LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Hong Kong

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Hong Kong

The colours of the flag

The flag of Hong Kong consists of a white five-petalled flower on a red background. Each petal contains a red five-pointed star linked to the centre of the flower.

White stands for the visible light manifested through the rainbow colours. Therefore, it symbolizes the Principle at the source of the manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general.

Red corresponds to the “highest arch” of the rainbow, the “highest ranked” in the colour manifestation order. As such, it may be considered as the “closest” colour to the Principle, source of all colours and all things. It follows that if white represents the celestial principles governing the world, red depicts their terrestrial implementation.

Consequently, the close coloured relationship between the Principle and its manifestation should be reflected within the flower drawing based on the number 5.

The five elements

In China, the number 5 derives its symbolism from the fact that it is the sum of the first even number (2) representing Earth and odd number (3) characterizing Heaven. Indeed, the number 1 represents the One, the Unity, the Principle at the source of the fundamental polarity between Heaven and Earth. As such, It contains everything and can only be beyond any distinction, including between even and odd numbers.

The pentagonal form bridging Heaven and EarthThe Chinese ideogram of the number 5The number 5 represents the union of Heaven (3) and Earth (2), of light and darkness, of white and black, of yang and yin as depicted by the pentagonal form of the flower. Digit 1, related to the pentagon top vertex, is the number of the Unity, the One at the origin of the manifestation of everything. Digit 3, associated with the three top vertexes and composed of 1 and 2, recalls the Unity and its polarization. Concerning digit 2 linked to the two bottom vertexes, it can only be connected to Earth, the world of duality par excellence.

The preceding interpretation is even reinforced by the drawing of the Chinese ideogram “wu hing” of the number 5.

The five Chinese elementsThe top and bottom bars of the ideogram represent Heaven and Earth respectively as in the Wang ideogram. The cross in the middle, which pictured the ideogram in the beginning, represents the five directions used by the human being to find his way. Standing between Heaven and Earth, he may consider the four compass point directions as well as their intersection point representing the centre. These five points are related to the five “elements” or elementary principles of the physical world manifestation in the Chinese tradition. Associated to the number 5, the element earth symbolizes the balancing point between the elements wood (east) and fire (south), which are yang and the elements metal (west) and water (north), which are yin.

The swirling flower

The central pattern of the flag represents a local flower. Its opening from the bud symbolizes the generation emanating from the centre. Conversely, because of its fragility, the flower connotes impermanence and destruction as well. Flowers depict life and death cycles.

The drawing also looks like a wheel turning around its motionless hub. The wheel is a symbol of the world in movement, in constant change compared to the unmovable centre, the immutable point from which all things are radiating, in particular the five elements.

Being part of a dynamic process where yin and yang constantly exchange their role, the elements are continuously generating and destroying each other in accordance with the constant changes and transformations in our world:

  • In the generation phase, wood generates fire, which, by becoming ashes, generates earth; earth generates metal in her womb; hot metal generates steam, which becomes water when it cools; water generates wood.
  • In the destruction phase, wood breaks up earth; earth absorbs water; water extinguishes fire; fire melts metal; metal cuts wood.

Element generation and destruction in Chinese tradition
Element generation in Chinese tradition Element destruction in Chinese tradition

The above pictures show a clear connection between the representation of the generation-destruction process on the one hand and the drawing of the flower-wheel and five-pointed stars of the central pattern on the other hand.

Nevertheless, a question has to be raised. Why is the element earth occupying the centre rather than any of the four others? During the fundamental polarization of the primeval Unity between Heaven and Earth, Earth symbolizes the principle of the physical manifestation in general. Therefore, it seems natural that the principle earth prevails over the others.

Despite the fact that the colours of the flag of Hong Kong are reflecting a strong relationship between the Principle and its manifestation, the central drawing puts mainly the emphasis on the lowest manifestation order, the physical and material world. Is it really surprising ?

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Particularly, chapter 8 devoted to “Celestial and terrestrial numbers”.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de Hong-Kong

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de Hong-Kong

Les couleurs du drapeau

Le drapeau de Hong-Kong consiste en une fleur blanche à cinq pétales sur un fond rouge. Chaque pétale contient une étoile rouge à cinq branches reliée au centre de la fleur.

Le blanc représente la lumière visible manifestée dans les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel. Il symbolise en conséquence le Principe à la source de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et de toute chose en général.

Le rouge correspond à l'arc le plus “haut” de l'arc-en-ciel, à la classe la plus “élevée” dans l'ordre de la manifestation des couleurs. Comme tel, il peut être considéré comme la couleur la plus “proche” du Principe à la source de toutes les couleurs et de toutes choses. Il s'ensuit que si le blanc représente les principes célestes gouvernant le monde, le rouge dépeint leur application terrestre.

