LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Canadian flag

(Detailed page)

Summary

Canadian flag

The colours of the flag

It is not by chance that the colours of the flags of several countries or international organizations are red and white (Austria, Bahrain, Canada, Denmark, Greenland, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malta, Monaco, Peru, Poland, Singapore, Switzerland, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Red Cross and Red Crescent).

White and red are the most common colours in any tradition. In fact, white contains the entire visible light spectrum covering all rainbow colours where red is the “upper arch”. Therefore, white symbolizes the Unity, the Principle at the source of the manifestation of colours in particular and everything in general. It depicts also the representatives of the Principle on Earth, the holders of the spiritual authority: white is the colour of druids of the Celtic tradition and Brahmins of Hindu tradition. White symbolizes the spiritual or sacerdotal authority possessing the Knowledge of the principles, which has authority over the temporal or royal power in charge of their application and associated with red.

In the denomination of the flag colours, red usually comes first because the flag emphasizes the cosmologic point of view or ascending way, from the (colourful) manifestation to its (white) Principle, rather than the metaphysical point of view or descending way, from the (white) Principle to its (colourful) manifestation.

The maple leaf

The maple leaf transforms the solar energy into crude sap, which is collected and manufactured as maple syrup. According to the Chinese tradition, this transformation is the result of an association of celestial and terrestrial influences, of Heaven and Earth.

The distinction between Heaven and Earth reflects the fundamental polarization of the Unity, of the Principle at the source of the manifestation of everything. The association of the Unity (1) with its polarization (2) depicts the whole game between the descent towards the manifestation of the Principle (1+2=3) and the ascent from the manifested to the Unity (3=2+1).

The maple leaf on the Canadian flagThe maple leaf perfectly illustrates the top-down and bottom-up movements between the Unity and its manifestation. They are depicted by the three palm leaves where the central palm depicts the Unity and the two others its polarization into two complementary poles. Moreover, they are also portrayed within each palm through its three points. Indeed, the central palm, figuring Unity, potentially contains its polarization; the two lateral palms, representing complementary facets of the Unity, have no reality outside It.

Three and eleven

As mentioned above, the fundamental polarization of the Unity manifests itself through two complementary poles, Heaven and Earth.

Heaven is usually represented by a circle as its influence is equally spreading from the centre in all directions whereas Earth is depicted by a square in connection with the four cardinal points.

The figures associated with Heaven and EarthNow, the circle measurement is based on number 12 and its multiples and the square measurement on the multiples of 10. It follows that numbers 12 and 10 are respectively associated with Heaven and Earth.

Between these two numbers 10 and 12 and their multiples fits the middle term 11 and its multiples. Number 11 symbolizes the union of Heaven and Earth, of the spiritual and temporal worlds. Indeed, the first multiple of 11, i.e. 22, represents the sum of 12 and 10.

Consequently, if the number 3 symbolizes the Unity (1) and its polarization (2) on the descending way from Heaven to Earth, the number 11 characterizes the union of Heaven (6) and Earth (5) 1 on the ascending way towards Unity. The numbers 3 and 11 are respectively pictured by the maple leaf palms and points.

The Canadian flag clearly portrays the interdependence between both descending and ascending ways. The descent generates the citizen's diversity from the Unity; the ascent brings the citizens back towards the union of Heaven and Earth, towards Unity.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Mostly, chapter 8 on “celestial and terrestrial numbers”.

1 back In the Chinese tradition, 6 and 5 are respectively representing Heaven and Earth measurement basis.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau canadien

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau canadien

Les couleurs du drapeau

Ce n'est pas par hasard si les couleurs des drapeaux de plusieurs pays ou d'organisations internationales sont le rouge et le blanc (Autriche, Bahreïn, Canada, Danemark, Groenland, Hong Kong, Indonésie, Japon, Malte, Monaco, Pérou, Pologne, Singapour, Suisse, Tonga, Tunisie, Turquie, Croix Rouge et Croissant Rouge).

