LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of India

(Detailed page)

Summary

The Indian flag

The colours of the flag

The flag background is composed of three colours:

  • Saffron or a mix of red and yellow;
  • White;
  • Dark green or a mix of dark blue and yellow.

White represents the visible light, source of all colours of the rainbow spectrum. Therefore, it symbolizes the Principle of the manifestation of colours in particular and all things and beings in general.

The two other colours, saffron and dark green, combine two extreme colours of the rainbow (red, blue) with a medium colour (yellow). The last colour tempers the extremes framing most the spectrum, which is representative of the manifestation diversity of colours in particular, and things and beings in general.

This temperance feature goes far beyond the ideas about:

  • A “third way” between the communist and capitalist systems foreseen in the 1960s;
  • And more recently, the emergence of a middle class within the Indian society.

From the spiritual point of view, yellow represents the warmest colour of the light spectrum. It is often related to sun and gold, two symbols of the spiritual influence. That is why yellow is linked to the re-birth of the being and symbolizes the “Middle Path”, the communication channel between Gods and beings.

From the temporal point of view, yellow is situated half-way between red (the “upper arch”) and blue (the “lower arch”) within the rainbow spectrum. It represents the vaishyas caste of the Hindu tradition, the average path between the royal path of the kshatriyas (red) and the common path of all beings (blue). That is why blue symbolizes the achievement of the manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general as attested by the central drawing known as the “Wheel of the Law”, a law which applies to all beings and things.

The Wheel of the Law

The Centre and the periphery

The Centre and the circumferenceThe 8 spoke wheelThe Wheel of the Law on the Indian flagThe Principle, the Unity, source of all beings and things, is often pictured as a point from which everything is radiating. The whole radiance is represented by a circle and symbolizes the World in its full manifestation.

The circumference has no existence without the centre that subtends it whereas the centre exists independently of the circumference. The World, the manifestation of the Principle has no reality outside the Centre.

The connection between the Principle and its manifestation is underlined by the spokes emanating from the centre, which are giving to the picture the appearance of a wheel (“chakra” in Sanskrit). The “Wheel of the Law”, represented as an 8, 16 or 24 spoke wheel, is often brought into question in India.

The 8 directions coming from the centre depict the compass and intermediary points and describe the all-out manifestation development. The 8 spoke wheel is equivalent to the 8 petal lotus.

The 24 directions of the central drawing of the flag depict the relationships between night and daylight hours 1, darkness and light, the non-manifested and the manifested, the Principle and the existence of things and beings.

During the manifestation development, the Principle expresses itself according to the Law (“Dharma” in Sanskrit) that governs all manifested beings and things and accounts for the Order ruling the World. The same Law applies to the way back from the manifested to the Principle.

Back to the Centre

The picture of the wheel (in Latin “rota”) spontaneously evokes the rotation idea, the continual movement to which manifested beings and things are submitted. During the movement, only the hub of the wheel remains fixed. The same applies to the Centre, symbol of the immutable Principle.

The Centre is the middle between the extremes represented by two opposite points of the circumference. This is the place of the resolution of opposites within the Unity. This is the place where all beings and things find their balance in the perfect simultaneity of the eternal present.

As everything is coming from the Centre, the “Invariable Middle”, finally everything must return there. The wheel spokes are able, in fact, to be run in both directions: from the Centre towards the points of the circumference and from these points to the Centre. Leaving the wheel circumference, place of manifestation (“samsara”) and liberating oneself from the world agitation (“nirvana”) in order to go back to the Centre we all come from leads to the being realization.

Returning to the Centre means to overcome the apparent contradictions between the extremes and rediscover the harmony within oneself and with the outer world. The harmony is nothing but the reflection of the principial Unity within the diversity of the manifested world. To reach it, one must follow the “Dharma”, source of the essential nature of all manifested beings.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapter 8 on “the Idea of Centre in Antic traditions”.
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Particularly, chapter 23 devoted to “the Cosmic Wheel”

1 back By the way, the Cathedral Santa Maria del Fiore in Florence, better known as the Dome, contains a clock, the dial of which points out the 24 night and daylight hours.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Inde

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau indien

Les couleurs du drapeau

L'arrière-plan du drapeau est composé de trois couleurs:

  • Safran ou un mélange de rouge et de jaune;
  • Blanc;
  • Vert foncé ou un mélange de bleu foncé et de jaune.

Le blanc représente la lumière visible, source de toutes les couleurs du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel. Elle symbolise, par conséquent, le Principe de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et de toutes les choses et de tous les êtres en général.

