LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Barbados

(Detailed page)

Summary

Flag of Barbados

The colours of the flag

There is an obvious analogy between the flag colours and the central trident pattern:

  • The middle yellow stripe is matching the two blue lateral ones;
  • The trident central spike is flanked by two lateral ones.

The coloured background is there to reinforce the trident meaning:

  • Yellow represents the “middle” colour of the rainbow in comparison with blue located at the edge. In the Chinese tradition, the yellow colour represents the middle way in comparison with the other ways, the “Middle Path”;
  • The central trident spike is sharpened on both sides whereas the lateral ones on one side only; it symbolizes the two lateral ways represented by half spikes.

The three ways

The trident is a symbol of Poseidon's power over waters. Firstly, it is a symbol of the thunderbolt. Its spikes are flashes, result of the interactions between clouds carrying rain.

The flashing light symbolizes the illumination that, suddenly, lights up the obscure depths of our being. The propagation and the amplification of the generated vibrations let us discover the being's reality, the totality of his states associated with the “Invariable Path”.

The clouds are assimilated to the celestial, essential or “Upper Waters” related to the informal world, the non manifested and supra-individual states. The “Upper Waters” are apparently opposed to (and complementing in reality) the terrestrial, substantial or “Lower Waters”, which are part of the formal world, the manifested and individual states.

The rain corresponds to a descending movement from Heaven to Earth, from informal towards formal manifestation, which conveys a metaphysical world vision. This movement goes with an ascending movement from Earth to Heaven, from formal towards informal qualified as “Waters rising towards Heaven” and reflecting a cosmological world vision. Following the descending or ascending way implies for the being to die in certain states and be re-born into others according to the deadly and invigorating, destructive and re-generative lightning.

These two ways, depicted by the lateral trident spikes, are incorporated into the central spike symbolizing the “Middle Path”.The trident, symbol of the three ways It is about the direct way, the most difficult one that allows going, without beating around the bush, from the formal to the informal manifestation, from the terrestrial or individual to the celestial or supra-individual world. It corresponds to the return to the “primeval” state and Waters. The trident is a symbol of Poseidon's power over the sea, which he can rouse (“Lower Waters”) or send back to slack (“Primeval Waters”).

In the Buddhist tradition, the trident is considered as the Triple Jewel symbol. For more details on this subject, see the Tibetan flag.

The triple time

Janus, the Master of the triple timeThe trident middle spike, sharpened on both sides, reminds us of the Roman double face God, Janus. Looking to the front and the back simultaneously, he brings together, in one being only, the past and the future. However, between the past which is not there anymore and the future which is not here yet, stands the true face of Janus, the invisible face of the present.

The present of the temporal or formal manifestation is only an elusive instant, but when the being rises towards the informal world, he sees beyond the time, he sees everything in the perfect simultaneity of the eternal present. Janus is not only the Master of the “triple time”, he is first and foremost the “Lord of eternity”.

The third face of Janus is comparable to the third frontal eye of Shiva. Placed between the moon and left eye related to the past, the sun and right eye associated with the future, the third eye symbolizes the eternal present. In contrast to certain representations, it is a perfect symmetrical drawing alongside the example of the trident middle spike. Moreover, Shiva has the vajra as attribute, a weapon with a triple spike at each end. For more details on this point, see the vajra

Overall and beyond the ascending and descending ways between Heaven and Earth, the trident symbolizes the third way, the “Middle Path”, the way to eternity.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”. Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably chapter 23 devoted to some aspects of Janus's symbolism and chapter 26 on symbolic weapons.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la Barbade

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le drapeau de la Barbade

Les couleurs du drapeau

Il existe une analogie évidente entre les couleurs du drapeau et le motif central du trident:

  • La bande médiane jaune est assortie de deux bandes latérales bleues;
  • La pointe centrale du trident est flanquée de deux pointes latérales.

Le fond coloré est là pour renforcer la signification du trident:

  • Le jaune représente la couleur “médiane” de l'arc-en-ciel par rapport au bleu qui se situe en bordure. La couleur jaune représente dans la tradition chinoise la voie médiane par rapport aux autres voies, la “Voie du Milieu”;
  • La pointe centrale du trident est effilée sur ses deux bords alors les pointes latérales ne le sont que sur un seul; elle englobe les deux voies latérales représentées par des demi-pointes.

