LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The European Union flag (Detailed page)

Summary

European Union flag

Number twelve and the macrocosm

The circular belt of twelve stars represents the zodiac enveloping the Cosmos. The Cosmos symbolizes all that exists, which means the universal (macrocosm) as well as individual (microcosm) manifestation. Non-manifestation lies beyond the Cosmos and corresponds to the Centre or Principle at the origin of any manifestation.

The cross and the solstitial and equinoctial axesThe zodiac is crossed by two gates considered as passages giving access to the way in and way out of the Cosmos. Indeed, the human being is not doomed to stay in the obscurity of the cosmic world and can gain access to the light of the supra-cosmic or divine world. These gates are denominated as solstitial because they correspond to winter and summer solstices indicating the beginning of ascent and descent phases of the sun in direction, respectively, of the North Celestial and South Celestial pole. They are symbolized by the vertical axis of the zodiacal representations which may be found on church and cathedral porches. The cosmocrator Christ of Telasfarri Estifanas treasury (Ethiopia) offers an example of this.

The framework of the universal cyclic process, the macrocosm, encompassing both Heaven and Earth, refers particularly to the number twelve. Twelve was always used as a measuring basis of the circle (Heaven) whereas ten constitutes the basis for measuring the square (Earth). Transcribed at a human level, the cosmic cycle may be found in the annual cycle of twelve months as well as in the daily cycle of both diurnal and nocturnal phases of twelve hours each.

Number twelve, reflecting the regulation of the cosmic Order (etymological meaning of Cosmos), was adopted by most traditions. Let us simply think to the fruit of the tree of Life, the great Olympus gods, the Israel tribes, the Solomon's Temple gates, the halts of China Emperor inside the “Ming Tang” (Light Temple), the apostles, the Knights of the Round Table etc. These diverse transcriptions do not have any other goal than ensuring the harmony of the microcosm or human manifestation world with the macrocosm, domain of the overall manifestation.

Number five and the microcosm

The five-branched star of the flag is drawn with a branch pointing up or towards Heaven and two branches leaning on an invisible horizontal line symbolizing Earth. It represents an intermediate state between Heaven and Earth.

The pentagram and the compass pointsIndeed, number five is a symbol of the microcosm or human being who, with extended arms and legs, forms a five-branched star as shown on the pentagram of Henricus Cornelius Agrippa (16th century in our era). On this picture, the man is within a circle symbolizing Heaven, the centre of which stands at the crossing of two perpendicular axis representing the compass points or Earth.

Number 5, median for the numbers from 1 to 9, is a harmonic and balanced symbol. In the Pythagorean and ancient China traditions, it regulated the union, the sacred marriage between Heaven or masculine aspect (associated with number 3) and Earth or feminine aspect (related to number 2).

The star really represents the intermediate being between Heaven and Earth. Indeed even the mediator, when achieving within himself the union of the spiritual and the temporal and having rejoined the Centre.

The Centre, origin of the macrocosm and microcosm

As the stars and other wandering astral objects turn apparently around the polar star or the North celestial pole, the stars of the flag represent a dance around a Centre or an invisible star. This motionless Centre also symbolizes the immutable principle at the origin of the macrocosm and microcosm as well. It is invisible because nobody can get access to it unless having achieved the union of the spiritual and temporal and left the individual or human world for the supra-individual or spiritual world. Tasting prematurely the knowledge fruit symbolized by the thirteenth star results in dragging oneself towards the bottom as Icarus approaching the sun without due reason (regarding this peculiar subject, see the labyrinth). On the other hand, reaching the Centre after having accomplished all passage rites leads to bliss. That is where the popular superstitions surrounding the good and bad luck of the number 13 are coming from 1.

To reach the Centre, the human being will have to pass both gates previously mentioned:

  • The first gate, associated with the Summer solstice and called “gate of mortals”, gives access to the state of a being centred within himself, who has completely integrated all human manifestation possibilities and realized the perfect harmony of the microcosm with the macrocosm.
  • The second gate, related to the Winter solstice and called “gate of the Gods”, brings the being from its individual state to the state of spiritual Being having joined the world Centre and realized the perfect union of Heaven and Earth.

1 back The 5, 12 and 13 number sequence can take the shape of right-angled triangles as in layouts of megalithic sites (Carnac in Brittany for instance).

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Union européenne

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de l'Union européenne

Le nombre douze et le macrocosme

La ceinture circulaire des douze étoiles représente le zodiaque qui enveloppe le Cosmos. Ce dernier symbolise l'ensemble de ce qui est, c'est-à-dire la manifestation tant universelle (macrocosme) qu'individuelle (microcosme). Le non manifesté se trouve au-delà du Cosmos et correspond au Centre ou Principe à l'origine de toute manifestation.

