LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the People's Republic of China

(Summary)

Flag of China

The five stars

Only the flag of the People's Republic of China is accepted as an authority. Nevertheless, two Special Administrative Regions, Hong Kong and Macau, are allowed to use their own flag in strictly regulated conditions.

As the People's Republic of China does not recognize the Republic of China (Taiwan), it does not recognize le Taiwanese flag either. During the meetings where both countries have to come close, such as the Olympic Games, Taiwan unfurls another flag than the national one.

The red flag displaying five yellow five-branched stars in the canton was officially adopted in 1949, on the day the republic was founded. Let us notice that the four little stars are in a semicircle and oriented towards the biggest one, as to underline their relationship around a single central point.

Red and yellow are the traditional colours of the Imperial China. However, according to official sources, red symbolizes the blood of the heroes who died during the Chinese revolution. Yellow is associated with the history and culture of the Chinese people. Nevertheless, it would seem that the colours of the flag have been inspired by the flag of the former Soviet Union.

Still according to official sources, the large star represents the common programme of the Chinese Communist Party while the four smaller ones appear as the social classes gathered under its leadership: workers, peasants, petty bourgeois and capitalists in favour of the Party. Other classifications were suggested that all depict the people's unity under the authority of the Party.

In fact, it is easy to multiply social interpretations, but China is a too old civilization not to evoke other symbols dating back to the dawn of time. The five-branched star, in particular, wonderfully illustrates the process of manifestation of the physical aspects in relation with yin and yang principles, which are so deeply rooted in the Chinese tradition.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la République Populaire de Chine

(Résumé)

Drapeau de la Chine

Les cinq étoiles

Seul le drapeau de fait autorité; Toutefois, deux régions administratives, Hong-Kong et Macao, sont autorisées à utiliser leur propre drapeau dans des conditions strictement réglementées.

La République Populaire de Chine ne reconnaissant pas la République de Chine (Taïwan), elle ne reconnaît pas non plus le drapeau taïwanais. Au cours des rencontres où ces deux nations doivent se côtoyer, telles que les Jeux Olympiques, Taïwan déploie un autre drapeau que le drapeau national.

Le drapeau rouge affichant cinq étoiles jaunes à cinq branches dans le canton a été officiellement adopté en 1949, le jour de la fondation de la république. Remarquons que quatre petites étoiles forment un arc de cercle et sont orientées vers une plus grande comme pour souligner leur relation autour d'un même point central.

Le rouge et le jaune sont les couleurs traditionnelles de la Chine impériale. Selon les sources officielles cependant, le rouge symbolise le sang des héros morts pendant la révolution chinoise. Le jaune est associé à l'histoire et à la culture du peuple chinois. Il semblerait néanmoins que les couleurs du drapeau aient été inspirées par le drapeau de l'ancienne Union Soviétique.

Toujours selon les sources officielles, la grande étoile représente le programme commun du Parti Communiste chinois tandis que les quatre plus petites font référence aux classes sociales rassemblées sous son égide: les travailleurs, les paysans, les petits bourgeois et les capitalistes favorables au Parti. D'autres classifications ont été suggérées qui toutes dépeignent l'unité du peuple sous l'autorité du Parti.

En fait, il est aisé de multiplier des interprétations sociales, mais la Chine est une civilisation trop ancienne pour ne pas évoquer d'autres symboles remontant à la nuit des temps. L'étoile à cinq branches, en particulier, illustre à merveille le processus de manifestation des aspects physiques en relation avec les principes du yin et du yang si profondément enracinés dans la tradition chinoise.

Page détaillée

Haut