LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Summer and winter Saint John

(Detailed page)

Summary

The solstitial celebrations

The solstitial feasts (around 21st June and 21st December) do not reflect the character of the seasons. The solstice of winter, a season which is usually cold, sad and dark, opens, in fact, the beginning of the ascent phase of the sun in the sky towards light. The solstice of summer, a season which is normally warm, joyful and clear, initiates, on the contrary, the descent phase of the star on the way to obscurity. The solstitial celebrations refer to the Roman symbolism of Janus (from “janua” meaning gate), the double face God and, later on, to the Christian feasts of Winter saint John (John the Evangelist celebrated on 27th December) and of Summer saint John (John the Baptist celebrated on 24th June).

John the Baptist was, with Jesus, one of the countless Masters who proliferate in the East in general and in Palestine in particular. John the Baptist hid himself behind the coming Saviour as asserted by the Gospels: “He (Jesus born at Winter solstice) must increase and I (John the Baptist born at Summer solstice) must decrease” 1. This reference is in complete correspondence with both the ascent and descent phases of the sun.

Janus, the double face God, is looking, simultaneously, in the direction of the ascent and descent phases of the sun. He is the guardian of the solstitial gates opening both phases and the holder of two keys, his main attributes. The golden key opens or closes the ascent path towards light or spiritual knowledge; the silver key (or sceptre) opens or closes the descent path towards obscurity or (spiritual) ignorance. The keys are what make Janus, the God of the initiation to “mysteries”:Janus, the double face God

  • The gate of mortals, associated with the Summer solstice, gives access to the “little mysteries” consisting in a complete psychical re-generation and producing an individual (“individuum” or indivisible), i.e. centred in himself and no more dispersed between his different tendencies. This gate opens the path to the proper human state.
  • The gate of the Gods, related to the Winter solstice, gives access to the “great mysteries” bringing the being from the human state to the supra-human or spiritual state and identifying the centre of the individual with the Centre of the total being, where the One is.

Janus ruled over the “Collegia Fabrorum”, the craft guilds of the antique world. Builders transmitted their “Art” only to followers deserving it. The postulants had not only to possess working abilities, but also the proper qualities which could allow them to be initiated to the “mysteries”. As builders were gathering scattered materials to achieve a unique construction, postulants had to put together their own qualities to become an individual as well.

The antique tradition of initiation was also practiced in the Christian world and continued during the Middle Ages through the builder and craft fellow guilds (glass artists, stonecutters, sculptors, painters, carpenters, blacksmiths etc.) who had both saints John as patrons.

The journey initiation

Craft fellow with his toolsOriginally, the being fulfilled himself through the practice of a craft in accordance with his own nature. To exercise another activity could only be detrimental to himself and the social organization he belonged to. According to the traditional views, only the essential qualities of the being were able to determine his functions. However, within the secular views, the specific qualities of the individuals do not matter and they become properly “de-natured”. They are only interchangeable “units” in the eyes of a society where only quantity prevails, where everything is becoming digitized.

If the craft is a manifestation of the proper nature of the being, it is easy to understand that it could be used as an initiation basis. However, if the initiation knowledge comes from the craft practice, the craft has become in turn the field of applying that knowledge. The perfect correspondence between the being proper nature and the outer world is the only way a real “masterpiece” could be created. An approach far away from the contemporary “mass” production, of the greater “number” of similar objects devoted to the greater consumer number, also considered as alike. This new era of the quantity and uniformity triumphing over the quality and unity personifies the reign of “progress” for everybody, synonymous with the decline towards the lowest manifestation orders, the one of the “How much ? How many ?”.

The initiation (from “initium” or beginning) marks the start of a journey, a quest, the end of which is unknown for the initiate. Its first goal consists in harmonizing the being's own nature with the Cosmos. As the Cosmos is divided into three worlds (Earth, Atmosphere and Heaven), the being is associated with three orders (body, soul and Spirit) corresponding respectively to the states of the ordinary, human and total being. In order to harmonize the being with the Cosmos, he had to go through rites where Water and Fire symbols played an important purification and re-generation role. Fire, in particular, played an important part during the solstitial celebration time. As the Cosmos, Fire also covers three states. The ordinary or terrestrial fire, the intermediary Fire or lightning and the spiritual or celestial Fire. The lightning depicts the celestial and terrestrial Fire complement and serves as a divine spark to the Heavenly Fire.

Symbolism of fire and light in both Saint John's celebrations

The two symbols of the celestial and terrestrial Fire may be found in the customs of both saints John. The summer Saint John is a popular feast taking place outside and celebrated with jubilation. On the contrary, the winter saint John is a feast commemorated in the privacy of the home.

Summer Saint John's fireThe woodshed of Summer saint John does not consist in a pile of branches to be lit, but in a clever arrangement where wood pieces are stacked up one on the other to construct a regular truncated pyramid. The missing summit clearly means that the being stops half way to the climax. The different pyramid levels represent many intermediary states burned one after the other before reaching the proper human being state.

