LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Feasts, rhythms of our lives

Feasts around Winter solstice are by far the most important

Celebrating days and seasons

Feasts and celebrations punctuate different moments of the year or our life. If the religious cults have succeeded in imposing their calendars, they did not completely reach to erase the secular celebrations which inspired them. Babylonians, Celts and Romans showed the way to them while celebrating privileged moments, taking notably the form of oracles and presents. Indeed, celebrations have a deep connection with the ages of humanity or human being, the hot and cold seasonal cycle, the diurnal and nocturnal daily cycle. Their goal often consists in illuminating the long dark nights of winter periods. Then, they become celebrations of light occurring from very old times till now. We only need to think to the Celtic festival Beltaine, Christmas and Candlemas in Christian countries, the celebration of Santa Lucia in Sweden and, more recently, the festival of lights in the town of Lyon in France.

A strong relationship exists between these different cycles which fit into and correspond to each other: spring, dawn or childhood; summer, day or youth; fall, twilight or maturity; winter, night or old age. It is not by chance that Mithras' feast in Antiquity and Christmas in Christianity reach their paroxysm in the middle of the night around winter solstice! This is not any more by adventure that fire celebrations are taking place at summer and winter solstices. Just as Easter, celebrated in springtime. Seasons are rhythmically regulating days, years and lives and have deeply marked our customs for a long time. We continue to celebrate these occasions, the meaning of which has fallen in the collective memory limbo.

The following pages try to rescue them from oblivion and find the spirit of celebration again. The celebration as the ancients thought about. At a time where it was not only reduced to festivities, profane delights or historical celebrations. A time when it mainly consisted in reminding the beings where they were coming from.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Fêtes, rythmes de nos vies

Les fêtes autour du solstice d'hiver sont de loin les plus importantes

Célébration des jours et des saisons

Les fêtes et célébrations ponctuent différents moments de l'année ou de notre vie. Si les cultes religieux ont su imposer leurs calendriers, ils ne sont pas pour autant parvenus à oblitérer complètement les coutumes profanes dont ils se sont inspirés. Les babyloniens, celtes ou romains leur ont ouvert la voie en célébrant des moments privilégiés, notamment sous la forme d'augures et de présents. Les fêtes ont, en effet, une profonde connexion avec les âges de l'humanité ou de l'être humain, le cycle des saisons chaudes et froides, le cycle journalier diurne et nocturne. Leur but consiste souvent à illuminer les longues nuits sombres des périodes hivernales. Elles deviennent alors des fêtes de la lumière célébrées depuis les temps les plus anciens jusqu'à nos jours. Il suffit de penser à la fête celtique de Beltaine, Noël et la Chandeleur dans les pays chrétiens, la célébration de sainte Lucie en Suède ou, plus récemment, la fête des lumières dans la ville de Lyon.

Il existe une forte liaison entre ces différents cycles qui s'emboîtent les uns dans les autres et se correspondent: le printemps, l'aube ou l'enfance; l'été, le jour ou la jeunesse; l'automne, le crépuscule ou l'âge mûr; l'hiver, la nuit ou la vieillesse. Ce n'est pas par hasard si les fêtes de Mithra dans l'antiquité et de Noël dans la chrétienté atteignent leur paroxysme au beau milieu de la nuit aux alentours du solstice d'hiver! Ce n'est pas davantage par aventure que les célébrations du feu se tiennent aux solstices d'été et d'hiver. Tout comme Pâques, fêté au printemps. Les saisons rythment les jours, les années et les vies et ont profondément marqué nos coutumes depuis fort longtemps. Nous continuons de célébrer ces occasions dont le sens s'est perdu dans les limbes de la mémoire collective.

Les pages qui suivent tentent de réparer cet oubli et de retrouver l'esprit de la fête. La fête au sens où l'entendaient les anciens. À une époque où elle ne se réduisait pas seulement à des festivités, des réjouissances profanes ou des commémorations historiques. Un temps où la fête consistait essentiellement à aider les êtres à retrouver leurs origines.

Haut