Par conséquent, la relation étroite et colorée entre le Principe et sa manifestation devrait se refléter dans le dessin de la fleur s'appuyant sur le nombre 5.

Les cinq éléments

En Chine, le symbolisme du nombre 5 dérive du fait qu'il est la somme des premiers nombre pair (2) représentant la Terre et impair (3) caractérisant le Ciel. En effet, le nombre 1 figure l'Un, l'Unité, le Principe à la source de la polarité fondamentale entre le Ciel et la Terre. Comme tel, Il contient tout et ne peut être qu'au delà de toute distinction, y compris entre nombres pairs et impairs.

La forme pentagonale reliant le Ciel et la TerreIdéogramme chinois du nombre 5Le nombre 5 représente l'union du Ciel (3) et de la Terre (2), de la lumière et de l'obscurité, du blanc et du noir, du yang et du yin décrite par la forme pentagonale de la fleur. Le nombre 1, apparenté au sommet du pentagone, est le nombre de l'Unité, de l'Un à l'origine de la manifestation de toute chose. Le nombre 3, relié aux trois sommets supérieurs et composé de 1 et de 2, évoque l'Unité et sa polarisation. Quant au nombre 2 associé aux deux sommets inférieurs, il ne peut être mis en relation qu'avec la Terre, le monde de la dualité par excellence.

L'interprétation précédente est même renforcée par le dessin de l'idéogramme chinois “wou-hing” du nombre 5.

Les cinq éléments chinoisLes barres supérieure et inférieure de l'idéogramme représentent respectivement le Ciel et la Terre comme dans l'idéogramme Wang. La croix du milieu, qui dépeignait l'idéogramme au départ, représente les cinq directions utilisées par l'être humain pour trouver son chemin. Situé entre le Ciel et la Terre, il peut considérer les quatre directions des points cardinaux ainsi que leur point d'intersection représentant le centre. Ces cinq points sont mis en relation avec les cinq “éléments” ou principes élémentaires de la manifestation du monde physique dans la tradition chinoise. Associé au nombre 5, l'élément terre symbolise le point d'équilibre entre les éléments bois (est) et feu (sud) qui sont yang et les éléments métal (ouest) et eau (nord) qui sont yin.

La fleur tournoyante

Le dessin central du drapeau représente une fleur locale. Son éclosion à partir du bourgeon symbolise la génération émanant du centre. Réciproquement, du fait de sa fragilité, la fleur évoque également le provisoire et la destruction. Les fleurs dépeignent les cycles de vie et de mort.

Le motif floral peut être aussi perçu comme une roue tournant autour de son moyeu immobile. La roue est un symbole du monde en mouvement, en constant changement par rapport au centre immobile, le point immuable d'où toutes choses rayonnent et, en particulier, les cinq éléments.

Faisant partie d'un processus dynamique où yin et yang échangent constamment leur rôle, les éléments se génèrent et se détruisent continuellement conformément aux changements et transformations constants de notre monde:

  • Dans la phase de génération, le bois produit le feu, qui, en devenant cendres, produit la terre; la terre produit le métal dans son sein; le métal chaud produit la vapeur qui devient eau quand il refroidit; l'eau produit le bois.
  • Dans la phase de destruction, le bois brise la terre; la terre absorbe de l'eau; l'eau éteint le feu; le feu fait fondre le métal; le métal coupe du bois.

Génération et destruction des éléments dans la tradition chinoise
Génération des éléments dans la tradition chinoiseDestruction des éléments dans la tradition chinoise

Les images ci-dessus montrent une connexion claire entre la représentation du processus de génération-destruction d'une part et le dessin de la roue-florale et des étoiles à cinq branches du motif central d'autre part.

Néanmoins, une question se pose. Pourquoi l'élément terre occupe t-il le centre plutôt que l'un des quatre autres éléments ? Au cours de la polarisation fondamentale de l'Unité première entre le Ciel et la Terre, la Terre symbolise le principe de la manifestation physique en général. Il est par conséquent naturel que le principe terre prévale sur les autres.

Malgré le fait que les couleurs du drapeau de Hong-Kong reflètent une relation étroite entre le Principe et sa manifestation, le motif central met principalement l'accent sur l'ordre de manifestation le plus bas, le monde physique et matériel. Est-ce vraiment surprenant ?

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre 8 consacré aux “Nombres célestes et terrestres”.
Haut