LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Flags trimmed with a crescent

(Summary)

Malaysian flag

The stared crescent

Most of the countries displaying a crescent on their flag associate it to one or several stars. Contrary to a popular opinion, countries displaying these symbols on their flags are not necessarily Muslin. The crescent and the stars have never been Muslin symbols, Islam had no symbols in the beginning. Turcs, on the contrary, made them their symbols a long time before Islam. The crescent and the stars were emblems of the Ottoman Empire and their adoption by most of the Muslim counties occurred only after the crusades. Their growing use gave an increasing symbolic character to them, comparable to that of the cross for Christians. The crescent and the stars became so emblematic of both religions today that they have given birth to the flags of the red cross and red crescent.

The crescent shape naturally refer to the waxing moon (Waxing moon) on one side of the flag and to the waning moon (Waning moon) on the other. Now, the being's evolution looks like the phases of the moon. Plunged into the new moon darkness, he grows with the waxing moon glare. At full moon, he may either leave the moon domain for more glowing skies or return to its obscure condition during the waning moon.

The stars accompanying the crescent have a branch number which varies with the countries, but they all refer to the phases of the moon or the being's condition in this world.

Crescent and stars underline that the being, prisoner of the moon sphere, may at any moment leave it and discover other worlds and, more particularly, the beyond. A message, which is reinforced in Muslin countries by the flag colours clearly referring to the initiatory degrees of the Islamic tradition.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Drapeaux ornés d'un croissant

(Résumé)

Drapeau de la Malaisie

Le croissant étoilé

La plupart des pays arborant le croissant sur leur drapeau l'associent à une ou plusieurs étoiles. Contrairement à une idée reçue, les pays affichant ces symboles sur leurs drapeaux ne sont pas nécessairement de confession musulmane. Le croissant et les étoiles n'ont jamais été des symboles musulmans, l'islam n'avait pas de symboles à l'origine. Les Turcs, au contraire, en avaient fait leurs symboles bien avant l'Islam. Le croissant et les étoiles étaient des emblèmes de l'Empire ottoman et leur adoption par la plupart des pays musulmans ne devint effective qu'après les croisades. Leur utilisation grandissante leur ont conféré un caractère symbolique croissant, comparable à celui de la croix pour les chrétiens. Croix et croissant sont devenus aujourd'hui tellement emblématiques des deux religions qu'ils ont donné naissance aux drapeaux de la croix rouge et du croissant rouge.

La forme du croissant fait naturellement référence à la lune croissante (Lune croissante) sur l'une des faces du drapeau et à la lune décroissante (Lune décroissante) sur l'autre face. Or, l'évolution de l'être ressemble aux phases de la lune. Plongé dans les ténèbres de la nouvelle lune, il grandit avec l'éclat de la lune croissante. À la pleine lune, il peut soit quitter le domaine lunaire pour des cieux plus radieux soit retourner à l'obscurité de sa condition au cours de la lune décroissante.

Les étoiles qui accompagnent le croissant ont un nombre de branches variable selon les pays, mais elles renvoient toutes aux phases de la lune ou à la condition de l'être en ce monde.

Le croissant et les étoiles soulignent que l'être emprisonné dans la sphère lunaire peut, à tout moment, en sortir pour connaître d'autres mondes et, tout particulièrement, l'au-delà. Un message renforcé, pour les pays de confession musulmane, par les couleurs des drapeaux qui font clairement référence aux degrés initiatiques de la tradition islamique.

Page détaillée

Haut