LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The flag of Barbados

(Summary)

Flag of Barbados

The trident flag

Like the flags of some other nations of the Caribbean islands, the flag of Barbados is the result of a contestPoseidon with his trident (Greek coin) in order to select the most suitable emblem. The winning emblem was a maritime coat of arms par excellence, that already appeared on the colonial coat of arms and which was kept after independence from the British islands in 1966. It depicts the trident of the sea God Poseidon (Neptune) drawn on an ochre background and flanked by two blue stripes. The reference to the Greek (Roman) antiquity will even become clearer after the following lines.

The symbol of the left, right and Middle pathsThe trident is the attribute of the sea God, Poseidon (Neptune). Its prongs look like lightning illuminating the sky and ablazing earth. The two lateral prongs, sharpened on one side only, symbolize the ascending and descending paths between the celestial and terrestrial worlds. The central prong, with both sides sharpened, incorporates both lateral paths. It symbolizes the “Middle Path”, the direct way between both worlds.

The Master of the triple time and eternal presentWith its two sharpened profiles, the central prong evokes the double face Roman God Janus. He is looking forward and backwards, towards the past and to the future, but his true face is invisible, beyond time. The elevation beyond the manifestation opens the being onto the non-manifested, the mutation of time into space, the global perception of the world in the perfect simultaneity of the eternal present.

The trident and, more particularly, its central prong symbolizes at once:

  • The “Middle Path” transcending both ascending and descending paths between Heaven and Earth.
  • The “eternal present” beyond the ordinary temporal distinction between past, present and future.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau de la Barbade

(Résumé)

Drapeau de la Barbade

Le drapeau au trident

Tout comme les drapeaux d'autres nations des Caraïbes, le drapeau de la Barbade résulte d'un concours destiné à sélectionnerPoséidon avec son trident (Monnaie grecque) l'emblème le plus approprié. Le choix final s'est porté sur un blason maritime par excellence qui apparaissait déjà sur les armes coloniales et a été conservé après l'accès à l'indépendance vis-à-vis des îles britanniques en 1966. Il s'agit du trident du dieu de la mer Poséidon (Neptune) figurant sur un fond ocre encadré de deux bandes bleues. La référence à l'antiquité grecque (romaine) affleurera encore plus clairement après les lignes suivantes.

Le symbole des voies de gauche, de droite et du MilieuLe trident est l'attribut du dieu de la mer, Poséidon (Neptune). Ses pointes ressemblent à des éclairs qui illuminent le ciel et embrasent la terre. Les deux pointes latérales, effilées sur un seul bord, symbolisent les voies ascendante et descendante entre les mondes céleste et terrestre. La pointe centrale, effilée sur les deux bords, englobe les deux voies latérales. Elle symbolise la “Voie du Milieu”, la voie directe entre les deux mondes.

Le Maître du triple temps et de l'éternel présentAvec ses deux profils effilés, la pointe centrale évoque le visage à double face du dieu romain Janus. Il regarde derrière et devant, vers le passé et vers l'avenir, mais son vrai visage est invisible, au-delà du temps. L'élévation au-delà de la manifestation ouvre l'être sur le non manifesté, à la mutation du temps en espace, à la perception globale du monde dans la parfaite simultanéité de l'éternel présent.

Le trident et, plus particulièrement, sa pointe centrale symbolise à la fois:

  • La “Voie du Milieu” qui transcende les deux voies ascendante et descendante entre Ciel et Terre.
  • “L'éternel présent” au-delà de la distinction temporelle ordinaire entre passé, présent et avenir.

Page détaillée

Haut