LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Bhutan

(Summary)

Flag of Bhutan

The land of the dragon

The design of the present flag was adopted in the 1960s when Bhutan became a member of the United Nations. In the national language, Bhutan's denomination is “Druk Yul”, which means “Land of the Dragon”. Moreover, “Druk” also means thunder and its noise in the Himalayas evokes the roaring of dragons announcing rain, real blessing of the sky. The dragon represents the Buddhist state as well as the king sharing the power with a national government.

The dragon is white whereas the background is divided diagonally halved with the upper hoist saffron (orangey-yellow) and the lower fly flame coloured (orangey-red). As a mix of yellow and red, orange plays a balancing role between both colours representing the higher and lower worlds.

That is also the role of the dragon undulating like a serpent alongside the diagonal separating both worlds. With its head in the upper world and its four legs each holding a pearl in the lower one, the dragon belongs to both worlds. Placed over the diagonal, it is also beyond both worlds as the Principle 1, the Unity source of the manifested elements symbolized by the four pearls. As such, it is the guardian of the most precious treasure, the balance between Unity and its diverse manifested aspects. It is the guarantor of the harmony between the higher and lower worlds.

1 back The manifestation could not exist outside the Principle at its source. As the Whole, the Principle contains everything, including its manifestation.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du Bhoutan

(Résumé)

Drapeau du Bhoutan

La terre du dragon

Le dessin du drapeau actuel a été adopté dans les années 1960 lorsque le Bhutan est devenu membre des Nations Unies. Dans la langue nationale, Bhoutan se dit “Druk Yul” et signifie “Terre du Dragon”. De plus, “Druk” veut dire aussi tonnerre dont le bruit dans la chaîne himalayenne évoque le hurlement des dragons annonçant la pluie, véritable bénédiction du ciel. Le dragon représente à la fois l'État bouddhiste et le roi partageant le pouvoir avec un gouvernement national.

Le dragon est blanc sur un fond divisé diagonalement en deux moitiés avec le haut de la hampe de couleur safran (jaune orangé) et le bas du battant de couleur flamme (rouge orangé). Mélange de jaune et de rouge, l'orange joue un rôle d'équilibre entre les deux couleurs représentant les mondes d'en haut et d'en bas.

Tel est aussi le rôle du dragon ondulant comme un serpent le long de la diagonale séparant les deux mondes. Avec sa tête dans le monde d'en haut et ses quatre pattes tenant chacune une perle dans le monde d'en bas, le dragon appartient aux deux mondes. Placé au-dessus de la diagonale, il est aussi au-delà des deux mondes en tant que Principe 1, Unité à la source des éléments manifestés symbolisés par les quatre perles. Comme tel, il est le gardien du trésor le plus précieux, l'équilibre entre l'Unité et ses divers aspects manifestés. Il le garant de l'harmonie entre les mondes d'en haut et d'en bas.

1 retour La manifestation ne saurait exister hors du Principe à sa source. En tant que Tout, le Principe contient tout, y compris sa manifestation.

Page détaillée

Haut