The habit of singing and dancing in a circle around the fire symbolizes the movement of the “cosmic wheel”. Jumping in a couple over the flames is only a symbolic way to join the “Middle” and become centred in oneself and really human.

The custom of keeping a brand of summer saint John's fire to light the winter Saint John's log brings to the fore the subordination of the human to the total being state.

Winter Saint John's fireThe log of Winter Saint John or Christmas, generally cut in summer from the trunk of a tree, symbolizes the vertical axis of the woodshed pyramid of the summer Saint John. It joins in direct line Earth and Heaven and represents the total being. The Fire symbolizes here the inner illumination which gives access to the genuine Knowledge. It does not only produce a being centred in himself, but standing in the Centre of the world. The burning log recalls, of course, the chimney, this other symbol of the vertical axis linking Earth and Heaven.

The custom of letting the log burn until it is totally extinguished signals the end of the journey. The visible or outer light of the fireplace associated with the being centred in himself, gives way to the invisible or inner Light characterizing the being who has rejoined the Centre of the world.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Especially, chapter 38 concerning the two saint John.
  • “Man and his Becoming according to the Vedanta”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2001;
  • Particularly, chapter 21 on the “divine voyage” of the being on the way to liberation.
  • Jean-Marie Pelt:
  • “Flowers, feasts and seasons”, Fayard Publisher, 1988
  • In particular, the chapter on Saint John's fires and herbs.

1 back The Church celebrates the nativity of Jesus (25th December), saint John the Baptist (24th June) and Virgin Mary (8th September) and the death of all the other saints.

Top

Saint-Jean d'été et d'hiver

Résumé

Les fêtes solsticiales

Les fêtes solsticiales (autour des 21 juin et 21 décembre) ne reflètent pas le caractère des saisons. Le solstice d'hiver, saison habituellement froide, triste et sombre, inaugure en fait le début de la phase ascendante du soleil dans le ciel vers la lumière. Le solstice d'été, saison d'ordinaire chaude, joyeuse et claire, amorce au contraire la phase descendante de l'astre vers l'obscurité. Les fêtes solsticiales renvoient au symbolisme romain de Janus (de “janua” qui signifie porte), le dieu aux deux visages et, plus tardivement, aux fêtes chrétiennes de la Saint-Jean d'hiver (Jean l'Évangéliste fêté le 27 décembre) et de la Saint-Jean d'été (Jean le Baptiste fêté le 24 juin).

Jean le Baptiste était, avec Jésus, l'un des innombrables maîtres qui pullulaient en Orient en général et en Palestine en particulier. Jean le Baptiste s'est effacé devant la venue du Sauveur comme en témoigne les évangiles: “Il faut qu'il croisse (Jésus né au solstice d'hiver) et que je diminue (Jean le Baptiste né au solstice d'été)” 1, en pleine conformité avec les deux phases ascendante et descendante du soleil.

Janus, le dieu à double visage, regarde à la fois en direction de la phase ascendante et de la phase descendante du soleil. Il est le gardien des portes solsticiales ouvrant sur ces deux phases et le détenteur de deux clés qui sont ses principaux attributs. La clé d'or ouvre ou ferme la voie ascendante vers la lumière ou la connaissance spirituelle; la clé d'argent (ou le sceptre) ouvre ou ferme la voie descendante vers l'obscurité ou l'ignorance (spirituelle). Les clés font de Janus le dieu de l'initiation aux “mystères”:Janus, le dieu à deux visages

  • La porte des hommes, associée au solstice d'été, donne accès aux “petits mystères” qui consistent en une ré-génération psychique complète produisant un individu (“individuum” ou indivisible), c'est-à-dire centré en lui-même et non plus dispersé entre ses différentes tendances. Cette porte ouvre la voie à l'état proprement humain.
  • La porte des dieux, en relation avec le solstice d'hiver, donne accès aux “grands mystères” qui mènent l'être de l'état humain à l'état supra-humain ou spirituel et identifie le centre de l'individu avec celui de l'être total, résidence de l'Un.

Janus présidait aux “Collegia Fabrorum”, les corporations des métiers du monde antique. Les constructeurs transmettaient leur “Art” uniquement aux disciples dignes de ce nom. Les postulants devaient non seulement posséder les aptitudes pour le travail, mais aussi des qualités propres leur permettant d'être initiés aux “mystères”. De même que les constructeurs rassemblaient des matériaux épars pour réaliser un édifice unique, les postulants devaient également rassembler leurs qualités propres pour devenir un individu.

La tradition antique de l'initiation s'est d'ailleurs transmise au monde chrétien pour se poursuivre au Moyen Âge au travers des corporations de constructeurs et du Compagnonnage (artisans, verriers, tailleurs de pierre, sculpteurs, peintres, charpentiers, menuisiers, forgerons etc.) qui eurent les Deux Saint-Jean pour patrons.

