The Austrian flag

(Abstract)

Austrian civil flag Austrian state flag

The flag and its coat of arms

The Austrian civil flag consists of two red stripes edging a white one and dates back to 1230. It is the oldest flag in the world after the Danish one. The Austrian State flag carries a coat of arms in its middle, which was introduced in 1919. Of course, both flags were not used between the “Anschluss” incorporating Austria into the third Reich in 1938 and the liberation in 1945.

The Austrian flag and its coat of arms are based on a strong symbolic coherence:

The eagle's powers symbolized by the crowned headThe white and red stripes on the background and the shield depict the relationship between Heaven and Earth, sacerdotal Knowledge of the guiding principles and their royal implementation. This relation is corroborated by the attributes held into the eagle's talons. The hammer producing the thunder, the celestial Fire, is referring to the Sun and giving access to the direct Knowledge of the principles; the sickle, looking like a Moon crescent, represents the Sun light reflection, the indirect knowledge based on the mind and used to implement the Heaven's principles on Earth.

The chain, symbolizing the binding between Heaven and Earth, should not be broken as long as it is freely accepted. It represents the bonds among all community members. Only the imposed shackles have to be broken.

Detailed page

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le drapeau autrichien

(Résumé)

Drapeau civil autrichien Drapeau de l'État autrichien

Le drapeau et son blason

Le drapeau civil autrichien, constitué de deux bandes rouges bordant une bande blanche, remonte à 1230. Il s'agit du drapeau le plus ancien au monde après celui du Danemark. Le drapeau de l'État autrichien renferme un blason en son milieu introduit en 1919. Bien entendu, les deux drapeaux ne furent pas utilisés entre “l'Anschluss” incorporant l'Autriche dans le troisième Reich en 1938 et la libération en 1945.

Le drapeau autrichien et son blason sont fondés sur une forte cohérence symbolique:

Les pouvoirs de l'aigle symbolisés par la tête couronnéeLes bandes blanche et rouge sur le fond et sur l'écu dépeignent la relation entre le Ciel et la Terre, la Connaissance sacerdotale des principes directeurs et leur application royale. Cette relation est corroborée par les attributs tenus dans les serres de l'aigle. Le marteau produisant le tonnerre, le Feu céleste, fait référence au Soleil et donne accès à la Connaissance directe des principes; la faucille, ressemblant à un croissant de lune, représente la lumière réfléchie de l'astre, la connaissance indirecte s'appuyant sur le mental et utilisée pour mettre en place les principes célestes sur Terre.

La chaîne symbolise, au niveau spirituel, les liens entre le Ciel et la Terre; ils ne doivent pas être brisés tant que ceux-ci sont librement acceptés. Plus communément, la chaîne représente les relations entre les membres de la communauté et seuls les fers imposés doivent être rompus.

Page détaillée

Haut