LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Summer and Winter Saint John

(Summary)

Fire, source of light and heat

Solstices

The solstitial feasts (from “sol” sun et “stare” stopping) correspond to the celebration of two privileged moments of the star moves in the sky. Feasts of sun and light, they are symbolized nowadays by the night fires of the summer Saint John and the log burning in the chimney around the winter Saint John or Christmas. Symbols as rich as they are old, they are in close connection with the realization of the being.

The two Saint John were solstitial feasts traditionally associated with the double face Roman God, Janus. He was, at once, the warden of the two solstitial gates (from the Latin janua which literally means gate) related to both phases of the annual cycle of the sun and the Master of initiation into the “mysteries”:

  • Summer solstice Saint John refers to the initiation to “little mysteries” producing a being centred in himself and really human. The outer fires of the summer Saint John are as many sources of the visible light, which is only a pale reflect of the true invisible Light.
  • Winter solstice saint John recalls the initiation to the “great mysteries” where the individual has rejoined not only his own centre, but the Centre of the world. The inner fire of the log in the chimney symbolizes the supra-individual Light of the being fully accomplished or total.

The custom of lighting the log with a brand of the former Summer saint John's fire refers to the subordination of the human to the total being state. The visible light in connection with the first state is totally included in the spectrum of the invisible Light related to the second. The total being does not exclude the human being, he incorporates him.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Saint-Jean d'été et d'hiver

(Résumé)

Le feu, source de lumière et de chaleur

Les solstices

Les fêtes des solstices (de “sol” soleil et “stare” s'arrêter) correspondent à la célébration de deux moments privilégiés de la course de l'astre dans le ciel. Fêtes du soleil et de la lumière, elles sont symbolisées de nos jours par les feux nocturnes de la saint Jean d'été et la bûche dans l'âtre aux alentours de la Saint-Jean d'hiver ou de Noël. Ces symboles, aussi riches qu'anciens, sont en étroite relation avec la réalisation de l'être.

Les deux Saint-Jean étaient des fêtes solsticiales traditionnellement associées au dieu romain à deux visages, Janus. Il était à la fois le gardien des deux portes (du latin janua qui signifie littéralement porte) solstitiales en relation avec les deux phases du cycle annuel du soleil et le Maître de l'initiation aux “mystères”:

  • La Saint-Jean du solstice d'été renvoie à l'initiation aux “petits mystères” produisant un être centré en lui-même et véritablement humain. Les feux extérieurs de la Saint-Jean d'été sont autant de sources de la lumière visible, pâle reflet de la véritable Lumière invisible.
  • La Saint-Jean du solstice d'hiver fait écho à l'initiation aux “grands mystères” où l'individu a rejoint non seulement son propre centre, mais le Centre du monde. Le feu intérieur de la bûche dans l'âtre symbolise la Lumière supra-individuelle de l'être pleinement accompli ou total.

La coutume d'allumer la bûche avec un tison de la Saint-Jean de l'été précédent témoigne de la subordination de l'état d'être humain à celui d'être total. La lumière visible associée au premier est tout entière comprise dans le spectre de la Lumière invisible relative au second. L'être total n'exclut pas l'être humain, il l'englobe.

Page détaillée

Haut