LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Danish flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

Danish civil flag   Danish state flag

War and Peace

According to the legend, the Danish flag cross fell from the skies in a famous battle.

War is a manifestation of disorder counterbalancing another disorder and contributing to the restoration of order. According to the traditional teaching, order is the sum of all disorders and appears only if we cease to look at things separately. When all of them are brought back together, unity is established and things recover their full reality. Otherwise, oppositions and antagonisms, source of disorder, will persist and war will remain the common state of humanity and being.

War consists in the re-establishment of peace and people concord. Consequently, its legitimacy could not be denied in a traditional society. It was often presented as a sacred duty as in the Indian “Bhagavad-Gita” (or the “Song of the Lord”, part of the “Mahabharata”) or the Western Arthurian cycle. The reason for this is the fact that war and peace may be perceived from two different angles:

  • From the outer and temporal point of view, war is particularly justified when undertaken against enemies jeopardizing the community order and breaking the laws governing the society. It should be followed by the restoration of equilibrium, harmony and justice reflecting the cohesion between the community members.
  • From the inner and spiritual point of view, War deals with the fight against our own devils (from the Greek “diabolos”, which means disuniting, splitting, dividing), that is to say against our inner enemies, which are opposed to order and unity. This is the only genuine Holy War of the being in quest of inner Peace.

The poem of the “Bhagavad-Gitâ” recounts the struggle of King Arjuna caught in the net of a civil war. Filled with doubt at the prospect of killing his friends and relatives, he sought advice from the god Krishna. The god explained to him that each being must follow the path assigned to him within the great cosmic movement. Whoever fulfils his destiny will remove doubts and find inner Peace. Whoever refuses to follow it will only be tormented. Krishna urged Arjuna to fulfil the duty of his caste (function) as a warrior dedicated to his task, to kill relatives and friends and to lead his army to victory while teaching him absolute devotion to the Supreme Being.

Arjuna and Krishna are an inseparable couple (human and divine, me and Self, soul and Spirit) of the Hindu tradition. Both are on the same chariot, the vehicle of the being during its transformations. While Arjuna is fighting, Krishna drives the chariot without taking part in the battle. They represent respectively the outer and inner worlds symbolized by the two branches of the cross.

The cross

In the crucial representation, the horizontal axis represents the expansion of all possibilities linked to a state of being. Centred in such a state, the being becomes really human and stands at a point on the vertical axis from where he perceives the centres of the indefinite series of states of being between Heaven and Earth. Climbing the hierarchy of states leads to the realization of the total being. It follows that the cross symbolizes the being who has integrated all states and realized the union between terrestrial and celestial aspects. As such, he has become a mediator between Heaven and Earth called the “Universal man”. In proper Christian terms, Christ has brought to fulfilment the union of the divine and human nature and become the mediator par excellence between this world and the Heavens, which is symbolized by the cross.

Viking's brooch chiselled around a crossHowever, the symbol of the cross may be found in other religions than Christianity and in other times as well. The Vikings, for instance, attached a great importance to this representation as shown on the brooch of the National museum in Copenhagen on the left. The cross divides the brooch surface into four quarters as often done on town or camp plans.

The Viking camp consisted mainly of a mighty circular rampart surrounding a number of “barrack halls”, which in fact were castles. The best known of them, Trelleborg on Sealand, has sixteen halls equally distributed within the four quarters (see below).

The camp was oriented according to the usual representation of the compass points andTrelleborg Viking's camp plan (Denmark) drawing a cross. The vertical symbolizes the solstitial axis and the horizontal the equinoctial axis. North, at the “top”, corresponds to the Winter solstice, the beginning of the sun ascent towards the North celestial pole, the motionless point around which stars and “wanderings” are turning for the people living in the Northern hemisphere. South, at the “bottom”, is associated with the Summer solstice, the start of the sun descent in direction of the South celestial pole. East and west stand in the middle of both phases. For more details regarding this point, consult the description of the celestial sphere.

Four gates located at the four compass points allow getting in and out of the camp. These gates have a symbolic meaning. In particular, the Southern gate corresponds to the access to the human being state associated with the sun descent phase as the being is still in the terrestrial world. The Northern gate represents the entering to the total being state related to the sun ascent phase because the being is definitely leaving the human world for the spiritual world. The total being, having overcome all the oppositions and disorder as well, has realized the unity and found Peace.

The colours of the flag

Krishna, the name of which means “dark” or “black”, symbolizes the invisible non-manifested Principle, the motionless point, at the origin of the visible manifestation represented by Arjuna and associated with “white”. White portrays the entire visible light spectrum of the rainbow colours where red is the “upper arch”. Therefore, red is related to the highest rank inside the manifested order, the warrior, the Victorious, the King.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The symbolism of the cross”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2002;
  • Particularly, chapters 3 on the metaphysical symbolism of the cross and 8 devoted to war and peace.
Top

Le drapeau danois

Résumé

Drapeau civil danois

Guerre et Paix

Selon la légende, la croix du drapeau danois tomba des cieux au cours d'une célèbre bataille.

La guerre est une manifestation de désordre qui contrebalance un autre désordre et contribue à la restauration de l'ordre. Selon l'enseignement traditionnel, l'ordre est la somme de tous les désordres et il n'apparaît que si nous cessons de regarder les choses séparément. Lorsque ces dernières sont vues dans leur ensemble, l'unité transparaît et toute chose retrouve sa pleine réalité. Sinon, les oppositions et les contraires, sources de désordre, persisteront et la guerre restera l'état commun de l'humanité et de l'être.