Les trois voies

Le trident est un symbole des pouvoirs de Poséidon sur les eaux. Il est d'abord un symbole de la foudre. Ses pointes sont des éclairs résultant de l'interaction des nuages porteurs de pluie.

La lumière fulgurante symbolise l'illumination qui, subitement, éclaire les profondeurs obscures de notre être. La propagation et l'amplification des vibrations générées nous font découvrir la réalité de l'être, la totalité de ses états associés à “l'Invariable Milieu”.

Les nuages sont assimilés aux “Eaux supérieures”, célestes ou essentielles relevant du monde sans formes, des états non manifestés et supra-individuels. Les “Eaux supérieures” s'opposent apparemment (et les complètent en réalité) aux “Eaux inférieures”, terrestres ou substantielles en relation avec le monde des formes, les états manifestés et individuels.

La pluie correspond à un mouvement descendant du Ciel vers la Terre, de la manifestation informelle vers la manifestation formelle, traduisant une vision métaphysique du monde. Ce mouvement s'accompagne d'un mouvement ascendant de la Terre vers le Ciel, du formel vers l'informel qualifié de “remontée des Eaux vers le Ciel” et reflétant une vision cosmologique du monde. Suivre la voie descendante ou ascendante implique pour l'être de mourir à certains états pour re-naître dans d'autres à l'image de l'éclair à la fois meurtrier et vivifiant, destructeur et ré-générateur.

Ces deux voies, représentées par les pointes latérales du trident, sont englobées au sein de l'Axe identifié à la pointe médiane et qui symbolise la “Voie du Milieu”.Le trident, symbole des trois voies Il s'agit de la voie directe, de la voie la plus ardue qui permet de passer sans ambages de la manifestation formelle à la manifestation informelle, du monde terrestre ou individuel au monde céleste ou supra-individuel. Elle correspond au retour vers l'état et les “Eaux” primordial(es) préalables à la polarisation entre “Eaux supérieures” et “Eaux inférieures”. Le trident est un symbole du pouvoir de Poséidon sur la mer qu'il peut déchaîner (“Eaux inférieures”) ou rendre étale (“Eaux primordiales”).

Dans la tradition bouddhiste, le trident est considéré comme un symbole des trois joyaux. Pour davantage de détails à ce sujet, voir le drapeau du Tibet.

Le triple temps

Janus, le Maître du triple tempsLa pointe centrale du trident, effilée sur les deux bords, n'est pas sans rappeler le dieu romain à double face, Janus. Regardant à la fois devant et derrière, il réunit dans un seul être le passé et l'avenir. Cependant, entre le passé qui n'est plus et l'avenir qui n'est pas encore, se tient le véritable visage de Janus, le visage invisible du présent.

Le présent de la manifestation temporelle ou formelle n'est qu'un instant insaisissable, mais lorsque l'être s'élève vers le monde informel, il voit au-delà du temps, il voit tout dans la parfaite simultanéité de l'éternel présent. Janus n'est pas seulement le maître du “triple temps”, il est avant tout le “Seigneur de l'éternité”.

Le troisième visage de Janus est comparable au troisième œil frontal de Shiva. Placé entre la lune et l'œil gauche associés au passé, le soleil et l'œil droit à l'avenir, le troisième œil symbolise l'éternel présent. Contrairement à certaines représentations, il est d'une symétrie parfaite à l'instar de la pointe médiane du trident. Shiva a d'ailleurs pour attribut, le vajra, une arme possédant une triple pointe à chacune de ses extrémités. Pour plus de détails sur ce point, voir le vajra

Globalement et au-delà des deux voies ascendante et descendante entre le Ciel et la Terre, le trident symbolise la troisième voie, la “Voie du Milieu”, la voie de l'éternité.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre XXIII consacré à quelques aspects du symbolisme de Janus et le chapitre XXVI sur les armes symboliques.
Haut