LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

European Union flag

(Summary)

European Union flag

The union flag

The European flag, adopted by the Council of Europe in 1956, was assimilated by the European Community in 1986, when the number of member states increased to twelve. The flag remained unchanged with the enlargement to fifteen, then to twenty-five and twenty-eight. It will not change with the entry of future member States for the symbolism of the twelve yellow stars with five branches designed on an ultramarine background.

The European flag is really a union symbol:

  • The union of the individual (symbolized by the five-branched star) with the Cosmos (depicted by the twelve star circle, which represents the zodiac) as part of it.
    • The main Cosmos function, the etymology of which refers to the order notion, consists in maintaining the multiple elements composing it at their place and in accordance with their proper nature.
    • To live in harmony with the Cosmos means to take over our place in this world to become a being centred within himself, no more no less;
  • The union of the temporal and spiritual.
    • The being centred within himself acts as an intermediary between Heaven and Earth.
    • When he leaves the visible circumference to join the invisible centre of the circle, he realizes the union of Heaven and Earth and identifies himself with the World Centre where everything comes from and where everything is returning.

Two inseparable union modes that humanity has rather forgotten. Unifying does not only mean bringing beings closer, but also the alliance of souls. “What is sacred ? The union of souls” (Wolfgang Goethe).

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de l'Union européenne

(Résumé)

Drapeau de l'Union européenne

Le drapeau de l'union

Le drapeau européen fut adopté par le Conseil de l'Europe en 1956 et repris par la Communauté européenne en 1986, au moment où le nombre de pays membres fut porté à douze. Le drapeau resta inchangé avec l'élargissement à quinze, puis à vingt-cinq et à vingt-huit. Il ne changera pas avec l'entrée de futurs États membres pour une raison qui tient au symbolisme des douze étoiles jaunes à cinq branches dessinées sur un fond bleu outremer.

Le drapeau européen est bien un symbole de l'union :

  • Union de l'individu (symbolisé par l'étoile à cinq branches) avec le Cosmos (figuré par le cercle de douze étoiles représentant le zodiaque) dont il fait partie.
    • La principale fonction du Cosmos, dont l'étymologie renvoie à la notion d'ordre, est de maintenir les éléments multiples qui le composent à la place qui leur revient en fonction de leur nature propre.
    • Vivre en harmonie avec le Cosmos signifie ni plus ni moins occuper la place qui nous revient dans ce monde pour devenir un être centré en lui-même.
  • Union du temporel et du spirituel.
    • L'être centré en lui-même joue le rôle d'intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre.
    • Lorsqu'il quitte la circonférence visible pour rejoindre le centre invisible du cercle, il réalise l'union du Ciel et de la Terre et s'identifie au Centre du Monde d'où tout part et où tout retourne.

Deux modalités indissociables de l'union que l'humanité a quelque peu oubliées. L'union ne signifie pas seulement le rapprochement des êtres, mais également l'alliance des âmes. “Qu'est-ce que le sacré ? L'union des âmes” (Wolfgang Goethe).

Page détaillée

Haut