La guerre consiste en un ré-établissement de la paix et de la concorde entre les êtres. En conséquence, sa légitimité ne pouvait être niée dans une société traditionnelle. Elle signifiait souvent l'accomplissement d'un devoir sacré comme dans la “Bhagavad-Gitâ” (ou le “Le chant du Bienheureux” qui fait partie du “Mahabharata”) en Inde ou le cycle arthurien en Occident. Cela tient au fait que guerre et paix peuvent être perçues sous deux angles différents:

  • D'un point de vue extérieur et temporel, la guerre était particulièrement justifiée contre les ennemis qui mettaient l'ordre de la communauté en péril et anéantissaient les lois gouvernant la société. Elle devait être suivie de la restauration de l'équilibre, de l'harmonie et de la justice, reflet de la cohésion des membres de la communauté.
  • Du point de vue intérieur et spirituel, la Guerre a trait au combat contre nos propres démons (du grec “diabolos” qui signifie désunir, séparer, diviser), c'est-à-dire contre nos ennemis intérieurs qui sont opposés à l'ordre et à l'unité. C'est la seule véritable Guerre Sainte de l'être en quête de Paix intérieure.

Le poème de la “Bhagavad-Gitâ” relate le combat du roi Arjuna. Pris de doute face à la perspective de tuer des proches, il prend conseil auprès du dieu Krishna. Le dieu presse le roi de remplir le devoir de sa caste (fonction) comme un guerrier dévoué à sa tâche tout en lui enseignant la dévotion absolue à l'Être Suprême.

Tous deux constituent un couple inséparable (humain et divin, moi et Soi, âme et Esprit) se trouvant sur le même char, le véhicule de l'être au cours de ses transformations. Pendant qu'Arjuna combat, Krishna conduit le char sans prendre part à la bataille. Ils représentent respectivement les mondes extérieur et intérieur que symbolisent les deux branches de la croix.

La croix

Dans la représentation cruciale, l'axe horizontal représente l'expansion de toutes les possibilités liées à un état d'être. Centré dans un tel état, l'être devient proprement humain et se tient en un point de l'axe vertical. De là, il perçoit les centres de la série indéfinie de tous les états d'être entre Ciel et Terre. Gravir cette hiérarchie d'états conduit à la réalisation de l'être total. Il s'ensuit que la croix symbolise l'être qui a intégré tous les états et réalisé l'union des aspects terrestre et céleste. Comme tel, il est devenu le médiateur entre le Ciel et la Terre qualifié “d'Homme universel”. En termes proprement chrétiens, le Christ a porté à son achèvement l'union des natures divine et humaine pour devenir le médiateur par excellence entre ce monde et les Cieux, symbolisé par la croix.

Broche viking ciselée autour d'une croixNéanmoins, le symbole de la croix peut se rencontrer dans d'autres religions que chrétiennes ainsi qu'à d'autres époques. Les vikings, par exemple, attachaient une grande importance à cette représentation comme en témoigne la broche du musée national de Copenhague ci-contre. La croix divise la surface de la broche en quatre quartiers comme souvent dans les plans des villes et des camps.

Le camp viking se composait principalement d'un imposant rempart circulaire entourant nombre de “casernes” qui étaient en fait des châteaux. Le plus connu d'entre eux, Trelleborg dans le Seeland, en comportait seize répartis de manière égale entre les quatre quartiers (voir ci-dessous).

Le camp était orienté selon la représentation usuelle des points cardinaux et dessinait unePlan du camp viking de Trelleborg (Danemark) croix. La verticale symbolise l'axe solsticial et l'horizontale l'axe équinoxial. Le nord, en “haut”, correspond au solstice d'hiver, début de la phase ascendante du soleil vers le pôle nord céleste, le point immobile autour duquel tournent les étoiles et les astres “errants” pour la population vivant dans l'hémisphère nord. Le sud, en “bas”, est associé au solstice d'été, commencement de la phase descendante en direction du pôle sud céleste. L'est et l'ouest sont situés au milieu de chacune des deux phases. Pour davantage de détails concernant ce point, consulter la description de la sphère céleste.

Quatre portes, situées aux quatre points cardinaux, autorisaient l'entrée et la sortie du camp. Ces portes ont un sens symbolique. En particulier, la porte sud correspond à l'accès à l'état d'être humain associé à la phase descendante du soleil car l'être appartient encore au monde terrestre. La porte nord représente l'accès à l'état d'être total où l'être quitte définitivement le monde humain pour le monde spirituel. L'être total, ayant surmonté toutes les oppositions ainsi que le désordre, a réalisé l'unité et trouvé la Paix.

Les couleurs du drapeau

Krishna, dont le nom signifie “sombre” ou “noir”, symbolise le Principe non manifesté invisible, le point immobile à l'origine de la manifestation visible représentée par Arjuna, associé au “blanc”. Le blanc dépeint la totalité du spectre de la lumière visible composé des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel où le rouge occupe la partie “supérieure”. Aussi, le rouge est-il mis en relation avec le rang le plus haut au sein de l'ordre de la manifestation, c'est-à-dire le guerrier, le victorieux, le roi.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1996;
  • Particulièrement, les chapitres III sur le symbolisme métaphysique de la croix et VIII sur la guerre et la paix.