LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of India

(Summary)

The Indian flag

The wheel

The national flag of India was adopted with the independence from Britain in 1947. It has served as a banner of the dominions of India and Pakistan until their separation and became the flag of the Republic of India in 1950.

The flag has a horizontal tricolour layout composed of saffron, white and dark green with a blue twenty-four spoke wheel, known as “dharmachakra” (Wheel of the Law), at the centre.

The Wheel (“Chakra”) is the symbol of the World in movement around a fixed point representing the Principle, the Unity at the source of the manifestation and diversity of things and beings.

The Wheel of the Law on the Indian flagThe motionless point is the place of the divine, where antagonisms, represented by two opposite points on the Wheel, are resolved within the Unity. The Centre from which everything is radiating represents the motionless mover of the “Wheel of Existence” subjected to the Law (“Dharma”) that governs all things and beings in the World.

Picture of the implementation of the “Dharma”, of the manifestation process of the World diversity, the Wheel is also the symbol of the way back to the Centre for its spokes can be navigated in both directions. As everything is coming from the Principle, everything must return to It. Leaving the wheel circumference, place of manifestation (“samsara”) and liberating oneself from the world movement (“nirvana”) in order to go back to the Centre, the Unity we all come from brings the being back to his own unity.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Inde

(Résumé)

Drapeau indien

La roue

Le drapeau national indien fut adopté au moment de l'indépendance vis-à-vis des îles britanniques en 1947. Il servit de bannière aux dominions de l'Inde et du Pakistan jusqu'à leur séparation et devînt le drapeau de la République de l'Inde en 1950.

Le drapeau se compose de trois bandes horizontales de couleurs safran, blanc et vert foncé avec une roue à vingt-quatre rayons de couleur bleue, connue sous la dénomination de “dharmachakra” (Roue de la Loi), en son centre.

La Roue (“Chakra”) est le symbole du Monde en mouvement autour d'un point fixe qui représente le Principe, l'Unité à la source de la manifestation et de la diversité des choses et des êtres.

La Roue de la Loi sur le drapeau indienLe point immobile est le lieu du divin où les antagonismes, représentés par deux points opposés de la Roue, se résolvent dans l'Unité. Le Centre d'où tout rayonne figure le moteur immobile de la “Roue de l'Existence” soumise à la Loi (“Dharma”) qui gouverne toutes les choses et tous les êtres du Monde.

Image de la mise en œuvre du “Dharma”, du processus de la manifestation de la diversité du Monde, la Roue est aussi le symbole du retour vers le Centre car ses rayons peuvent être parcourus dans les deux sens. Tout venant du Principe, tout doit y retourner. Quitter la circonférence de la Roue, lieu de la manifestation (“samsâra”) et se libérer du mouvement du monde (“nirvâna”) pour revenir vers le Centre, l'Unité d'où nous venons tous, ramène l'être à sa propre unité.

Page détaillée

Haut