LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The South Korean flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of South Korea

Yin-yang symbol

This symbol depicted in the middle of the South Korean flag represents the “Cosmic Egg” containing the grain from which all the manifestation of the Cosmic world will come out. It primarily represents the fundamental polarity between celestial (red) and terrestrial (blue) aspects, between what the Chinese tradition calls Heaven and Earth, the igneous (red) and humid (blue) principles or, more generally, yang and yin. Yang is associated with light, to clarity, to active principle or Heaven; yin is related to the dark side, to obscurity, to passive principle or Earth.

Bearing all oppositions and complements proper to the manifested world, the yin-yang symbol represents here the union of the two indissociable yang and yin principles, the “Supreme Top” (Taiji), the “First One” or the Primeval Principle at the origin of the whole manifestation.

The fact that usually yin precedes yang within the symbol denomination simply means that the human being is living his terrestrial states (yin) before re-discovering his spiritual or celestial state.

Trigrams

Considered as distinct in terms of a polarity, yang and yin are respectively represented by a solid line (Yang symbol) and a broken line (Yin symbol). The superposition of three of these lines provides a trigram, read bottom up according to three levels (terrestrial, human and celestial). The human being takes up an intermediate position between Heaven and Earth because he has to discover, at the same time, his celestial source (the world within himself) and his place within the terrestrial world (himself in the world).

Combined according to the three levels, the solid and broken lines give birth to eight trigrams (23), four of which are taking place on the South Korea flag.

Yin-yang symbol and trigrams

The link between the “Primeval One” (Taiji), source of yang and yin distinction and its diverse manifestations within the trigrams, may be condensed in the following diagram:

The trigrams may also be designed in circle, an arrangement attributed to Fu hi, in order to enlighten their complement in respect to the yin-yang symbol:

The polar complement of yang and yin characters is effective for each of the three levels of the trigram as shown on the above diagram. For more details on the trigram arrangements and their meanings, consult the trigrams.

As already mentioned, the South Korean flag keeps only the trigrams, which are connected to the two main axes.

The vertical axis associates Heaven characterized by three solid lines (yang) and Earth, composed of three broken lines (yin). They respectively represent the yang and yin fullness. Between these two extremes, stand the other trigrams where yang and yin are combined in different proportions to symbolize the development of the whole manifestation of the “Cosmic Egg”.

The horizontal axis links Fire, igneous or celestial symbol, to Water, humid or terrestrial symbol. Fire, by nature luminous and hot (yang), sparkles around a less bright heart (yin) whereas Water, by nature dark and cold (yin), has the capacity to absorb light and heat (yang). So, Fire is represented by two solid lines and a broken line hemmed in, whereas Water associates two broken lines and a solid line in its middle.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau sud coréen

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de la Corée du Sud

Le symbole yin-yang

Le symbole dépeint au milieu du drapeau sud coréen représente “l'Oeuf cosmique” renfermant le germe d'où sortira toute la manifestation du Monde cosmique. À commencer par la polarité fondamentale entre les aspects céleste (rouge) et terrestre (bleu), entre ce que la tradition chinoise dénomme le Ciel et la Terre, les principes igné et humide et, de manière plus générale, le yang et le yin. Le yang est associé à la lumière, à la clarté, au principe actif ou au Ciel; le yin est relié au côté sombre, à l'obscurité, au principe passif ou à la Terre.

Porteur de toutes les oppositions et complémentarités propres au monde manifesté, le symbole yin-yang représente ici l'union des deux principes indissociables du yang et du yin, le “Faîte suprême” (Taiji), “l'Unité première” ou le Principe primordial à l'origine de toute manifestation.

Le fait que le yin précède habituellement le yang dans la dénomination du symbole signifie simplement que l'être humain vit ses états terrestres (yin) avant de re-découvrir son état spirituel ou céleste (yang).

Les trigrammes

Considérés distinctement comme les termes d'une polarité, le yang et le yin sont représentés respectivement par une ligne pleine (Symbole yang) et une ligne ouverte (Symbole yin). La superposition de trois de ces lignes constitue un trigramme lu de bas en haut selon trois niveaux (terrestre, humain et céleste). L'être humain occupe une position intermédiaire entre le Ciel et la Terre car il lui revient de découvrir à la fois sa source céleste (le monde en lui) et sa place dans le monde extérieur (lui dans le monde).

Combinés selon les trois niveaux, les lignes pleines et ouvertes donnent naissance à huit trigrammes (23) dont quatre seulement sont repris sur le drapeau Sud coréen.

Symbole yin-yang et trigrammes

Le lien entre “l'Unité Primordiale” (Taiji) à la source de la distinction du yang et du yin et ses diverses manifestations au sein des trigrammes peut être condensé dans le diagramme suivant:

Les trigrammes peuvent également être dessinés en cercle, une disposition attribuée à Fo-hi, de manière à mettre en lumière leur complémentarité par rapport au symbole yin-yang:

La complémentarité polaire des caractères yang et yin est effective pour chacun des trois niveaux du trigramme comme le montre le diagramme ci-dessus. Pour davantage de détails sur les dispositions de trigrammes et leurs significations, consulter les trigrammes.

Comme mentionné précédemment, le drapeau coréen ne retient que les trigrammes en rapport avec les deux axes principaux:

L'axe vertical associe le Ciel caractérisé par trois lignes pleines (yang) et la Terre formée de trois lignes ouvertes (yin). Ils représentent respectivement la plénitude du yang et du yin. Entre ces deux extrêmes se situent les autres trigrammes où yang et yin se mélangent dans des proportions diverses de manière à symboliser le développement de toute la manifestation du monde cosmique.

L'axe horizontal relie le Feu, symbole igné ou céleste, à l'Eau, symbole humide ou terrestre. Le Feu, par nature lumineux et chaud (yang), étincelle autour d'un cœur moins brillant (yin) tandis que l'Eau, par nature sombre et froide (yin), a la capacité d'absorber la lumière et la chaleur (yang). En conséquence, le Feu est représenté par deux lignes pleines enserrant une ligne ouverte tandis que l'Eau associe deux lignes ouvertes et une ligne pleine en son milieu.

Haut