LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Carnival, an upside down world

(Detailed page)

Summary

Reverse practices

Carnival represents in many ways a diversion period in the sense that it diverts, distracts the individual from his daily worries as well as his regulated life. The time of carnival is a very special moment in the social life when, in the old times, rules were smashed into pieces to be literally lived “the other way round”.

The time of carnival was not a social disorder period or a return to the non differentiated state of the original chaos, but rather a new social order, a “reverse” order where “what is up is like what is down” and conversely. During this period of time, the role of the King or Bishop was given to an idiot or a criminal who ruled over the kingdom or the church at odds with common laws. When carnival was over, the idiot went back to his village and the criminal returned to prison or to the gallows if he was not pardoned. In order to prevent excess, the clergy himself took part in these grotesque pranks inside the church. So, on the occasion of the medieval Donkey festival, the clerics decked the animal out sacerdotal garments and introduced him all the way to the altar. The beast was the object of smutty jokes as well as tokens of respect usually reserved to the ecclesiastic authorities. At times, during the Mad festivals, in the Middle Age, the population practiced a reversal of function, age, sex or social code (wearing cloths inside-out, sitting on animals back to front, profaning the sacred, mocking the authorities, inversion of masculine and feminine roles 1 etc.) which turned the world completely upside down in a limited space and time period.

All these codified practices were aimed at funnelling inferior tendencies of the being, operating an effective catharsis and liberating repressed passions. Without any authority setting limits, a real disorder could have happened with the risk of the situation degenerating into an explosion of impulses, which could have ended in murder. All the more so since the population was wearing disguises and masks allowing them, in principle, to remain anonymous. In fact, the masquerades contributed to the reverse practices. Each person chose indeed, subconsciously, a disguise and a mask which best reflected his or her inferior tendencies. Far from hiding one's face, the mask let appear, on the contrary, the true face of the individual. The person thereby showed a real facet of himself or herself hidden under the different masks in accordance with social norms. The mask (from the Latin “persona”) in fact dissimulated the various appearances of the social character and revealed the real personality of the individual.

These festivals, which had a parodical and blasphemous feature, were not only accepted, but officially recognized. The Church nevertheless condemned on several occasions the scandals and the festival length was shortened in the course of centuries. By the end of the Middle Ages, it no longer had the former spontaneity it once had. Curiously, an explosion of witchcraft manifestations rose then, out of proportion with the preceding periods. The carnival festivals had a strange tie with the witch “Sabbath” where everything was also undertaken upside down. These manifestations were from that moment considered as satanic by the Holy Office and sounded the death knell to the tolerance of practices of a reversal world accepted since antic time.

Carnival origins and foundations

To understand the reasons behind such a reversal world, we have to go back to the origins of these festivals. The celebration of carnival was already operating at the time of the Roman Saturnalia during which masters and slaves exchanged their role for a while.

Just as the Mad festivals, these feasts took place during the12 day period separating, nowadays, Christmas from Twelfth Night. A period covering the end of the former year and the beginning of the new year and reproducing, in condensed form, the 12 month annual cycle. These festivals corresponded to the Winter solstice celebration associated with the end of the sun descent in the sky and the start of a new ascent. A real inversion in the cosmic order tendency which found, in a way, an echo in the restricted social order. A strange echo by the way. Instead of corresponding to an ascent following a descent, it rather reflected a descent towards the inferior states after a possible ascension. In this sense, the echo in the social order was more similar to the summer than winter solstice. Indeed, the former one is related to the end of the sun ascent in the sky followed by a descent towards earth and its human or inferior states. Here too, it is a complete inversion of the social world practices in comparison with the cosmic world tendency around Winter solstice. Now, harmony consists precisely in an adequacy of the individual or microcosm with the cosmic world or macrocosm. In these circumstances, what was the goal of a society practising a systematic inversion in the nature of things?

The ordinary life properly punctuated by work and social constraints, regulated by a principle of order, saving and self-control was opposed to the manifestation of a joyous heedless, transgression of some prohibitions as well as immoderate spending and consumption. However, transgression and disturbances spread within codified forms to prevent disorder. In fact, the detour through the feast, which was opposed in every way to the ordinary and regulated life, appeared to the authorities as the best way of restoring order and maintaining it inside the community.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”; Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapters 21 on the meaning of the “carnival” festivals.
  • Jean-Marie Pelt:
  • “Flowers, feasts and seasons”; Fayard Publisher, 1988;
  • In particular, the chapter on Sylvester Day.

1 back The inversion of masculine and feminine roles are still current these days in the Guadalupe, Alsatian, German or Dutch carnival manifestations. During dances, only (disguised and masked) women can invite men for instance.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Carnaval, un monde sens dessus dessous

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Des pratiques renversées

Le carnaval représente véritablement une période de divertissement en ce sens qu'elle divertit, détourne, distrait l'individu de ses préoccupations quotidiennes et de son existence bien réglée. Un moment bien singulier de la vie sociale où, dans les temps anciens, les règles volaient en éclats pour être littéralement vécues “à rebours”.

