At the heart of symbolism

The flag of India


The Indian flag

The wheel

The national flag of India was adopted with the independence from Britain in 1947. It has served as a banner of the dominions of India and Pakistan until their separation and became the flag of the Republic of India in 1950.

The flag has a horizontal tricolour layout composed of saffron, white and dark green with a blue twenty-four spoke wheel, known as “dharmachakra” (Wheel of the Law), at the centre.

The Wheel (“Chakra”) is the symbol of the World in movement around a fixed point representing the Principle, the Unity at the source of the manifestation and diversity of things and beings.

The Wheel of the Law on the Indian flagThe motionless point is the place of the divine, where antagonisms, represented by two opposite points on the Wheel, are resolved within the Unity. The Centre from which everything is radiating represents the motionless mover of the “Wheel of Existence” subjected to the Law (“Dharma”) that governs all things and beings in the World.

Picture of the implementation of the “Dharma”, of the manifestation process of the World diversity, the Wheel is also the symbol of the way back to the Centre for its spokes can be navigated in both directions. As everything is coming from the Principle, everything must return to It. Leaving the wheel circumference, place of manifestation (“samsara”) and liberating oneself from the world movement (“nirvana”) in order to go back to the Centre, the Unity we all come from brings the being back to his own unity.

Detailed page