Le blanc et le rouge sont les couleurs les plus communes de toute tradition. De fait, le blanc contient la totalité du spectre de la lumière visible couvrant toutes les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel où le rouge constitue la partie “supérieure” de l'arc. En conséquence, le blanc symbolise l'Unité, le Principe à la source de la manifestation de couleurs en particulier et de toute chose en général. Il est également associé aux représentants du Principe sur Terre qui détiennent l'autorité spirituelle: le blanc est la couleur des druides de la tradition celtique et des brâhmanes de la tradition hindoue. Le blanc symbolise le pouvoir spirituel ou sacerdotal détenteur de la Connaissance des principes; il a autorité sur le pouvoir temporel ou royal en charge de leur application et associé au rouge.

Dans la dénomination des couleurs du drapeau, le rouge vient habituellement en premier car le drapeau met l'accent sur le point de vue cosmologique ou la voie ascendante, de la manifestation (colorée) vers son Principe (blanc), plutôt que sur le point de vue métaphysique ou la voie descendante, du Principe (blanc) vers sa manifestation (colorée).

La feuille d'érable

La feuille d'érable convertit l'énergie solaire en sève brute qui est recueillie et transformée en sirop d'érable. Selon la tradition chinoise, cette transformation résulte de l'association des influences céleste et terrestre, du Ciel et de la Terre.

La distinction entre le Ciel et la Terre reflète la polarisation fondamentale de l'Unité, du Principe à la source de la manifestation de toute chose. L'association de l'Unité (1) et de sa polarisation (2) dépeint le jeu constant entre la descente vers la manifestation du Principe (1+2=3) et l'ascension du manifesté vers l'Unité (3=2+1).

La feuille d'érable sur le drapeau canadienLa feuille d'érable illustre parfaitement les mouvements de haut en bas et de bas en haut entre l'Unité et sa manifestation. Ils sont dépeints par les trois palmes de la feuille où la palme centrale figure l'Unité et les deux autres sa polarisation en deux pôles complémentaires. Bien plus, ils sont aussi incarnés au sein de chaque palme par les trois pointes. En effet, la palme centrale figure l'Unité contenant potentiellement sa polarisation; les deux palmes latérales représentent des facettes complémentaires de l'Unité qui n'ont pas de réalité en dehors d'Elle.

Trois et onze

Comme mentionné plus haut, la polarisation fondamentale de l'Unité se manifeste par deux pôles complémentaires, le Ciel et la Terre.

Le Ciel est habituellement représenté par un cercle car son influence s'exerce également dans toutes les directions à partir du centre tandis que la Terre est figurée par un carré en relation avec les quatre points cardinaux.

Les figures associées au Ciel et à la TerreOr, la mesure du cercle se fonde sur le nombre 12 et ses multiples et celle du carré sur les multiples de 10. Il s'ensuit que les nombres 12 et 10 sont associés respectivement au Ciel et à la Terre.

Entre ces deux nombres 10 et 12 et leurs multiples s'intercale le moyen terme 11 et ses multiples. Le nombre 11 symbolise l'union du Ciel et de la Terre, des mondes spirituel et temporel. En effet, le premier multiple de 11, i.e. 22, représente la somme de 12 et de 10.

Ainsi, si le nombre 3 symbolise l'Unité (1) et sa polarisation (2) sur la voie descendante du Ciel vers la Terre, le nombre 11 caractérise l'union du Ciel (6) et de la Terre (5) 1 sur la voie ascendante vers l'Unité. Les nombres 3 et 11 sont dépeints respectivement par les palmes et les pointes de la feuille d'érable.

Le drapeau canadien décrit clairement l'interdépendance entre les deux voies descendante et ascendante. La descente génère la diversité des citoyens à partir de l'Unité; l'ascension ramène les citoyens vers l'union du Ciel et de la Terre, vers l'Unité.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre VIII sur “les nombres célestes et terrestres”.

1 retour Dans la tradition chinoise, 6 et 5 constituent les bases de mesure respectives du Ciel et de la Terre.

Haut