Les deux autres couleurs, safran et vert foncé, combinent deux couleurs extrêmes de l'arc-en-ciel (rouge, bleu) avec une couleur médiane (jaune). Cette dernière couleur tempère les extrêmes encadrant l'essentiel du spectre qui est représentatif de la diversité de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et des choses et des êtres en général.

Ce trait de tempérance va bien au-delà des idées sur:

  • Une “troisième voie” entre les systèmes communiste et capitaliste projetée dans les années 1960;
  • Et plus récemment, l'émergence d'une classe moyenne au sein de la société indienne.

Du point de vue spirituel, le jaune représente la couleur la plus chaude du spectre de la lumière. Il est souvent associé au soleil et à l'or, deux symboles du rayonnement spirituel. C'est pourquoi le jaune est mis en relation avec la re-naissance de l'être et symbolise la “Voie du Milieu”, le canal de communication entre les dieux et les hommes.

Du point de vue temporel, le jaune est situé à mi-chemin entre le rouge (“l'arc du haut”) et le bleu (“l'arc du bas”) dans le spectre de l'arc-en-ciel. Il représente alors la caste des vaishyas de la tradition hindoue, la voie moyenne entre la voie royale des kshatriyas (rouge) et la voie commune à tous les êtres (bleue). C'est pourquoi le bleu symbolise l'achèvement de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et de toute existence en général comme l'atteste le motif central connu sous la dénomination de “Roue de la Loi”, une loi qui s'applique à tous les êtres et toutes les choses.

La Roue de la Loi

Le Centre et la périphérie

Le Centre et la circonférenceLa roue à 8 rayonsLa Roue de la Loi sur le drapeau indienLe Principe, l'Unité à la source de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses est souvent figuré par un point d'où tout rayonne. L'ensemble de ce rayonnement, représenté par un cercle, symbolise le Monde dans sa pleine manifestation.

Le cercle n'a pas d'existence sans le centre qui le sous-tend tandis que le centre est indépendamment de sa manifestation circulaire. Le Monde, la manifestation du Principe n'a pas de réalité en dehors du Centre.

Le rapport entre le Principe et sa manifestation est souligné par les rayons émanant du centre qui donnent à l'image l'apparence d'une roue (“chakra” en sanskrit). Il est souvent question en Inde de la “Roue de la Loi” représentée sous la forme d'une roue à 8, 16 ou 24 rayons.

Les 8 directions issues du centre figurent les points cardinaux et intermédiaires et décrivent le développement de la manifestation tous azimuts. La roue à 8 rayons est équivalente au lotus à 8 pétales.

Les 24 directions du motif central du drapeau figurent les relations entre les heures de la nuit et du jour 1, l'obscurité et la lumière, le non manifesté et le manifesté, le Principe et l'existence des êtres et des choses.

Au cours du développement de la manifestation, le Principe s'exprime selon la Loi (“Dharma” en sanskrit) qui gouverne tous les êtres et toutes les choses manifestés et rend compte de l'Ordre qui régit le Monde. La même Loi s'applique sur la voie du retour du manifesté vers le Principe.

Le retour au Centre

L'image de la roue (du latin “rota”) évoque spontanément l'idée de rotation, du mouvement continuel auquel sont soumis les êtres et les choses manifestés. Au cours du mouvement, seul le moyeu de la roue reste fixe. Il en est de même du Centre, symbole du Principe immuable.

Le Centre est le milieu entre les extrêmes représentés par deux points opposés de la circonférence. C'est le lieu où les oppositions se résolvent dans l'Unité. C'est le lieu où tous les êtres et toutes les choses trouvent leur équilibre dans la parfaite simultanéité de l'éternel présent.

Comme tout est issu du Centre, de “l'Invariable Milieu”, tout doit finalement y retourner. Les rayons de la roue peuvent, en effet, être parcourus dans les deux sens: du Centre vers les points de la circonférence et de ces points vers le Centre. Quitter la circonférence de la Roue, lieu de la manifestation (“samsâra”) et se libérer de l'agitation du monde (“nirvâna”) pour revenir au Centre d'où nous venons tous conduit à la réalisation de l'être.

Retourner au Centre signifie surmonter les contradictions apparentes entre les extrêmes et retrouver l'harmonie en soi-même et avec le monde extérieur. L'harmonie n'est rien d'autre que le reflet de l'Unité principielle dans la diversité du monde manifesté. Pour y parvenir, il convient en premier lieu de suivre le “Dharma”, source de la nature essentielle de tous les êtres manifestés.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre VIII sur “l'idée de Centre dans les traditions antiques”.
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre XXIII sur “la roue cosmique”.

1 retour Notons en passant que la cathédrale Santa Maria del Fiore à Florence, plus connue sous l'appellation de Dôme, renferme une horloge dont le cadran indique les 24 heures du jour et de la nuit.

Haut