LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Flags trimmed with a cross

(Detailed page)

Summary

The cross on the flag

The origin of the cross symbol dates back long before the conversion to Christianity. It is sufficient to look into the pre Colombian society to find traces. This origin is overshadowed today to such an extent that only Christian countries are displaying the cross on their flags.

The cross drawn on the flag can be represented with branches of equal lengths (Greek cross) or unequal lengths (Latin cross). It is nevertheless present under these two forms on one of the flag of the Channel Isles, Guernsey (See the picture below).

Cross with equal and splayed branches (Bayeux's embroidery)The red cross with unequal branches in the background comes obviously from the English flag. The golden cross with equal and splayed branches finds mischievously its place, among others, on the shields of the warriors fighting alongside the England conqueror, the Duke William of Normandy, as shown by the opposite detail of Bayeux's embroidery.

The following presentation contains a whole set of flags sporting a cross of one or the other form:

Flags trimmed with a Greek or Latin cross


Red Cross


Switzerland


Greece


Malta


Tonga


Guernsey


England


Denmark


Faroe Islands


Finland


Iceland


Norway


Sweden


Dominican Republic


Dominica

The colours of the flags

The various flags presented above are painted with the following colours: white, red, blue, yellow and green.

  • White represents the visible light, the spectrum of which covers all the other colours. It symbolizes in that capacity the Principle, the Unity, source of the colour manifestation in particular and of beings and things in general. Interesting to note that only the Swedish flag only does not bring in this essential colour. As for the other colours, they constitute as many facets of a same Principle viewed from different angles.
  • Red, usually assimilated to courage, personifies also the love of the Principle symbolized by white, the divine love, the Knight's love. No wonder that Malta flag sports these colours.
  • Symbol of the spiritual force, blue evokes the conscience of the Principle of indestructibility, such an intense conscience that this colour is just as well attached to the Finnish or Norwegian cross as to the field of the Greek, Swedish and Icelandic flags.
  • Yellow depicts the spiritual radiance (of the Principle or the one who identifies himself with It) made in the image of the cross of the Guernsey or Swedish flags. It symbolizes the true wisdom.
  • Green represents hope in all its fullness, i.e. the deep aspiration to bliss, to the Principle knowledge. It is acknowledge, on the Dominican flag, with the appearance of a parrot standing motionless at the centre of a ten star belt. This symbolizes the “cosmic wheel” or the Principle manifestation.

The meaning of the cross trimming these flags differs not only according to the colour, but also the respective lengths of the branches.

Flags trimmed with a Greek cross

The cross with equal branches is often associated with the wind rose representative of the four cardinal directions. This aspect is particularly reinforced by the squared shape of the Swiss flag. As for the cardinal points themselves, they are usually grouped under the light/shadow complements. A complement rather than an opposition for there is no shadow without light or light without shadow. That operates at the level of each branch (South and North, East and West) and between the branches (South and West, East and North) as well.

The light/shadow complements take on various words according to the traditions: Purusha/Prakriti (Hindu tradition), yang/yin (Chinese tradition) or feminine masculine (Hermetic tradition). These complements find their balance in a point where none of them predominates. Neither to the North or to the South, to the East or to the West, but in the centre symbolized by the branch intersection point. In the Hermetic tradition, rejoining the centre means to realize the reintegration in the indistinct state where masculine and feminine aspects are in perfect harmony. The being centred in himself becomes then a full human being, an individual in the strict sense of the word (from “individuum” or one), i.e. a unified being.

The banner under which a population is gathered reflects the unity of the human being represented by the Greek cross centre.

Flags trimmed with a Latin cross

Within the cross of unequal branches, the horizontal branch represents any being's state, human or other. The intersection point of this branch with the vertical portrays the centre of the corresponding state. The being centred in that state stands consequently on a point of the vertical from which he can perceive the centres linked to the other states, insofar terrestrial as celestial, insofar inferior as superior to his current state.

Moving along the vertical means knowing all the other states and becoming a total being. The being then definitively leaves the human world for the supra-human world. Situated beyond the centred being, he identifies himself with the Centre of all worlds and become the universal Being. He is henceforth at the crossing of all ways symbolized by the branch intersection. Made in the Christ image, He represents the mediator par excellence between Heaven and Earth under the banner of spirituality.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The symbolism of the cross”. Sophia Perennis Publisher 2002;
  • This work deals in details with the cross symbol.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Drapeaux ornés d'une croix

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La croix sur le drapeau

L'origine du symbole de la croix remonte bien avant la christianisation. Il suffit de se pencher sur la société précolombienne pour en trouver des traces. Une origine occultée à tel point aujourd'hui que seuls les pays de confession chrétienne affichent la croix sur leurs drapeaux.

La croix dessinée sur le drapeau peut être représentée avec des branches de longueurs égales (croix grecque) ou de longueurs différentes (croix latine). Elle est toutefois présente sous ses deux formes sur le drapeau de l'une des îles anglo-normandes, Guernesey (Voir le tableau plus bas).

