LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The German flag

(Summary)

German civil flag German state flag

The flag and the coat of arms

The present flag of Germany was adopted by the Weimar Republic in 1919 and revived after the Third Reich in 1949. The Civil flag is composed of three horizontal equal stripes with the national colours of Germany: black, red and (golden) yellow 1. The same flag was adopted in both Federal and Democratic Republics.German Democratic Republic flag In 1959 however, the Democratic Republic added a coat of arms representing a hammer and a compass in a circle of ears of rye. The flag with the three colours has remained the emblem of the country after the reunification in 1990. The State flag and the flag of the presidency of the Federal Republic are adorned with a coat of arms containing an eagle on a golden shield.

The Parliament elected by universal suffrage during the revolution of 1848 had already tried to propose the unification of Germany under the three colour flag. However, the constant rivalries between Prussia and Austria resulted in war and the creation of the North German Confederation dominated by Prussia under Bismarck's rule. The Confederation adopted a flag associating black and white colours of the Prussian flag with the red of the Hanseatic League flag. It became the national emblem after the achievement of German unity in 1871 and the creation of the German Empire; it remained in use until the end of the First World War. The three colours black-white-red were taken over by the emblem of the Third Reich.

As often, the origins of the drawing of the flag and especially of its colours are multiple:

The drawing of the flag

The flags displaying three colours constitute the majority of the emblems of the countries (for more details, see the colours of the Olympic flag). And the easiest way to represent them consists in juxtaposing them either vertically or horizontally. The first tricolor flag of the European nations was the Dutch Republic one, freed from the Spanish domination for 80 years (1568-1648). Its flourishing economy, as its flag, have been able to serve as an example for other nations.

The three colours of the flag

No official text has decreed the national colours. For some, the colours of the German flag would find their origins in the popular movements. The colours black-red-gold adorned the black uniforms (with red facings and golden buttons) of the first German troops fighting against the Napoleonic France from 1813 to 1814. For others, these colours would have been borrowed from the coat of arms of the Holy Roman Germanic Empire, dating from the Middle-Ages; it was composed of a black eagle, with red beak and claws, on a (golden) yellow background. For some others, the black colour would represent freedom, red the unity of the country and (golden) yellow the personal freedom.

Anyhow, these colours quickly became the symbol of a quest for unity, justice and freedom in accordance with the motto of the country (Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit).

1 back In the heraldic language, the yellow colour only exists under the appearance of gold.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau allemand

(Résumé)

Drapeau civil allemand Drapeau de l'État allemand

Les couleurs et le blason

Le drapeau actuel de l'Allemagne fut adopté sous la République de Weimar en 1919 et remis à l'honneur, après le troisième Reich, en 1949. Le drapeau civil est composé de trois bandes horizontales égales aux couleurs nationales de l'Allemagne : noir, rouge et jaune (d'or) 1. Le même drapeau fut adopté aussi bien en République fédérale qu'en République démocratique.Drapeau république démocratique allemande En 1959 cependant la République démocratique ajouta un blason représentant un marteau et un compas dans un cercle d'épis de seigle. Le drapeau aux trois couleurs est resté l'emblème du pays après la réunification en 1990. Le drapeau d'État et le pavillon de la présidence de la République fédérale sont ornés d'un blason renfermant un aigle sur un écu..

Le parlement élu au suffrage universel au cours de la révolution de 1848 avait déjà tenté de proposer l'unification de l'Allemagne sous les trois couleurs du drapeau. Toutefois, les rivalités constantes entre la Prusse et l'Autriche aboutirent à la guerre et la création de la Confédération de l'Allemagne du Nord dominée par la Prusse sous la férule de Bismarck. La Confédération adopta un drapeau associant le noir et le blanc du drapeau prussien au rouge du drapeau de la ligue hanséatique. Il devint l'emblème national après la réalisation de l'unité allemande en 1871 et la création de l'Empire allemand; il resta en usage jusqu'à la fin de la première guerre mondiale. Les trois couleurs noir-blanc-rouge furent reprises dans l'emblème du troisième Reich.

Comme souvent, les origines du dessin du drapeau et surtout de ses couleurs sont multiples:

Le dessin du drapeau

Les drapeaux composés de trois couleurs constituent la majorité des emblèmes des pays (pour plus de détails, voir les couleurs du drapeau olympique). Et la façon la plus simple de les représenter consiste à les juxtaposer soit verticalement soit horizontalement. Le premier drapeau tricolore des nations européennes a été celui de la République hollandaise, libérée de la domination espagnole pour 80 ans (1568-1648). Son économie florissante, tout comme son drapeau, ont pu servir d'exemple pour les autres nations.

Les trois couleurs du drapeau

Aucun texte officiel n'a décrété les couleurs nationales. Pour les uns, les couleurs du drapeau allemand trouverait ses origines dans les mouvements populaires. Les couleurs noir-rouge-or ornaient les uniformes noirs (aux revers rouges et boutons dorés) des premières troupes allemandes ayant combattu la France napoléonienne de 1813 à 1814. Pour d'autres, ces couleurs auraient été empruntées au blason du Saint-Empire romain germanique datant du Moyen-âge; il était composé d’un aigle noir, au bec et aux talons rouges, sur un fond jaune (d'or). Pour d'autres encore, la couleur noire représenterait la liberté, le rouge l'unité du pays et le jaune d'or la liberté personnelle.

Quoi qu'il en soit, ces couleurs devinrent rapidement le symbole d'une quête de l'unité, de la justice et de la liberté conformément à la devise du pays (Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit).

1 retour En langage héraldique, la couleur jaune n'existe que sous la l'apparence de l'or.

Page détaillée

Haut