L'initiation au voyage

Compagnon et ses outils de travailA l'origine, l'être se réalisait dans la pratique d'un métier conforme à sa nature propre. L'exercice d'une autre activité ne pouvait que porter préjudice à l'être lui-même et à l'organisation sociale dont il faisait partie. Selon la conception traditionnelle, seules les qualités essentielles de l'être étaient susceptibles de déterminer ses fonctions. Dans la conception profane, au contraire, les qualités spécifiques des individus importent peu et ceux-ci deviennent des êtres proprement “dé-naturés”. Ils ne sont plus que des “unités” interchangeables aux yeux d'une société où seule la quantité prime, où tout devient numérique.

Si le métier est une manifestation de la nature propre de l'être, il est aisé de comprendre qu'il puisse servir de base à l'initiation. Toutefois, si la connaissance initiatique est née de l'exercice du métier, ce dernier est devenu à son tour le champ d'application de cette connaissance. La parfaite correspondance entre la nature propre de l'être et le monde extérieur est le seul moyen d'aboutir à la création d'un véritable “chef-d'œuvre”. Une approche fort éloignée de la production contemporaine “en série”, de la plus grande “masse” d'objets semblables destinés au plus grand nombre de consommateurs supposés également semblables. Cette ère nouvelle du triomphe de la quantité et de l'uniformité sur la qualité et l'unité incarne le règne du “progrès” pour tous synonyme de déchéance vers le plus bas des ordres de la manifestation, celui du “combien ?”.

L'initiation (de “initium” ou commencement) marque le début d'un voyage, d'une quête dont l'initié ne connaît pas la fin. Son premier but réside dans l'harmonie de la nature propre de l'être et du Cosmos. Tout comme le Cosmos est divisé en trois mondes (Terre, Atmosphère et Ciel), l'être est associé à trois ordres (physique, âme et Esprit) respectivement reliés aux états de l'être ordinaire, humain et total. Assurer l'harmonie de l'être avec le Cosmos passait par des rites où les symboles de l'Eau et du Feu jouaient un rôle de purification et de ré-génération. Tout particulièrement le Feu au moment des fêtes solsticiales. À l'image du Cosmos, le Feu recouvre également trois états. Le feu ordinaire ou terrestre, le Feu intermédiaire ou l'éclair et le Feu spirituel ou céleste. L'éclair traduit la complémentarité des Feux céleste et terrestre et sert d'étincelle divine au Feu du Ciel.

Symbolisme du feu et de la lumière aux deux Saint-Jean

Les deux symboles du Feu terrestre et céleste se retrouvent dans les coutumes des deux Saint-Jean. La Saint-Jean d'été est une fête populaire se déroulant à l'extérieur et célébrée dans la liesse. La Saint-Jean d'hiver, au contraire, est une fête intérieure commémorée dans l'intimité du foyer.

Feu de la Saint-Jean d'étéLe bûcher de la Saint-Jean d'été ne consiste pas en un amas de branchages auquel on met le feu, mais en une construction savante où les morceaux de bois sont empilés les uns sur les autres pour former une pyramide tronquée. L'absence de pointe signifie bien que l'être s'arrête en chemin sur la voie vers le sommet. Les différents niveaux de la pyramide représentent autant d'états intermédiaires consumés l'un après l'autre avant d'atteindre l'état proprement humain.

L'usage de chanter et danser en cercle autour du feu symbolise le mouvement de la “roue cosmique”. Sauter en couple par dessus les flammes ne constitue qu'une façon imagée de rejoindre le “Milieu” et l'état d'être centré en lui-même et véritablement humain.

L'habitude de conserver un tison du feu de la Saint-Jean d'été pour allumer la bûche de la Saint-Jean d'hiver met en évidence la subordination de l'état d'être humain à celui d'être total.

Feu de la Saint-Jean d'hiverLa bûche de la Saint-Jean d'hiver ou de Noël, généralement coupée dans le tronc d'un arbre en été, symbolise l'axe vertical de la pyramide du bûcher de la Saint-Jean d'été. Elle joint en ligne directe la Terre et le Ciel et représente l'état d'être total. Le Feu symbolise ici l'illumination intérieure qui donne accès à la Connaissance authentique. Elle ne produit plus seulement un être centré en lui-même, mais situé au Centre du monde. La bûche qui flambe évoque bien entendu la cheminée, cet autre symbole de l'axe vertical reliant Terre et Ciel ou Axe du Monde.

La coutume consiste à laisser la bûche se consumer jusqu'à extinction pour bien marquer la fin du voyage. À la lumière visible, extérieure du foyer, associée à l'être humain centré en lui-même, fait place la Lumière invisible, intérieure caractérisant l'être qui a rejoint le Centre du monde.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre XXXVIII à propos des Deux Saint-Jean.
  • “L'homme et son devenir selon le Vêdânta”. Éditions traditionnelles 1991;
  • Tout particulièrement, le chapitre XXI sur le “voyage divin” de l'être en voie de libération.
  • Jean-Marie Pelt:
  • “Fleurs, fêtes et saisons”. Éditions Fayard 1988;
  • En particulier, le chapitre sur les feux et herbes de la Saint-Jean.

1 retour L'Église célèbre la nativité de Jésus (25 décembre), de saint Jean le Baptiste (24 juin) et de la Vierge Marie (8 septembre) et la mort de tous les autres saints.