LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the People's Republic of China

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of China

The colours of the flag

The Chinese flag consists of a yellow five-branched star trimmed with four similar and smaller ones on a red background.

Red represents the “highest” visible colour of the rainbow spectrum and corresponds to the top of the temporal power, i.e. the Communist Party nowadays and the Emperor or commanders in chief in the old times.

Medium colour between red and blue, between the Communist Party and the bourgeoisie, yellow is representative of the working population. In old China, it was associated with the Emperor that reigned over the “Middle Empire” as the sun in Heavens. It symbolized the “Middle Path”, the communication channel between Earth and Heaven.

The Earth-Heaven polarity

The Tai Chi, the Great Unity (1) at the origin of everything, firstly manifests its terrestrial and celestial double nature:

  • Earth (yin), manifestation of the world of duality par excellence, is associated with the number 2;
  • Heaven (yang), representation of the unity containing its potential dual manifestation, is related to the number 3 (1+2).

It results that 2 (and even numbers) are yin and 3 (and following odd numbers) are yang. Let us note that the Unity, the One (1) is beyond any distinction, notably between even and odd.

Heaven and Earth representationIt follows that:

  • The two poles of any duality can be represented by the ends of a segment. This is why Earth is usually figured by a square, the sides of which are oriented towards the compass points;
  • Similarly, unity and its potential dual manifestation can be depicted by an angle. While revolving around its vertex, this angle sweeps a circle symbolizing Heaven.

Let us move now from the nature of Earth and Heaven to their measure:

  • The rectilinear aspect of Earth leads us to link it with the number 5 (yang) and the decimal basis (10) to measure the distances;
  • The circular aspect of Heaven brings us to associate it with the number 6 (yin) and the duodecimal basis (12) to measure the angles.

Vertical yin-yang symbolThis passage from nature to measure is accompanied by a passage from yin to yang and vice versa, perfectly illustrated by the famous yin-yang symbol. The black (yin) and white (yang) halves respectively represent Earth and Heaven. When both parts are drawn vertically, the white half is always above the black one just as Heaven is above Earth. For more details, see the Chinese tradition.

The fact that white and black halves respectively contain black and white spots simply reflects the distinction between nature and measure. It shows that yang is always associated with yin and conversely. The interpenetration of yin and yang principles brings the open and deeply dynamic character of the Chinese doctrine to the fore 1.

At last, the yin-yang denomination of the symbol gives the precedence to yin over yang in order to underline that the Chinese tradition stresses the ascending cosmological vision from Earth towards Heaven, from darkness towards light 2.

The five branched stars

The five elements of the Chinese traditionAccording to what has been said, the 5 (1+4) stars on the flag are necessarily related to the terrestrial world, domain of the physical manifestation. Now, in various traditions, the material manifestation is based on five elements. In the Chinese tradition, this fifth element is earth occupying the centre and surrounded by the four others located at the compass points: wood (east) and fire (south) are turned towards light and yang; metal (west) and water (north) are turned towards darkness and yin. They are usually represented on a compass card reflecting the ascending path from obscurity towards clarity, from north towards south.

The generation-destruction processThis raises the following question. Why are the elements associated with five-branched stars ? Indeed, the elements are not matter components as their name could suggest it, but manifestation states of the material world and physical being. It follows, that they can succeed one another in the image of the ordinary matter states. They are in fact part of a dynamic process where the interplay of yin and yang is reflected within the element succession (states) either through generation (circle) or destruction (star). For more details about this, see the flag of Hong Kong. The presence of the five-branched star on the flag seems to put forward the destruction process. However, the layout of the stars, particularly of the largest one associated with Earth, indicates that the generation process is also taken into account.

Nevertheless, there remains a point to clarify. What justifies the occupation of the centre by the element earth rather than any other ? The fundamental polarity of the Great Unity generates Heaven and Earth. The latter symbolizes the manifestation of the physical world as a whole and the earth principle can only take over among the five elements. As a result of its central position, the element earth represents the balancing point between yin and yang and, consequently, between the other elements. This aspect does nothing but corroborate the so often neglected deeply dynamic character of the Chinese traditional doctrine.

