LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Brazil

(Summary)

Flag of Brazil

Order and Progress

The Brazilian flag was definitively adopted in 1889. The colours of the flag have been used since 1822 when the Crown Prince, Pedro of Portugal, declared Brazil independent after having fled Europe under Napoleon's rule. Its drawing was entrusted to a group of Brazilian positivists, disciples of the French philosopher Auguste Comte (1798-1857).

The green and yellow fields of the flag are said respectively to depict Brazil's rain forest and mineral resources, especially gold. When the monarchy was overthrown in 1889, the central emblem replaced the former royal arms. The celestial sphere portrays the stellar constellations over Rio de Janeiro. The stars are said to represent the Brazilian states and Federal District. The transversal motto ORDEM e PROGRESSO (Order and Progress) condenses the positivist character of Auguste Comte's doctrine. Besides, the pediment of the temple constructed in Rio de Janeiro in 1891, on the model of the Parisian Pantheon and devoted to the “religion of humanity”, carries the following words: “O AMOR POR PRINCIPIO E A ORDEM POR BASES, O PROGRESSO POR FINE” (Love as a principle and Order as the basis, Progress as the goal).

Nevertheless, questions are pending. What kind of order and progress are concerned ? Is it a matter of scientific, technical, economical or social progress ? Or a clever balance of all that ? And how should it be expressed ? Of course, these questions deserve answers but both words of the motto on the flag, written in capital letters, might also let us foresee new horizons which had not been considered by their authors. After all, the field of principle, order and progress is huge.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Brésil

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Brésil

Ordre et Progrès

Le drapeau du Brésil fut définitivement adopté en 1889. Les couleurs du drapeau datent de 1822, année où le prince héritier, Pedro du Portugal, déclara l'indépendance du Brésil après avoir fuit l'Europe sous la férule de Napoléon. Son dessin fut confié à un groupe de positivistes brésiliens, disciples du philosophe français Auguste Comte (1798-1857).

Les champs vert et jaune du drapeau sont supposés décrire respectivement la forêt tropicale et les ressources minérales, notamment l'or, du Brésil. À la chute de la monarchie en 1889, le motif central du drapeau a remplacé les armes royales précédentes. La sphère céleste figure les constellations stellaires dans le ciel de Rio de Janeiro. Les étoiles sont sensées représenter les États brésiliens et le District fédéral. La devise transversale ORDEM e PROGRESSO (Ordre et Progrès) condense le caractère positiviste de la doctrine d'Auguste Comte. D'ailleurs, le fronton du temple construit à Rio de Janeiro en 1891, sur le modèle du Panthéon parisien et consacré à la “religion de l'humanité”, affiche les mots suivants: O AMOR POR PRINCIPIO E A ORDEM POR BASE, O PROGRESSO POR FIN (L'Amour pour principe et l'Ordre pour base, le Progrès pour but).

Toutefois, des questions demeurent. De quel ordre et de quel(s) progrès s'agit-il ? De progrès scientifique, technique, économique ou social ? Ou un savant dosage de tout cela ? Et comment devrait-il être formulé ? Ces questions méritent des réponses certes, mais les deux mots de la devise du drapeau, écrits en lettres capitales, pourraient aussi laisser entrevoir d'autres horizons que n'avaient pas considérés leurs auteurs. Après tout, le champ du principe, de l'ordre et du progrès est vaste.

Page détaillée

Haut