LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag(s) of Israel

(Summary)

Flag of Israel Presidential standard

Solomon's seal and Menorah

The drawing of the Israeli flag dates back to the late 19th century and finds its origins in the banner of the Zionist movement which dreamt to re-establish a Jewish land in Palestine. Half a century later, the Israeli State came out in 1948. The banner was inspired by the tallith, the shawl in which the believer wraps himself for praying. That is where the two horizontal blue bands on a white background come from. Let us note that the blue colour is not fixed; it can change from one flag to the other, going from dark to light blue.

The flag bears in its centre a six-branched star or seal of Solomon, also called:

  • Star of David or Shield of David, that the young boy was said to hold during his fight against the giant Goliath;
  • Shield of Michael 1, that the archangel used when he fought the devil in the shape of a dragon.

Contrary to a popular opinion, the Star of David is not historically an exclusively Jewish symbol. It was used in the past by Jews, Muslims and Christians. Its drawing is closely related to the number six and the world creation, which occurred in six days according to the Kabbalah.

The six-branched star is a combination of two reversed triangles pointing upwards and downwards and represents the union of the divine and human natures. Therefore, it is not surprising to find such a symbol in the three religions and hermetism.

The Presidential standard, shaped as a square, features another official emblem of the Israeli State, the Menorah, a seven-branched candelabrum surrounded by an olive branch on each side. The olive tree provides oil for lamps.

1 back Mentioned for the first time in the book of Daniel, archangel Michael is presented by the prophet as the protector of Israel.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le(s) drapeau(x) d'Israël

(Résumé)

Drapeau d'Israël Pavillon présidentiel

Le sceau de Salomon et la Menorah

Le dessin du drapeau israélien date de la fin du XIXe siècle et trouve son origine dans la bannière du mouvement Sioniste qui songeait à ré-établir une terre juive en Palestine. Un demi-siècle plus tard, l'État d'Israël voyait le jour en 1948. La bannière fut inspirée par le talith, le châle dans lequel se drape le fidèle pour prier. D'où l'origine des deux bandes bleues horizontales sur un fond blanc. Notons que la teinte bleue n’est pas fixée; elle peut varier d’un drapeau à un autre, allant du bleu foncé au bleu clair.

Le drapeau contient en son centre une étoile à six branches ou sceau de Salomon aussi appelé:

  • Étoile de David ou bouclier de David que le jeune garçon était supposé tenir durant son combat contre le géant Goliath;
  • Bouclier de Mikaël 1 utilisé par l'archange pour combattre le démon sous la forme d'un dragon.

Contrairement à une idée répandue, l'Étoile de David n'est pas historiquement un symbole exclusivement juif. Il a été par le passé utilisé par les juifs, les musulmans et les chrétiens. Son dessin est étroitement relié au nombre six et à la création du monde qui, selon la Kabbale, dura six jours.

L'étoile à six branches est composée de deux triangles inversés pointant vers le haut et vers le bas et représente l'union des natures divine et humaine. Dès lors, il n'est pas surprenant de retrouver un tel symbole dans les trois religions et l'hermitisme.

Le Pavillon présidentiel, de forme carrée, met en évidence un autre emblème officiel de l'État d'Israël, la Menorah, un chandelier à sept branches bordé par une branche d'olivier de chaque côté. L'olivier fournit l’huile pour les lampes.

1 retour Mentionné pour la première fois dans le livre de Daniel, l'archange Mikaël est présenté par le prophète comme le protecteur d'Israël.

Page détaillée

Haut