LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of the kingdom of Belgium

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Belgium State ensign of Belgium

The colours of the flag

Black

The black colour can take different meanings, from the lowest to the highest:

  • Black naturally characterizes the darkness of the manifested world, the wandering of the ordinary being in the world surrounding him.
  • Black also represents the underground gestation, the transformation of the manifested world and being. The re-generation, the climbing of the being towards light, lighting his human face and the surrounding world.
  • Finally, black describes the non manifested world, rich in the potentiality of all beings' destiny. It equally depicts the total being that has re-integrated his original state, the Principle at the source of all beings and things. It symbolizes the invisible Light, the state where the being and the world are nothing but One.

It follows that black characterizes the beginning and the end of the manifestation cycle: the Principle at the source of the manifested world and his full development. Consequently, black represents the most brilliant and the most obscure light according to the adopted point of view: non-manifested or manifested.

Yellow

Yellow symbolizes light emanating from darkness, which lights up the being himself and the surrounding world. It represents the exchange channel between the Principle and people. As a “median” colour of the rainbow, yellow constitutes the communication path between the celestial and terrestrial worlds.

Red

Red represents courage and, more symbolically, strength and force in this world. As the “upper” arch of the rainbow, red corresponds to the highest rank of the temporal power. A role traditionally reserved for the King. Endowed with a mandate from Heaven, the King contributes to the “common interest”, establishes justice or social harmony and preserves peace between people.

The coat of arms

Coat of arms  of the State ensign of BelgiumThe coat of arms of the State ensign of Belgium 1 represents a crowned lion standing on his hind legs. As often in the Heraldic art, he has an open mouth, a tongue sticking out, a bristled fur and forelegs outstretched. Only the colour of the claws and tongue differ from the colour of the fur.

The lion represents force and wisdom in the animal kingdom. Crowned, he depicts royalty and nobility of course.

With his mane, the lion constitutes the terrestrial counterpart of the celestial light source, the Sun. As the Sun, he possesses the destruction and re-generation power characterizing the being's transformation; the destruction corresponds to the death of the current being's state and the re-generation to the re-birth of the being in a new state.

If black refers to the being's transformation, red relates to the King's attributes:

  • The (retractile) claws depict energy and force that the King masters in a sovereign manner. The King must be able to reign without needing to show his force.
  • The tongue obviously constitutes the organ of language, word and creator Word. Now, if this world is the effect of the Verb uttered at the origin of times, its manifestation is a symbol of the supra-natural reality. The being and thing diversity of the manifested world echoes to divine Unity. Rejoining unity beneath diversity constitutes the task of any being for himself and of temporal authority for the beings composing the country. The supreme goal of existence consists in rediscovering the sacred language, the language of the heart, the language of union beyond divisions beneath the diversity of vernacular languages, the languages of thought.

1 back The State or government ensign is borne by non-military national vessels, such as coast guard ships.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau du royaume de Belgique

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Drapeau de la Belgique Enseigne d'État de la Belgique

Les couleurs du drapeau

Noir

La couleur noire peut revêtir différentes significations, de la plus commune à la plus élevée:

  • Le noir caractérise naturellement les ténèbres du monde manifesté, l'errance de l'être ordinaire dans le monde qui l'environne.
  • Le noir représente aussi la gestation souterraine, la transformation du monde manifesté et de l'être. La ré-génération, la montée de l'être vers la lumière éclaire son visage humain et le monde environnant.
  • Le noir décrit enfin le monde non-manifesté, riche de la potentialité de tous les êtres en devenir. Il dépeint également l'être total qui a ré-intégré son état originel, le Principe à la source de tous les êtres et de toutes les choses. Il symbolise la Lumière invisible, l'état où l'être et le monde ne font plus qu'Un.

Il s'ensuit que le noir caractérise le début et la fin du cycle de la manifestation. Le Principe à la source du monde manifesté et son plein développement. En conséquence, le noir représente la plus brillante et la plus obscure des lumières selon le point de vue adopté: non-manifesté ou manifesté.

Jaune

Le jaune symbolise la lumière qui émane des ténèbres et éclaire l'homme sur lui-même et le monde qui l'environne. Il représente le canal d'échange entre le Principe et les hommes. En tant que couleur “médiane” de l'arc-en-ciel, le jaune constitue la voie de communication entre les mondes céleste et terrestre.

Rouge

Le rouge représente la vaillance et, plus symboliquement, le pouvoir et la force en ce monde. En tant qu'arc “supérieur” de l'arc-en-ciel, le rouge correspond au rang le plus haut du pouvoir temporel. Un rôle traditionnellement dévolu au Roi. Doté d'un mandat du Ciel, le Roi contribue au “bien commun”, établit la justice ou l'harmonie sociale et préserve la paix entre les hommes.

L'ordre de couleurs depuis la hampe au battant du drapeau (noir, jaune et rouge) suit l'ordre descendant du monde non manifesté vers le monde manifesté.

Notons que le drapeau belge arbore des couleurs semblables à celles du drapeau de l'Allemagne.

Le blason

Blason de l'enseigne d'état de la BelgiqueLe blason de l'enseigne d'État de la Belgique 1 représente un lion couronné se tenant debout sur ses pattes postérieures. Comme souvent dans l'art héraldique, il a la gueule ouverte, la langue tirée, le pelage hérissé et les pattes antérieures dressées. Seule la couleur des griffes et de la langue diffère de celle du pelage.

Le lion représente la force et la sagesse au royaume des animaux. Couronné, il dépeint bien entendu la royauté et la noblesse.

Avec sa crinière, le lion constitue le pendant terrestre de la source de lumière céleste, le Soleil. Comme le Soleil, il possède le pouvoir de destruction et de ré-génération caractéristique de la transformation de l'être; la destruction correspond à la mort de l'état d'être actuel et la ré-génération à la re-naissance de l'être dans un nouvel état.

Si le noir fait référence à la transformation de l'être, le rouge renvoie aux attributs du Roi:

  • Les griffes (rétractiles) dépeignent l'énergie et la force que le Roi maîtrise de façon souveraine. Le Roi doit pouvoir régner sans avoir besoin de faire montre de sa force.
  • La langue constitue bien évidemment l'organe du langage, de la parole, du Verbe créateur. Or, si ce monde est l'effet du Verbe proféré à l'origine des temps, sa manifestation est un symbole de la réalité surnaturelle. La diversité des choses et des êtres du monde manifesté fait écho à l'Unité divine. Rejoindre l'unité sous la diversité constitue la tâche de tout être pour lui-même et de l'autorité temporelle pour les êtres composant le pays. Le but suprême de l'existence consiste à retrouver le langage du sacré, le langage du cœur, le langage de l'union au-delà des divisions sous la diversité des langues vernaculaires, des langages de la pensée.

1 retour L'enseigne d'État ou de gouvernement est arborée par les navires nationaux non-armés, tels les garde-côtes.

Haut