LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Brazil

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Brazil

The Cosmos and the three worlds

The central design of the flag represents the starry vault and evokes the Cosmos, which traditionally refers to three domains:

  • The body substantial by nature;
  • The soul or intermediary world endowed with a double nature, essential in comparison with the substantial body and substantial in comparison with the essential Spirit;
  • The Spirit essential by nature.

This distinction applies at the level of the “macrocosm” as well as the “microcosm” according to an analogical correspondence depicting the harmony of the being with the Cosmos.

Intermediary world between Heaven and Earth1. At the macrocosm or cosmic level, it is usual to distinguish between:

  • Earth (1) represented by a square resting on one of its sides;
  • Heaven (3) usually described by a circle, symbol of the centre that equally radiates in all directions;
  • Regarding the intermediary world (2), it is both the preceding ones because of its double character, essential in comparison with Earth and substantial in comparison with Heaven. It is consequently portrayed by a double figure composed of an inner circle and an outer square. The square is resting on one of its angles to suggest the proper movement of the soul world, the “Anima Mundi” of the hermetic tradition 1.

2. At the microcosm or being level, the three domains are linked to three births:

  • The physical or bodily birth of the ordinary being;
  • The second birth of the psyche or soul linked to the individual possibilities of the true human being;
  • The third birth of the spirit that gives access to the supra-individual or supra-human possibilities of the total being 2.

It follows that the design of the Brazilian flag describes the intermediary or soul world linked to the realization of the human being. The fact that the quadrangular figure is a lozenge rather than a square does in no way modify the meaning of the flag.

The intermediary or soul world

This world contains within its circular form the earthly perception of the celestial sphere, of the Cosmos. Surrounded by a belt depicting the zodiac, the sphere represents the constellations surrounding the world we live in. The stripe contains a meaningful motto, which reads “Order and Progress”:

  • Order represents the etymology and first function of the Cosmos, that is to say maintaining each of its composed elements at the right place. As an organization, union and cohesive force, the Cosmos rules the three worlds.
  • Progress evokes, within the intermediary or soul world, the realization of the human possibilities of the ordinary being, the development of the individual and even national soul in harmony with the Cosmos 3.

The colours of the flag

Dark blue represents the colour of the terrestrial night depth preceding daylight clarity, the opening on the luminous world where the being really becomes conscious of himself. It symbolizes the ordinary being before moving towards the true human states.

Yellow, located halfway through the rainbow spectrum, symbolizes the communication path between Heaven and Earth, the “Middle Path”. Associated with the soul or intermediary world, yellow depicts the transformation of the ordinary being into a full human being.

Green, the combination of blue and yellow, characterizes the spiritual world heading up the bodily and soul worlds. It symbolizes the world beyond the intermediary world of the human states and foresees the being's progression towards the superior or supra-human states.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Mostly, chapters 3 and 11 respectively entitled “Heaven and Earth” and “Spiritus, Anima, Corpus”.

1 back Note that the preceding figure results from the union of the representations of Heaven and Earth of the Chinese tradition (see Whole & parts) and “Anima Mundi” of the medieval hermetic tradition. In addition, the spiritual world includes the intermediary or soul world and bodily world just as the total being includes the human and ordinary being.

2 back The “macrocosm” and “microcosm” analogy shows that the three mentioned worlds correspond to existential states of the “macrocosm” comparable to the being states of the “microcosm” and not to material located worlds.

3 back The idea of progress is mostly ambiguous when it concerns the material world. Did the marquis de Condorcet (1743-1794) not used to talk about “indefinite progress” ? An adjective with a double meaning: unlimited et unidentified.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Brésil

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau du Brésil

Le Cosmos et les trois mondes

Le motif central du drapeau représente la voûte étoilée et évoque le Cosmos qui, traditionnellement, fait référence à trois domaines:

  • Le corps de nature substantielle;
  • L'âme ou le monde intermédiaire doté d'une double nature, essentielle par rapport au corps substantiel et substantielle par rapport à l'Esprit essentiel;
  • L'Esprit de nature essentielle.

Cette distinction s'applique aussi bien au niveau du “macrocosme” que du “microcosme” selon une correspondance analogique qui traduit l'harmonie de l'être avec le Cosmos.