Finally, the flag of the People's Republic of China does not only take the physical and material world into consideration, but also stresses its unity. Indeed, achieving the unity of the country has always been the goal of the present and former political power.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”, Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001.
  • Particularly, chapter 8 devoted to “Celestial and terrestrial numbers”.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “The Chinese Thought”, Albin Michel Publisher, 1988.
  • In particular, chapter 3 on “Numbers”.

1 back Following in Leibniz's footsteps, a number of Westerners have only seen in the yin-yang symbol (and the related trigrams and hexagrams) a representation of the binary system. Now, unlike the yin and yang principles of the Chinese tradition, the 1 and 0 modes of a binary couple are mutually exclusive. Moreover, the number 1 is associated with Unity, the undifferentiated Being and the number 0 with the non-Being at the source of everything, the Being included.

2 back USA-China yin-yang symbol“The Economist” published in its 2009 October 20th magazine a report on China and the United States entitled “The odd couple”. It opened onto the opposite drawing. Were the authors really conscious of spreading a representation of the ascending path from the “terrestrial” United States towards the “celestial” China ? Probably not ! Nevertheless, this image reflects well the reality. China is still the possessor of an ancient tradition that not only allows a more complete perception of the being, but of the world as well. It is up to the country citizens to become fully aware of it.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la République Populaire de Chine

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de la Chine

Les couleurs du drapeau

Le drapeau chinois consiste en une étoile jaune à cinq branches assortie de quatre autres étoiles similaires et plus petites sur un fond rouge.

Le rouge représente la couleur visible la plus “élevée” du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel et correspond au sommet du pouvoir temporel, c'est-à-dire le Parti Communiste de nos jours et l'Empereur ou les commandants en chef dans les temps anciens.

Couleur médiane entre le rouge et le bleu, entre le Parti Communiste et la bourgeoisie, le jaune est représentatif de la population laborieuse. Dans la Chine ancienne, il était associé à l'Empereur qui régnait sur “l'Empire du Milieu” comme le soleil dans les Cieux. Il symbolisait la “Voie du Milieu”, le canal de communication entre la Terre et le Ciel.

La polarité Terre-Ciel

Le Tai Chi, la Grande Unité (1) à l'origine de tout, manifeste en premier lieu sa double nature terrestre et céleste:

  • La Terre (yin), manifestation du monde de la dualité par excellence, est associée au nombre 2;
  • Le Ciel (yang), représentation de l'unité contenant sa manifestation duale potentielle, est relié au nombre 3 (1+2).

Il en résulte que 2 (et les nombres pairs) sont yin et 3 (et les nombres impairs suivants) sont yang. Notons que l'Unité, l'Un (1) est au-delà de toute distinction, notamment entre pair et impair.

Le ciel et Terre représentationIl s'ensuit que:

  • Les deux pôles de toute dualité peuvent être représentés par les extrémités d'un segment. C'est pourquoi la Terre est habituellement figurée par un carré dont les cotés sont orientés vers les points cardinaux;
  • De même, l'unité et sa manifestation duale potentielle peuvent être représentées par un angle. En tournant autour de son sommet, cet angle balaie un cercle symbolisant le Ciel.

Passons maintenant de la nature de la Terre et du Ciel à leur mesure:

  • L'aspect rectiligne de la Terre nous conduit à lui associer le nombre 5 (yang) et la base décimale (10) pour la mesure des distances;
  • L'aspect circulaire du Ciel nous amène à lui adjoindre le nombre 6 (yin) et la base duodécimale (12) pour la mesure des angles.

Le symbole yin-yang verticalCe passage de la nature à la mesure est accompagné d'un passage du yin au yang et inversement, parfaitement illustré par le fameux symbole yin-yang. Les moitiés noire (yin) et blanche (yang) représentent respectivement la Terre et le Ciel. Quand les deux parties sont dessinées verticalement, la moitié blanche est toujours au-dessus de la noire tout comme Ciel est au-dessus de la Terre. Pour davantage de détails, voir la tradition chinoise.

Le fait que les moitiés blanche et noire contiennent respectivement des taches noire et blanche reflète simplement la distinction entre nature et mesure. Il montre que le yang est toujours associé au yin et réciproquement. L'interpénétration des principes yin et yang met en évidence le caractère ouvert et profondément dynamique de la doctrine chinoise 1.