Croix à branches égales et évasées (broderie de Bayeux)La croix rouge aux branches inégales à l'arrière plan s'inspire visiblement du drapeau anglais. La croix d'or aux branches égales et évasées trouve, entre autres, malicieusement sa place sur le bouclier des guerriers combattant aux côtés du conquérant de l'Angleterre, le duc Guillaume de Normandie, comme le montre le détail ci-contre de la broderie de Bayeux.

La présentation suivante contient tout un ensemble de drapeaux arborant une croix de l'une ou l'autre forme:

Drapeaux ornés d'une croix grecque ou latine


Croix rouge


Suisse


Grèce


Malte


Tonga


Guernesey


Angleterre


Danemark


Îles Féroé


Finlande


Islande


Norvège


Suède


Rép. dominicaine


Dominique

Les couleurs des drapeaux

Les divers drapeaux présentés ci-dessus sont peints aux couleurs suivantes: blanc, rouge, bleu, jaune et vert.

  • Le blanc représente la lumière visible dont le spectre recouvre l'ensemble des autres couleurs. Il symbolise à ce titre le Principe, l'Unité à la source de la manifestation des couleurs en particulier et des êtres et des choses en général. Notons que seul le drapeau suédois ne fait pas appel à cette couleur essentielle. Quant aux autres couleurs, elles constituent autant de facettes d'un même Principe vu sous des angles différents.
  • Le rouge, habituellement assimilé au courage, incarne aussi l'Amour du Principe symbolisé par le blanc, l'Amour divin, l'Amour des Chevaliers. Rien de surprenant dès lors que le drapeau de Malte arbore ces couleurs.
  • Symbole de la force spirituelle, le bleu évoque la conscience de l'indestructibilité du Principe, une conscience si intense que sa couleur est aussi bien attachée à la croix finlandaise ou norvégienne qu'au champ des drapeaux grec, suédois ou islandais.
  • Le jaune dépeint le rayonnement spirituel (du Principe ou de celui qui s'y identifie) à l'image de la croix des drapeaux de Guernesey ou suédois. Il symbolise la sagesse véritable.
  • Le vert représente l'espérance dans toute sa plénitude, c'est-à-dire l'aspiration profonde à la félicité, à la connaissance du Principe. Il s'impose, sur le drapeau de la Dominique, sous l'apparence d'un perroquet se tenant immobile au centre d'une ceinture de dix étoiles. Cette dernière symbolise la “roue cosmique” ou la manifestation du Principe.

La signification de la croix ornant ces drapeaux diffère non seulement selon la couleur, mais aussi suivant les longueurs respectives des branches.

Drapeaux ornés d'une croix grecque

La croix aux branches égales est souvent associée à la rose des vents représentative des quatre directions cardinales. Cet aspect est particulièrement renforcé par la forme carrée du drapeau suisse. Quant aux points cardinaux eux-mêmes, ils sont d'ordinaire regroupés sous la complémentarité lumière/ombre. Une complémentarité plutôt qu'une opposition car il n'y a pas d'ombre sans lumière ni de lumière sans ombre et qui opère aussi bien au niveau de chaque branche (Sud et Nord, Est et Ouest) qu'entre les branches (Sud et Ouest, Est et Nord).

La complémentarité lumière/ombre se décline sous des termes divers selon les traditions: yang/yin (tradition chinoise), Purusha/Prakriti (tradition hindoue) ou masculin/féminin (tradition hermétique). Ces complémentaires trouvent leur équilibre en un point où aucun d'eux ne prédomine. Ni au Nord ni au Sud ni à l'Est ni à l'Ouest, mais au centre symbolisé par le point d'intersection des branches. Dans la tradition hermétique, rejoindre le centre signifie réaliser la réintégration dans l'état indifférencié où les aspects masculin et féminin sont en parfaite harmonie. L'être centré en lui-même devient alors un être humain à part entière, un individu au sens strict du terme (de “individuum” ou un), c'est-à-dire un être unifié.

La bannière sous laquelle est rassemblée une même population reflète l'unité de l'être humain représentée par le centre de la croix grecque.

Drapeaux ornés d'une croix latine

Dans la croix aux branches de longueurs inégales, la branche horizontale représente un état quelconque de l'être, humain ou autre. Le point d'intersection de cette branche avec la verticale figure le centre de l'état correspondant. L'être centré dans cet état se tient par conséquent en un point de la verticale d'où il peut percevoir les centres liés aux autres états, tant terrestres que célestes, tant inférieurs que supérieurs à son état actuel.

Parcourir la verticale signifie con-naître (naître avec) tous les autres états et devenir un être total. L'être quitte alors définitivement le monde humain pour le monde supra-humain. Situé au-delà de l'être centré en lui-même, il s'identifie au Centre de tous les mondes et devient l'Être universel. Il est désormais à la croisée de tous les chemins également symbolisée par l'intersection des branches. À l'image du Christ, Il représente au médiateur par excellence entre le Ciel et la Terre sous la bannière duquel se rangent les êtres épris de spiritualité.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Le symbolisme de la croix”. Éditions Guy Trédaniel, 1996;
  • Cet ouvrage traite du symbole de la croix de façon approfondie
Haut