La croix et les axes solsticial et equinoxialLe zodiaque est traversé par deux portes considérées comme des passages donnant accès à l'entrée et à la sortie du Cosmos. En effet, l'être humain n'est pas voué à demeurer dans l'obscurité du monde cosmique et peut accéder à la lumière du monde supra-cosmique ou divin. Ces portes sont dénommées solsticiales car elles correspondent aux solstices d'hiver et d'été qui marquent le début des phases ascendante et descendante du soleil en direction respectivement du Pôle Nord et du Pôle Sud céleste. Elles sont symbolisées par l'axe vertical des représentations zodiacales figurant sur le portail des églises et cathédrales. Le Christ cosmocrator du trésor de l'église de Telasfarri Estifanas (Éthiopie) en offre un exemple.

Cadre du processus cyclique universel, le macrocosme englobe aussi bien le Ciel que la Terre et renvoie tout particulièrement au nombre douze. Douze a toujours servi de base pour la mesure du cercle (Ciel) alors que le nombre dix constitue la base de mesure du carré (Terre). Transcrit au niveau humain, le cycle cosmique se retrouve aussi bien dans le cycle annuel des douze mois de l'année que dans le cycle journalier de deux phases diurne et nocturne de douze heures chacune.

Le nombre douze, reflétant la régulation de l'Ordre cosmique (sens étymologique de Cosmos), a été repris dans la plupart des traditions. Pensons simplement aux fruits de l'Arbre de Vie, aux grands dieux de l'Olympe, aux tribus d'Israël, aux portes du Temple de Salomon, aux arrêts de l'Empereur de Chine dans le “Ming Tang” (Temple des lumières), aux apôtres, aux chevaliers de la Table Ronde etc. Ces diverses transpositions n'ont pas eu d'autre but que d'assurer l'harmonie du microcosme (monde de la seule manifestation humaine) avec le macrocosme (monde de la manifestation dans son ensemble).

Le nombre cinq et le microcosme

L'étoile à cinq branches du drapeau est dessinée avec une branche dirigée vers le haut ou le Ciel et deux branches s'appuyant sur une ligne horizontale non apparente symbolisant la Terre. Elle représente un état intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre.

La croix et les points cardinauxEn effet, le nombre cinq est un symbole du microcosme ou de l'être humain qui, bras et jambes étendus, s'inscrit dans une étoile à cinq branches comme le montre le pentagramme de Henricus Cornelius Agrippa (XVIe siècle de notre ère). Sur cette image, l'homme est ceint d'un cercle symbolisant le Ciel dont le centre se trouve à l'intersection de deux axes perpendiculaires représentant les points cardinaux ou la Terre.

Le nombre 5, médian pour les nombres de 1 à 9, est un symbole de l'harmonie et de l'équilibre. Dans les traditions Pythagoricienne et de la Chine ancienne, il gouvernait l'union ou le mariage sacré entre le Ciel ou l'aspect masculin (associé au nombre 3) et la Terre ou l'aspect féminin (caractérisée par le nombre 2).

L'étoile représente bien l'être intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre, voire le médiateur après avoir réalisé en lui-même l'union du spirituel et du temporel et rejoint ainsi le Centre.

Le Centre, origine du macrocosme et du microcosme

De même que les étoiles et autres astres errants tournent en apparence autour de l'étoile polaire ou du Pôle Nord céleste, les étoiles du drapeau représentent une ronde autour d'un Centre, d'une étoile invisible. Ce Centre immobile symbolise le Principe immuable à l'origine aussi bien du macrocosme que du microcosme. Il est invisible car nul ne peut y accéder à moins avoir réalisé l'union du spirituel et du temporel ou quitté le monde individuel ou humain pour le monde supra-individuel ou spirituel. Goûter prématurément au fruit de la connaissance symbolisé par cette treizième étoile entraîne la chute à l'image d'Icare s'approchant indûment du soleil (voir à ce propos le labyrinthe). Par contre, atteindre le Centre après avoir accompli tous les rites de passage conduit à la félicité. D'où les superstitions populaires qui entourent le caractère bénéfique ou maléfique du nombre 13. 1

Pour atteindre le Centre, l'être humain devra franchir les deux portes mentionnées plus haut:

  • La première porte, associée au solstice d'été et appelée “porte des hommes”, débouche sur l'état d'être centré en lui-même qui a complètement intégré toutes les possibilités de la manifestation humaine et réalisé l'harmonie parfaite du microcosme avec le macrocosme.
  • La seconde porte, en relation avec le solstice d'hiver et dénommée “porte des dieux”, transporte l'être de l'état d'individu humain à celui d'être spirituel qui a rejoint le Centre du monde et réalisé l'union parfaite du Ciel et de la Terre.

1 retour La séquence des nombres 5, 12 et 13 peut prendre la forme de triangles rectangles comme dans les schémas de sites mégalithiques (Carnac en Bretagne par exemple).

Haut