldique formé par les lignes joignant la tête et la queue (I) ainsi que les extrémités croisées des ailes et des pattes (X). En conséquence, il symbolise également, comme dans la tradition musulmane, l'oiseau se tenant au sommet de la montagne et représentant le Centre. Pour plus de détails, voir le Simorgh.

Haut