LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Flags, gathering banners

European Union flags

Flags and colours

We live a period where, paradoxically, more and more states are gathering into larger bodies and where the total number of national States goes growing.

The first integration movement touches all continents: NAFTA, ASEAN, BRICS, MERCOSUR (Southern Common Market), EU, AU etc. It expresses a national prerogative reduction to the benefit of collegiate authorities. The second tendency results from empire collapse (former USSR) or conflicts (former Yugoslavia, Timor etc.) creating new sovereignties.

Various and colored flags

These two opposite movements globally generated a growing number of national and transnational flags, which are exceeding two hundred today. Nevertheless, these symbols of gathering at the national and international level constitute the congruent left of the vast fan of flags, standards, banners, swallow-tailed pennon, triangular pennon etc. representative of regions, cities and communes, of military and civil instances, of corporate bodies and so on. As many of gathering emblems that contain plenty of symbols of which only the most meaningful will be studied here.

The national emblems mainly cover two types of flags 1:

  • The state flag flying over buildings representing governmental and military institutions on national land as well as diplomatic instances abroad. They are also used to represent the country overseas, at the Olympic Games for instance;
  • The civil flag that individuals may unfurl. It often happen that state and civil flags are the same. Sometimes, a coat of arms trims the state flag.

More than coats of arms, colours are playing an essential symbolic role in the flag signification. The various national and transnational flags use six basic colours (white, black, red, yellow, green and blue) in the following approximative proportions:

Colour

Red

White

Blue

Green

Yellow

Black

%

27

24

16

13

13

 7

A single flag displays these six colours, the Olympic flag. Let us note that red dominates within the flags of the northern countries and green in the southern ones and observe that both colours complement each other.

1 back A third category concerns the ensigns, i.e. the marine flags. They may be the same as the land flag as in the United States or different as in the United Kingdom.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Drapeaux, bannières de rassemblement

Drapeaux de l'Union Européenne

Des drapeaux et des couleurs

Nous vivons une époque où, paradoxalement, de plus en plus d'États se regroupent au sein d'entités plus vastes et où le nombre total des États nationaux va grandissant.

Le premier mouvement d'intégration touche tous les continents: ALENA, ASEAN, BRICS, MERCOSUR (Marché commun du Sud), UE, UA etc. Il traduit une réduction des prérogatives nationales au profit d'autorités collégiales. La seconde tendance résulte de l'effondrement d'empires (ex URSS) ou de conflits (ex Yougoslavie, Timor etc.) créant de nouvelles souverainetés.

Des drapeaux variés et colorés

Ces deux mouvements inverses ont globalement générés un nombre croissant de drapeaux nationaux et transnationaux dépassant les deux cents aujourd'hui. Toutefois, ces symboles de regroupements au niveau national et international constituent la partie congrue du vaste éventail de drapeaux, pavillons, étendards, bannières, oriflammes, gonfalons, bauçants, etc. représentatifs de régions, villes, communes, d'instances militaires et civiles, de corporations et ainsi de suite. Autant d'emblèmes de rassemblement qui renferment nombre de symboles dont seuls les plus insignes seront étudiés ici.

Les emblèmes nationaux recouvrent principalement deux types de drapeaux 1:

  • Le drapeau d'état flottant au-dessus des bâtiments représentant l'autorité gouvernementale ou militaire sur le territoire national et les instances diplomatiques à l'étranger. Ils sont aussi utilisés pour représenter la nation à l'extérieur, aux Jeux Olympiques par exemple;
  • Le drapeau civil que peuvent déployer les particuliers. Il arrive souvent que les drapeaux d'état et civil soient identiques. Un blason orne parfois le drapeau d'état.

Plus que les blasons, les couleurs jouent un rôle symbolique essentiel dans la signification des drapeaux. Les divers drapeaux nationaux et transnationaux utilisent six couleurs de base (blanc, noir, rouge, jaune, vert et bleu) dans les proportions approximatives suivantes:

Couleur

Rouge

Blanc

Bleu

Vert

Jaune

Noir

%

27

24

16

13

13

 7

Un seul drapeau affiche ces six couleurs, celui de l'olympisme. Notons que le rouge domine dans les drapeaux des pays du nord de la planète et le vert dans ceux du sud et observons que ces deux couleurs sont complémentaires.

1 retour Une troisième catégories concerne les enseignes, i.e. les drapeaux maritimes. Ils peuvent être identiques aux drapeaux territoriaux comme aux États-Unis ou différents comme au Royaume-Uni.

Haut