LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Easter and the World Egg

(Summary)

The Easter eggs

The resurrection celebration

Easter celebrates the resurrection of Christ, three days after his crucifixion. For the Christian Church, it is the “Solemnity of solemnities", even more than the celebration of Christmas.

Easter is a moveable feast determining all other moveable feasts of the Christian Church. The council of Nicée set up, in 325, the date of its celebration to the first Sunday after the full moon following the spring equinox. Consequently, Easter falls between March 22nd and April 25th 1.

Therefore, it is not astonishing that the egg, commonly considered as one of the symbols of nature's revival, is associated with the renascence of spring time and Easter. It illustrates the myth of periodical creation, re-birth, resurrection. Nevertheless, its relation with Easter celebrations should not let us forget that the egg is, in reality, a deep and ancient symbol common to all traditions in this world.

The World OrbGood Friday celebrates the death of the human form of Jesus and his return in the cosmic cave. Easter Sunday feasts his Resurrection, his leaving the cave in his divine form. A resurrection which coincides with the renewal of spring time in the northern hemisphere. This renewal finds its full explanation within the Egg symbolism, germ of the development of the cosmic World and the being belonging to it. A world the being tries to get free of while following the Path taken by the Son of God. Getting out of the Cosmos, of the cave where we are imprisoned, constitutes the true “liberation” for all beings on this earth.

The ciboriumWith his passage through the cosmic cave, from his entry or birth in the crib to his final leave or resurrection, the Christ reminds the world of the vertical Path which, rather than taking the being from Earth to Heaven, re-unifies Heaven and Earth, human and divine within himself. The vertical axis symbolizes the “Middle Path” associated with yellow, the medium colour of the rainbow spectrum and the Easter colour as well.

The cross and cave symbols unite through verticality. Plenty of examples illustrate this connection, such as the cross topping the hillock, the hill, the dome, the tabernacle, the Orb in the Christ's hands, the ciborium within the Priest's hands etc. All these representations contain a cavity or symbolic cave crowned by a cross as on the Golgotha mount.

1 back As the Orthodox Church refers to the same calculation according to the Julian calendar, the spring equinox can be delayed and Easter's date be different.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Pâques et l'Oeuf du Monde

(Résumé)

Les œufs de Pâques

La fête de la résurrection

La fête de Pâques célèbre la résurrection du Christ, trois jours après sa crucifixion. Elle est pour l'Église chrétienne la “Solennité des solennités”, bien plus que la célébration de Noël.

Pâques est une fête mobile qui détermine toutes les autres fêtes mobiles de l'Église chrétienne. Le concile de Nicée a fixé, en 325, la date de sa célébration au premier dimanche après la pleine lune qui suit l'équinoxe de printemps. En conséquence, Pâques tombe entre le 22 mars et le 25 avril 1.

Il n'est pas étonnant dès lors que l'œuf, communément considéré comme l'un des symboles du renouveau de la nature, soit associé à l'arrivée du printemps et à Pâques. Il illustre le mythe de la création périodique, de la re-naissance, de la résurrection. Sa relation avec les fêtes pascales ne devrait cependant pas nous faire oublier que l'œuf est, en réalité, un symbole profond et ancien commun à l'ensemble des traditions du monde entier.

Globe du MondeLe Vendredi saint célèbre la mort de Jésus sous sa forme humaine et son retour dans la caverne cosmique. Le dimanche de Pâques fête sa résurrection, sa sortie de la caverne sous sa forme divine. Une résurrection qui coïncide avec le renouveau du printemps dans l'hémisphère Nord. Ce renouveau trouve sa pleine signification dans le symbolisme de l'Oeuf, germe du développement du Monde cosmique et de l'être qui en fait partie. Un monde dont l'être tente de s'affranchir à l'image du fils de Dieu en suivant la Voie tracée par lui. Sortir du Cosmos, de la caverne où nous sommes enfermés, constitue la véritable “délivrance” des êtres ici-bas.

Le ciboirePar son passage dans la caverne cosmique, depuis l'entrée ou la naissance dans la crèche jusqu'à la sortie définitive ou la résurrection, le Christ rappelle au monde la Voie verticale qui, plus que de mener l'être de la Terre au Ciel, ré-unit le Ciel et la Terre, l'humain et le divin en sa personne. L'axe vertical symbolise la “Voie du Milieu” associée au jaune, la couleur médiane du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel et de Pâques également.

Les symboles de la croix et de la caverne se retrouvent autour de la verticalité. D'où les nombreux exemples d'une telle relation où la croix surmonte un tertre, une colline, un dôme, le tabernacle, le “globe du Monde” placé dans la main du Christ, le ciboire entre les mains du prêtre etc. Toutes ces représentations renferment une cavité, une caverne symbolique couronnée par une croix à l'image du mont Golgotha.

1 retour Comme l'Église orthodoxe s'en tient au même calcul selon le calendrier Julien, l'équinoxe de printemps peut être retardé et la date de Pâques être différente.

Page détaillée

Haut