Monde intermédiaire entre Ciel et Terre1. Au niveau du macrocosme ou cosmique, il est d'usage de distinguer entre:

  • La Terre (1) représentée par un carré reposant sur l'un de ses côtés;
  • Le Ciel (3) habituellement décrit par un cercle, symbole du centre qui rayonne également dans toutes les directions;
  • Quant au monde intermédiaire (2), il tient des deux précédents en raison de son double caractère essentiel par rapport à la Terre et substantiel par rapport au Ciel. Il est par conséquent figuré par une double figure constituée d'un cercle intérieur et d'un carré extérieur. Le carré est posé sur l'un de ses angles pour suggérer le mouvement propre au monde de l'âme, à “l'Anima Mundi” de la tradition hermétique 1.

2. Au niveau du microcosme ou de l'être, les trois domaines sont reliés à trois naissances:

  • La naissance physique ou corporelle de l'être ordinaire;
  • La seconde naissance de la psyché ou de l'âme liée aux possibilités individuelles de l'être humain véritable;
  • La troisième naissance de l'esprit qui donne accès aux possibilités supra-individuelles ou supra-humaines de l'être total 2.

Il s'ensuit que le motif du drapeau brésilien décrit le monde intermédiaire ou de l'âme associé à la réalisation de l'être humain. Le fait que la forme quadrangulaire soit un losange plutôt qu'un carré ne modifie en rien la signification du drapeau.

Le monde intermédiaire ou de l'âme

Ce monde renferme dans sa forme circulaire la perception terrestre de la sphère céleste, du Cosmos. Entourée d'une ceinture figurant le zodiaque, la sphère représente les constellations qui environnent le monde où nous vivons. La bande contient la devise pleine de sens “Ordre et Progrès”:

  • L'Ordre représente l'étymologie et la fonction première du Cosmos, à savoir maintenir les éléments qui le compose à leur place. En tant que force d'organisation, d'union et de cohésion, le Cosmos maintient les trois mondes sous ses lois.
  • Le Progrès évoque, au sein du monde intermédiaire ou de l'âme, la réalisation des possibilités humaines de l'être ordinaire, le développement de l'âme individuelle, voire nationale, en harmonie avec le Cosmos 3.

Les couleurs du drapeau

Le bleu foncé représente la couleur de la profondeur de la nuit terrestre qui précède la clarté du jour, l'ouverture sur le monde lumineux où l'homme prend véritablement conscience de lui-même. Il symbolise l'être ordinaire avant de cheminer vers les états véritablement humains.

Le jaune, situé à mi-chemin dans le spectre de l'arc-en-ciel, symbolise la voie de communication entre le Ciel et la Terre, la “Voie du Milieu”. Associé au monde intermédiaire ou de l'âme, le jaune dépeint la transformation de l'être ordinaire en être humain à part entière.

Le vert, mélange de bleu et de jaune, caractérise le monde spirituel chapeautant les mondes corporel et de l'âme. Il symbolise le monde au-delà du monde intermédiaire des états humains et préfigure la progression de l'être vers les états supérieurs ou supra-humains.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard 1957;
  • Particulièrement, les chapitres III et XI intitulés respectivement “Ciel et Terre” et “Spiritus, Anima, Corpus”.

1 retour Notons que la figure précédente résulte de l'union des représentations du Ciel et de la Terre de la tradition chinoise (voir Tout & parties) et de “l'Anima Mundi” de la tradition hermétique du moyen âge. En outre, le monde spirituel englobe le monde intermédiaire ou de l'âme et le monde corporel tout comme l'être total englobe l'être humain et l'être ordinaire.

2 retour L'analogie du “macrocosme” et du “microcosme” nous montre que les trois mondes mentionnés correspondent à des états d'existence du “macrocosme” comparables aux états d'être du “microcosme” et non à des mondes matériels localisés.

3 retour L'idée de progrès est des plus équivoques quand elle concerne le monde matériel. Le marquis de Condorcet (1743-1794) ne parlait-il pas de “progrès indéfini” ? Un adjectif à double sens: illimité et indéterminé.

Haut