At the heart of symbolism

European Union flag


European Union flag

The union flag

The European flag, adopted by the Council of Europe in 1956, was assimilated by the European Community in 1986, when the number of member states increased to twelve. The flag remained unchanged with the enlargement to fifteen, then to twenty-five and twenty-eight. It will not change with the entry of future member States for the symbolism of the twelve yellow stars with five branches designed on an ultramarine background.

The European flag is really a union symbol:

  • The union of the individual (symbolized by the five-branched star) with the Cosmos (depicted by the twelve star circle, which represents the zodiac) as part of it.
    • The main Cosmos function, the etymology of which refers to the order notion, consists in maintaining the multiple elements composing it at their place and in accordance with their proper nature.
    • To live in harmony with the Cosmos means to take over our place in this world to become a being centred within himself, no more no less;
  • The union of the temporal and spiritual.
    • The being centred within himself acts as an intermediary between Heaven and Earth.
    • When he leaves the visible circumference to join the invisible centre of the circle, he realizes the union of Heaven and Earth and identifies himself with the World Centre where everything comes from and where everything is returning.

Two inseparable union modes that humanity has rather forgotten. Unifying does not only mean bringing beings closer, but also the alliance of souls. “What is sacred ? The union of souls” (Wolfgang Goethe).

Detailed page