Enfin, la dénomination yin-yang du symbole donne la préséance au yin par rapport au yang afin de souligner que la tradition chinoise met l'accent sur la vision cosmologique ascendante de la Terre vers le Ciel, de l'obscurité vers la lumière 2.

L'étoile à cinq branches

Les cinq éléments de la tradition chinoiseD'après ce qui précède, les 5 (1+4) étoiles sur le drapeau sont nécessairement reliées au monde terrestre, domaine de la manifestation physique. Maintenant, dans les diverses traditions, la manifestation matérielle s'appuie sur cinq éléments. Dans la tradition chinoise, ce cinquième élément est la terre occupant le centre et entourée des quatre autres situés aux points cardinaux: le bois (est) et le feu (sud) sont tournés vers la lumière et yang; le métal (ouest) et l'eau (nord) sont tournés vers l'obscurité et yin. Ils sont habituellement représentés sur une rose des vents reflétant le chemin ascendant de l'obscurité vers la clarté, du nord vers le sud.

Le processus de génération-destructionCela soulève la question suivante. Pourquoi les éléments sont-ils associés à des étoiles à cinq branches ? En fait, les éléments ne sont pas des composants de la matière comme leur nom pourrait le suggérer, mais des états de la manifestation du monde matériel et de l'être physique. Il s'ensuit qu'ils peuvent se succéder l'un l'autre à l'image des états de la matière ordinaire. Ils font partie en réalité d'un processus dynamique où le jeu du yin et du yang se reflète dans la succession des éléments (états) par génération (cercle) ou destruction (étoile). Pour plus de détails à ce propos, voir le drapeau de Hong-Kong. La présence de l'étoile à cinq branches sur le drapeau semble mettre en avant le processus de destruction. Cependant, la disposition des étoiles, notamment de la plus grande associée à la Terre, indique que le processus de génération est également pris en compte.

Il reste néanmoins un point à clarifier. Qu'est-ce qui justifie l'occupation du centre par l'élément terre plutôt qu'un autre ? La polarité fondamentale de la Grande Unité génère le Ciel et la Terre. Cette dernière symbolise le principe de la manifestation du monde physique dans son ensemble et le principe terre ne peut que prendre le relais parmi les cinq éléments. Du fait de sa position centrale, l'élément terre représente le point d'équilibre entre le yin et le yang et, en conséquence, entre les autres éléments. Cet aspect ne fait que corroborer le caractère profondément dynamique et si souvent négligé de la doctrine traditionnelle chinoise.

En fin de compte, le drapeau de la République Populaire de Chine ne prend pas seulement en considération le monde physique et matériel, mais met aussi l'accent sur son unité. Réaliser l'unité du pays a toujours été, en effet, l'objectif du pouvoir politique actuel et ancien.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard, 1957.
  • Notamment, le chapitre VIII dévolu aux “Nombres célestes et terrestres”.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “La pensée chinoise”. Éditions Albin Michel, 1988.
  • En particulier, le chapitre 3 sur “Les nombres”.

1 retour Suivant les traces de Leibniz, nombre d'occidentaux n'ont vu dans le symbole yin-yang (et les apparentés trigrammes et hexagrammes) qu'une représentation du système binaire. Or, contrairement aux principes yin et yang de la tradition chinoise, les modalités 1 et 0 d'un couple binaire s'excluent mutuellement. De plus, le nombre 1 est associé à l'Unité, à l'Être indifférencié et le nombre 0 au non-Être à la source de tout, y compris de l'Être.

2 retour Symbole yin-yang USA-ChineLe magasine The Economist a publié dans son édition du 20 octobre 2009 un article sur la Chine et les États-Unis intitulé “Un couple singulier”. Il s'ouvrait sur le dessin ci-contre. Ses auteurs étaient-ils bien conscients de diffuser une représentation de la voie ascendante des États-Unis “terrestres” vers la Chine “céleste” ? Probablement pas ! Pourtant, cette image reflète bien la réalité. La Chine est toujours dépositaire d'une tradition ancienne qui non seulement autorise une perception plus complète de l'être, mais du monde également. Il n'appartient qu'aux ressortissants de ce pays d'en prendre pleinement conscience.

Haut