LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Danish flag

(Summary)

Danish civil flag   Danish state flag

The Dannebrog

The Danish flag, called “Dannebrog” (Danish piece of cloth or flag or banner), is the oldest known national flag in the world. The white cross on a red background does not refer exclusively to Christianity, but to a universal symbol from ancient times.

According to the legend, the “Dannebrog” fell from the skies on 15th June 1219, when the crusader King Valdemar II (the Victorious) defeated the pagan Estonians in a famous battle. The first use of the “Dannebrog” as a flag would have happened some one hundred years later.

During its descent, the “Dannebrog” has drawn a vertical axis linking Heaven and Earth and symbolizing the various being's states from the most celestial to the most terrestrial. By falling on the horizontal ground, it made a cross. The horizontal branch corresponds to the amplitude of the entire possibilities linked to a specific state of being.

The white colour of the cross is associated with the whole spectrum of the visible light emerging from the invisible Principle represented by God. At the top of the spectrum of the rainbow colours, red may be related to the first representative of the manifestation order, the King, acting under the guidance of God.

A swallowed-tailed pennon was reserved to the naval fleet by a 1630 decree. Its use was formerly forbidden to all merchant ships in 1635. Since then, the authorities got used to hoist the swallowed-tailed pennon on dry land. In 1748, it was definitively decided that merchant ships would fly the rectangular flag.

As a general rule, the swallowed-tailed pennon is reserved to the royal family and State authorities; individuals may only use the rectangular flag.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau danois

(Résumé)

Drapeau civil danois   Drapeau de l'État danois

Le Dannebrog

Le drapeau danois, appelé “Dannebrog” (morceau d'étoffe ou bannière ou drapeau danois), est le plus vieux drapeau national connu au monde. La croix blanche sur fond rouge ne fait pas seulement référence à la chrétienté, mais à un symbole universel des temps les plus reculés.

Selon la légende, le “Dannenbrog” tomba des cieux le 15 juin 1219 lorsque le roi croisé Valdemar II (le Victorieux) battit les estoniens païns au cours d'une célèbre bataille. La première utilisation du “Dannenbrog” en tant que drapeau daterait d'une centaine d'années plus tard.

Pendant sa descente, le “Dannebrog” a décrit un axe vertical reliant le Ciel et la Terre et symbolisant les divers états d'être depuis les plus célestes jusqu'aux plus terrestres. En tombant sur le sol horizontal, le drapeau a dessiné une croix. La branche horizontale correspond à l'amplitude de toutes les possibilités liées à un état spécifique de l'être.

La couleur blanche de la croix est associée à la totalité du spectre de la lumière visible émergeant du Principe invisible représenté par Dieu. Tout en haut du spectre des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel, le rouge peut être mis en relation avec le premier des représentants dans l'ordre de la manifestation, le roi, agissant sous la gouverne de Dieu.

Un pavillon à deux pointes fut réservé à la flotte de guerre en vertu d'un décret de 1630. Son utilisation fut formellement interdite à tous les navires marchands en 1635. Depuis lors, les pouvoirs publics prirent l'habitude d'hisser le pavillon à deux pointes sur la terre ferme. En 1748, il fut définitivement décidé que les navires marchands battraient le drapeau rectangulaire.

En règle générale, le pavillon à deux pointes est réservé à la famille royale et aux instances de l'État; les particuliers ne peuvent utiliser que le drapeau rectangulaire.

Page détaillée

Haut