LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Canadian flag

(Summary)

Canadian flag

The maple leaf

Canadian stamp with maple leavesThe red and white flag of Canada was adopted in 1965 after efforts to find an emblem suiting everyone. It is composed of a white central-square flanked by two red bands. In the white square is a large red maple leaf, a Canadian emblem from the 18th century. More precisely, it is about the sugar maple (“acer saccharum”).

The flag grew out of its coat of arms and the coat of arms grew out of the national symbol, the maple leaf.

The maple leaf transforms the accumulated starch into saccharose through photosynthesis. The starch is dissolved into crude sap, which is collected in spring and manufactured as maple syrup. This terrestrial transformation of the solar energy is the result of an association of celestial and terrestrial influences. The whole symbolism of the maple leaf derives from the manifestation of the Primeval Unity and its fundamental polarization between Heaven and Earth.

The Canadian flag emphasis two movements between the Primeval Unity and its manifestation: the descending way from Unity to the manifestation of all beings as well as the ascending way from the manifested towards Unity. As mentioned by the Senate's President, Maurice Bourget, in 1965: “The flag is the symbol of our country unity as it represents, without a shadow of a doubt, the equality of the Canadian citizens, irrespective of race, language, belief or opinion”.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau canadien

(Résumé)

Drapeau canadien

La feuille d'érable

Timbre canadien illustré de feuilles d'érableLe drapeau rouge et blanc du Canada fut adopté en 1965 après des efforts pour trouver un emblème satisfaisant pour chacun. Il est composé d'un carré blanc central bordé d'une bande rouge de chaque côté. Dans le carré blanc se trouve une large feuille d'érable rouge, un emblème canadien du XVIIIe siècle. Il s'agit plus précisément de l'érable à sucre (“acer saccharum”).

Le drapeau est né du blason et le blason d'un symbole national, la feuille d'érable.

La feuille d'érable transforme l'amidon accumulé en saccharose par le biais de la photosynthèse. L'amidon est dissous dans la sève brute qui est recueillie au printemps et transformée en sirop d'érable. Cette transformation terrestre de l'énergie solaire est le résultat d'une association des influences céleste et terrestre. Tout le symbolisme de la feuille d'érable dérive de la manifestation de l'Unité Primordiale et de sa polarisation fondamentale entre Ciel et Terre.

Le drapeau canadien met l'accent sur deux mouvements entre l'Unité Primordiale et sa manifestation: la voie descendante de l'Unité à la manifestation de tous les êtres ainsi que la voie ascendante du manifesté vers l'Unité. Comme l'a déclaré le Président du Sénat, Maurice Bourget, in 1965: “Le drapeau est le symbole de l'unité de notre pays, puisqu'il représente, sans l'ombre d'un doute, l'égalité des citoyens du Canada, sans distinction de race, de langue, de croyance ou d'opinion”.

Page détaillée

Haut