The French flag

Abstract

The French flag

A little piece of History

It is commonly accepted that the Marquis de Lafayette was at the origin of the tricolour cockade, which became compulsory for revolutionaries in 1789. The flag was created in 1790 but with the colours the reverse of what they are today, i.e. with red at the hoist, and revised in 1794 to the modern form.

The flag went out of use with Napoleon's abdication after the French defeat or English victory at Waterloo. It was brought back with the 1830 riots, again by Lafayette and has remained in use ever since.

Marquis de Lafayette's graveThe Marquis was buried in Paris Picpus cemetery devoted to the noble victims of the revolution and their relatives. His body was laid in the tomb of his wife's family, Adrienne de Noailles, who was put into prison during the Terror and condemned to the guillotine. Her grandmother, mother and sister were beheaded, but Adrienne was saved at the last moment, thanks mainly to the American intervention. When the revolution was over, she fought with her last energy to restore her property rights and to help her husband who had spent five years in an Austrian jail. The United-States flag on the grave is a tribute from the Americans to a Frenchman who fought for the independence of the colonies 1.

The colours of the flag

Paris' coat of armsAccording to common popular belief, the tricolour banner gathers the colours of Paris (red and blue) with the white flag of the royal army. Combinations of revolutionary and royal emblems were common at that time.

Red is the “upper arch” and blue the “lower arch” of the rainbow primary colours. As such, they may be respectively related to the “highest” and “smallest” ranks of the society functions. Red is usually associated with the noble warrior (representative of the temporal power) and blue with craftsman and producer (representatives of the economic power). Therefore, red and blue correspond to the two main royal and economic functions of the city of Paris. Both colours stand on each side of the white colour, which covers the whole spectrum of the visible light. As such, white, encompassing the two fundamental colours related to the temporal order, represents the sacerdotal authority, the role of which consists in unifying the different social orders.

It is possible that this division into three functions (religious, royal and economical) reflects the theoretical organization of the traditional societies gathered under the term Indo-European. Indeed, these societies were organized around three functions related to three symbolic colours: white for priests, red for warriors and blue or green for craftsmen and producers (see, especially, the Celtic tradition).

Consequently, the three colours of the French flag seem to be connected to the division of the Ancient Regime society into three classes, mainly clergy, nobility and third state. At that time, peasants constituted the main part of the population, but were considered as simple workers. Their migration to the city to be employed as workers started with the industrial development. The industrial and political revolution was principally an urban matter in the hands of the so-called “bourgeoisie”. That is probably why blue, at the hoist, comes first in the colour enumeration.

1 back It is probably the only United States flag that had continuously fluttered over Paris since 1834, including under the German Occupation during the Second World War.

Le drapeau français

Résumé

Drapeau français

Un petit bout d'Histoire

Il est communément admis que le Marquis de Lafayette fût à l'origine de la cocarde tricolore devenue obligatoire pour les révolutionnaires en 1789. Créé en 1790, le drapeau présentait les couleurs dans l'ordre inverse de leur apparence actuelle, i.e. avec le rouge à la hampe, avant d'être adopté en 1794 sous sa forme moderne.

Le drapeau resta hors d'usage après l'abdication de Napoléon suivant la défaite française ou la victoire anglaise de Waterloo. Il retrouva sa place au cours des émeutes de 1830, une fois encore grâce à Lafayette, et resta en usage depuis.

Tombe du Marquis de LafayetteLe Marquis est enterré à Paris, au cimetière depus destiné aux victimes de la noblesse sous la révolution ainsi qu'à leurs parents. Son corps fut déposé dans la tombe de la famille de son épouse, Adrienne de Noailles, jetée en prison pendant la Terreur et condamnée à la guillotine. Sa grand-mère, sa mère et sa sœur furent décapitées, mais Adrienne eut la vie sauve à la dernière minute, principalement grâce à l'intervention américaine. Après la Révolution, elle se battit avec la dernière énergie pour recouvrer ses droits de propriété et aider son mari qui avait passé cinq ans dans les geôles autrichiennes. Le drapeau des États-Unis sur la tombe est un témoignage de gratitude des américains à l'égard d'un français qui a combattu pour l'indépendance des colonies 1.

Les trois couleurs

Blason de ParisSelon une explication courante, le drapeau tricolore allie les couleurs de Paris (rouge et bleu) avec le blanc du drapeau de l'armée royale. Les mélanges d'emblèmes révolutionnaires et royaux étaient fréquents à cette époque.

Le rouge constitue la partie “supérieure” et le bleu la partie “inférieure” des couleurs primaires de l'arc-en-ciel. Comme telles, elles peuvent être respectivement mises en relation avec les rangs le plus “haut” et le plus “bas” parmi les fonctions de la société. Le rouge est habituellement associé au guerrier noble (représentant du pouvoir temporel) et le bleu au producteur et à l'artisan (en tant représentants du pouvoir économique). De fait, le rouge et le bleu correspondent aux deux fonctions essentielles, royale et économique, de la ville de Paris. Ces deux couleurs figurent de part et d'autre du blanc qui couvre tout le spectre de la lumière visible. Contenant les deux couleurs fondamentales associées à l'ordre temporel, le blanc représente l'autorité sacerdotale dont le rôle consiste à unifier les différents ordres sociaux.

Il est possible que cette division en trois fonctions (religieuse, royale et économique) reflète l'organisation théorique des sociétés traditionnelles regroupées sous le vocable d'indo-européennes. En effet, ces sociétés étaient organisées autour de trois fonctions en relation avec trois couleurs symboliques: le blanc pour les prêtres, le rouge pour les guerriers et le bleu ou le vert pour les artisans et les producteurs (voir, tout particulièrement, la tradition celtique).

En conséquence, les trois couleurs du drapeau français semblent liées à la division de la société de l'Ancien Régime en trois classes, à savoir: le clergé, la noblesse et le tiers-état. À l'époque, les paysans constituaient la majorité de la population, mais étaient considérés comme de simples travailleurs. Leur migration vers la ville pour y être employés comme ouvriers s'est amorcée avec le développement industriel. La révolution politique et industrielle fut essentiellement une question urbaine entre les mains de la “bourgeoisie”. C'est probablement pourquoi le bleu, figurant à la hampe, vient en premier dans l'énumération des couleurs.

1 retour Il s'agit probablement du seul drapeau des États-Unis qui ait flotté sans interruption sur Paris depuis 1834, y compris sous l'occupation allemande durant la seconde guerre mondiale.