Il ne s'agissait pas d'une période de désordre social ou d'un retour à l'état indifférencié du chaos originel, mais bien plutôt d'un nouvel ordre social, d'un ordre à l'envers “où ce qui est en haut est comme ce qui est en bas” et inversement. Pendant ce laps de temps, le rôle d'évêque ou de roi était dévolu à un idiot ou un criminel qui régentait l'église ou le royaume à rebours des lois en usage. Le carnaval terminé, l'idiot retournait à son village et le criminel retrouvait la prison ou la potence s'il ne bénéficiait pas de l'amnistie. Afin de prévenir les excès, le clergé lui-même participait à ces facéties grotesques dans l'enceinte même de l'église. Ainsi, à l'occasion de la fête de l'Âne au Moyen Âge, les clercs affublaient l'animal des habits sacerdotaux et l'introduisaient jusque dans le chœur de l'édifice. La bête faisait alors l'objet aussi bien de plaisanteries graveleuses que de marques de respect habituellement réservées aux autorités ecclésiastiques. Ou encore, durant les fêtes des Fous, toujours au Moyen Âge, la population pratiquait des renversements de fonctions, d'âge, de sexe ou de code social (port des vêtements à l'envers, chevauchement de l'âne à rebours, profanation du sacré, raillerie des autorités, renversement des rôles masculin et féminin 1 etc.) qui mettait littéralement le monde sens dessus dessous dans un espace et pour un temps limités.

Toutes ces pratiques codifiées visaient à canaliser les tendances inférieures de l'être, à opérer une véritable catharsis et libérer des passions refoulées. Sans un encadrement fixant des limites, un véritable désordre aurait pu s'instaurer au risque de dégénérer en une explosion des pulsions pouvant aller jusqu'au meurtre. D'autant plus que la population usait du déguisement et du port du masque garantissant, en principe, l'anonymat. De fait, les mascarades contribuaient également à ce renversement. Chacun choisissait en effet, sans même s'en rendre compte, un déguisement et un masque qui reflétaient au mieux ses tendances inférieures. Loin de voiler la face, le masque laissait apparaître au contraire le véritable visage de l'individu. L'être montrait alors réellement une facette de lui-même cachée sous les différents masques conformes aux normes sociales. Le masque (“persona” en latin) dissimulait en fait les diverses apparences du personnage social et révélait la personnalité véritable de l'individu.

Ces fêtes qui avaient un caractère parodique et blasphématoire furent non seulement tolérées, mais officiellement reconnues. L'église condamna cependant, à plusieurs reprises, les scandales et la durée des fêtes fut écourtée au cours des siècles. À la fin du Moyen Âge, il n'avait déjà plus la spontanéité d'antan. Curieusement, il se produisit alors un déchaînement de manifestations de sorcellerie sans commune mesure avec celles des périodes précédentes. Les fêtes carnavalesques avaient en effet un étrange lien de parenté avec le sabbat des sorcières où tout se faisait également à l'envers. Ces manifestations furent dès lors considérées comme sataniques par la Sainte Inquisition et sonnèrent le glas de la tolérance vis-à-vis de pratiques d'un monde renversé, pourtant admises depuis l'antiquité.

Origines et fondements du carnaval

Pour saisir les raisons d'un tel monde renversant, il faut remonter aux origines de ces fêtes. Ce renversement des rôles était déjà pratiqué au cours des Saturnales romaines durant lesquelles maîtres et esclaves échangeaient leurs rôles pour un temps.

Tout comme les fêtes des Fous d'ailleurs, ces festivités avaient lieu au cours de la période de 12 jours qui séparent aujourd'hui Noël et l'Épiphanie. Une période qui couvre la fin de l'année écoulée et de début de l'année nouvelle et reproduit, en condensé, le cycle annuel de 12 mois. Ces fêtes correspondaient en fait à la célébration du solstice d'hiver associée à la fin de la descente du soleil dans le ciel et au début d'une nouvelle ascension. Un véritable renversement de tendance dans l'ordre cosmique qui trouva en quelque sorte un écho dans l'ordre strictement social. Un curieux écho toutefois. Au lieu de correspondre à une remontée faisant suite une descente, il reflétait plutôt une descente vers les états inférieurs après une éventuelle remontée. En ce sens, l'écho dans l'ordre social s'apparentait davantage au solstice d'été que d'hiver. Celui-ci correspond effectivement à renversement associé à la fin de l'ascension du soleil dans le ciel suivie d'une descente vers la terre et ses états humains ou inférieurs. Là encore, il s'agit d'une inversion complète des pratiques du monde social par rapport à la tendance du monde cosmique autour du solstice d'hiver. Or, l'harmonie réside précisément dans une adéquation de l'individu ou du microcosme au monde cosmique ou macrocosme. Dans ces conditions, à quel but obéissait une société pratiquant un renversement systématique de l'ordre des choses ?

A la vie proprement rythmée par le travail et les contraintes sociales, réglée par un principe d'ordre, d'économie de retenue s'opposait la manifestation d'une joyeuse insouciance, de transgression de certains interdits, de dépense et de consommation immodérées. Toutefois, transgression et dérèglement se déployaient à l'intérieur de formes codifiées afin de prévenir tout désordre. En fait, le détour par la fête, qui s'opposait trait pour trait à la vie ordinaire et régulée, apparaissait aux autorités comme le plus sûr garant du retour à l'ordre et de son maintien au sein de la communauté.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment le chapitre XXI sur la signification des fêtes “carnavalesques”.
  • Jean-Marie Pelt:
  • “Fleurs, fêtes et saisons”. Éditions Fayard 1988;
  • En particulier, le chapitre sur la saint Sylvestre.

1 retour Le renversement des rôles masculin et féminin a encore cours de nos jours dans les manifestations carnavalesques guadeloupéennes, alsaciennes, allemandes ou hollandaises. Dans les soirées dansantes, par exemple, seules les femmes (déguisées et masquées) peuvent inviter les hommes.

Haut