LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Flags trimmed with a cross

(Summary)

Red Cross flag Danish civil flag

The cross

The sign of the Cross is related to the traditional distinction between vertical and horizontal and to the pre-eminence of the first over the second:

  • The vertical branch of the cross assembles the indefinite multiplicity of the being's states, from the most physical to the most spiritual;
  • The horizontal branch corresponds to the deployment of all being possibilities related to a specific state.

The branch intersection represents so to speak the centre of the considered state. The being centred in that state stands at a vertical point from which he may perceive the totality of all the states offered to him. These states may come under the human domain only or cover the human as well as the spiritual order:

  • In the first case, the so called Greek cross has equal branches in order to bring to the fore the equal possibility of expansion in the horizontal plane corresponding to a single level, the human domain;
  • In the second case, the so-called Latin cross has unequal branches to bring to light the whole extent of the inequal possibilities of expansion alongside the vertical axis related to all levels.

It follows that the countries or international organisations displaying the Greek cross on their flags are emphasizing the human aspect (The Red Cross for instance) whereas those bearing the Latin cross are bringing out the spiritual willingness (Denmark constitutes a good example).

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Drapeaux ornés d'une croix

(Résumé)

Drapeau de la Croix rouge Drapeau civil danois

La croix

Le signe de la Croix se rattache à la distinction traditionnelle entre verticalité et l'horizontalité et à la primauté de la première sur la seconde:

  • La branche verticale de la croix rassemble la multiplicité indéfinie des états de l'être depuis les plus physiques jusqu'aux plus spirituels;
  • La branche horizontale correspond au déploiement des possibilités de l'être en relation avec un état spécifique.

L'intersection des deux branches représente en quelque sorte le centre de l'état considéré. L'être centré dans cet état se trouve en un point de la verticale d'où il peut percevoir la totalité des états qui s'offrent à lui. Ces états peuvent relever du seul domaine humain ou couvrir tant l'ordre humain que spirituel:

  • Dans le premier cas, la croix dite grecque a des branches d'égales longueurs de manière à mettre en évidence l'égale possibilité d'expansion dans le plan horizontal associé à un seul niveau, le domaine humain;
  • Dans le second, la croix dite latine a des branches de longueurs inégales afin de mettre en lumière toute l'étendue des possibilités inégales d'expansion le long de l'axe vertical en relation avec tous les niveaux.

Il s'ensuit que les pays ou les organisations internationales affichant la croix dite grecque sur leur drapeau mettent avant tout l'accent sur l'aspect humain (La Croix Rouge par exemple) tandis que les pays arborant la croix latine mettent en exergue la volonté spirituelle (le Danemark en constitue un bon exemple).

Page détaillée

Haut